We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice home cooked food”
Review of The Harbour Lights Restaurant - CLOSED

The Harbour Lights Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Harbour Lights is a Guest House and licensed restaurant situated in the heart of Ilfracombe's Heritage Harbour on the spectacular North Devon Coast. The Harbour Lights is ideal for visitors seeking affordable North Devon B&B or Half-Board accommodation. Built in 1895 as a small Victorian hotel The Harbour Lights now houses a ground floor licensed restaurant and nine en-suite letting rooms. The berth for the Lundy Island ferry is a 2 minute stroll from our front door.In addition to being the home port for private yachts Ilfracombe is still a working harbour with fresh fish, crabs and lobster landed daily.Harbour Lights is a family-run business. We hope you enjoy your visit. :)
DERBYSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice home cooked food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

food was nice and tasty service was good friendly and good local knowledge . good for people who like good honest food

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireWakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Nice place... But”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice but place but food wasn't as good as expected for the look of the restaurant and location. Food was well over priced for the quality. However if it was improved then this place would be a nice place to dine. But I must say they are very accommodating for disabled persons and people with young children. Also they might want to take into consideration the time they stop taking orders for food. Also they need to accommodate party's of more than four people. Other than this it would be a nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No frills but tasty”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I visited this restaurant twice during our recent week long stay in Ilfracombe and we would not hesitate to visit again. On both occasions we found the staff very friendly, the food good and the atmosphere pleasant. This is not a boutique restaurant and this is reflected in the style of food. If you want that sort of dining then don’t visit. If it is simple, no fuss food you are looking for then this is the place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SotonGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Some good food, some not so good”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

When we visited this restaurant we found that most of what we ordered was fine, the steak meal was well presented. The vegetables were perfect and the chicken was tasty however the crab cakes were awful, very dry and bland and difficult to tell if they had any crab in at all, this spoiled what was otherwise a reasonable meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWrights72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We rushed into this restaurant one evening when it had turned dark and was raining. My partner had a steak and I had fillet of sea bass. We both agreed that if we were asked how much we would be happy to pay for each meal we thought £10 tops. It just didn't look very appetising and the steak was overcooked. The vegetables were lovely but the steak was very average and I really did expect a larger size piece of fish for £16.50. Apart from that, we bought the best wine on the menu and it was awful (in our opinion) and we both thought it was like something you would pick up in the supermarket for £4.99 and it wasn't cold enough. Apart from that, the waitresses were nice but the decor is very dated and the lighting is very bright in there. They kindly deducted the price of the wine (as we sent it back) but as my partner didn't realise when he went to pay the bill and asked them to do something about it they ended up in a conversation about what he thought it was worth etc. and would he be happy to pay for half of it and so he reluctantly agreed, only to find his bill went up by the cost of the wine! We both feel this was a deliberate ploy as it was obvious he didn't realise and if they genuinely wanted to deduct the price then they should have just said they had already done that, instead of conning him to pay half the cost! Oh well, we're laughing about it now but we won't be going back or recommending their restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Lights Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing