We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety and spice”
Review of Eclectick - CLOSED

Eclectick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: bloody great place to be
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Variety and spice”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Something for everyone with wonderful hosts. If you are looking for something unusual with character this should be on you list. You can enjoy the whole evening with pre and post dinner cocktails and live entertainment on some evenings. A great venue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Windladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    16
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the new garden patio, perfect for a few cocktails”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Our annual University reunion finds us at Eclectrik for the 4th year in a row. Great cocktails followed by great food, with good company, live music and the whole restaurant joining in to a greater or lesser extent. We've not had a bad night here!

Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slightly off the beaten track but worth finding”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This restaurant sits on a terrace just above Fore St in Ilfracombe. We were the only customers on a Tuesday evening in mid May which was a shame as the food and drink were very good.

This place has a great cocktail menu and we recommend trying any of them!

We shared veggie spring rolls to start and then both had fishcakes. Both courses were really tasty, and the staff took time to check that everything was OK.

We liked the little game on the tables which allowed you to test your knowledge of British music.

A laid back, informal atmosphere topped off a really nice meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 77lejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We brought our two families here the night before our wedding for an intimate dinner. The owners, Geoff and Chrissie, couldn't have done more to make a special evening such a perfect evening. Decent food, beautiful intimate restaurant, top hosts, thank you guys, it was the perfect start to our wedding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Somewhere special. A fantastic apartment, with wonderful food & drinks.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I were looking for an early season short break before the kids Easter holidays started. We wanted to go somewhere scenic yet quiet and relaxing. Wanting to visit gardens in Devon we chose Ilfracombe as it is coastal and yet close to RHS Rosemoor. We stayed at the self-catering apartment above Eclectick restaurant. The apartment is outstanding. A double bed apartment with a living/dining/kitchen open plan area. The kitchen had everything. It was fitted out with all appliances for those that plan to stay longer. The bathroom had a spa bath. It had its own private terrace with wonderful views over Ilfracombe towards the harbour. As we were out and about all day we didn't get to use all the facilities on offer. The owner of the apartment, Chrissie and Geoff, also own the Eclectick Restaurant, come bar, come art gallery. Looking to check out other places locally as we had arrived late, they recommended a local Italian restaurant down the hill. It was a good recommendation as we left nothing on our plates. The next night Eclectick was open so we had dinner and cocktails there. We had the "Fishy" platter followed by Rib-eye steak and fries. Both were huge portions and we were quite relieved to not have also ordered side-dishes as there was already enough food on our plates. My wife tried the cocktails and was taken with the Mojitos that Geoff made behind the bar. Very reasonably priced and with great flavour. As we were thinking of calling it a night around 10:30pm, there was an influx of locals coming in to the bar. You could tell instantly that they liked to call in as the atmosphere was cheery yet very relaxed. That probably summarises the hosts and restaurant; cheery yet relaxed. All in all we had a lovely stay in a very comfortable apartment, with the bonus of a wonderful restaurant and bar on our doorstep. The hosts made everyone coming through the door feel welcomed, whether you were a regular or someone visiting for the first time. This place is a little gem that I think will prove very popular with couples looking for a top quality central apartment, in the heart of the Fore Street restaurant area. We hope to return one day but can see this place will prove to be very popular and the accommodation will be highly sought after.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaggyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclectick also viewed

West Down, Ilfracombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing