We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #9 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a spacious, light and airy room which was very well equipped and comfortable with a big bathroom, a seating area and a terrace overlooking the town. The establishment welcomes dogs which would concern me if there were any traces in the rooms, or any smell, but everything is immaculately clean. It was my husband's birthday and we found a bottle of bubbly in our room which we happily drank on the terrace. Breakfast was excellent - including my veggie option. The friendly and helpful owner clearly works very hard to maintain this high standard and deserves all the praise I see on this site. We wish her every success.

Room Tip: If available go for the Garden Room - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieD0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were attending a wedding at the tunnels and from day one of trying to arrange our weekend away, through all of the B & B's we whittled down to a few and from the moment Nicky answered the phone and spoke to us we were taken in by her friendliness and helpfulness. So we had no hesitation to book. From our arrival nothing was to much, the property is beautiful, maintained to a high standard with lots of little extras which put a smile on your face, the family are incredibly welcoming and friendly and you feel more like a friend then a customer. Epchris House is a home away from home. We were sad that we only had the weekend to enjoy our stay but for once in our life we can promise we will be back. Thank you to Nicky and her family for making an amazing B & B to be proud of which makes you feel relaxed and welcome from the moment you drive through the gates until you leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite which was beautiful with its private entrance and private deck off of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FordeFamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very enjoyable stay following a friend's wedding at Tunnel beaches,perfectly placed for anyone attending an event there....Nicky the owner of Epchris House was an excellent host and could not have done more to help us out..sorting taxis etc. Spotlessly clean,spacious and comfortable room and the breakfast was fab! 100% recommend this gem of a b&b.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My Partner and I have just returned from a long weekend away to Ilfracombe.
Nicky the owner was a Fantastic host and could not do enough to please, even offered to look after Mollie (our dog) for the day so that we could go over to visit Lundy island which doesn't recommend dogs. Unfortunately boats were not running so the offer was not needed however the gesture was much appreciated and that I'm sure many places would NOT of done the same.
The accommodation was lovely, we stayed in room 3. Very airy, spacious, immaculately clean, well equipped with an amazing view over the garden and town. The shower....(WOW), was the high light of every morning with the breakfast of course. Very good choice of variety with a wide rang of options, relaxed feel and executed well with a high standard. We Look forward to coming back and will recommend to friends and family.
Many thanks again to Nicky and Family for a lovely and welcomed Weekend!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinze28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved epchris house lovely rooms and friendly hosts will be back in future maybe bring pets along and see the two lovely goats that live at the bottom of epchris house garden . Overall a very enjoyable place to stay and relax

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc56zone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed two nights at Epchris House early in the season. The room was immaculate, clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were an amazing ....no need for us to eat again until the evening! Nicky gave us plenty of advice of where to visit and was wholly attentive without be over-bearing. We brought a young dog with us who was made to feel just as 'at home ' as we were. The house is sited in a lovely location a short walk from town and a stones throw from a beautiful stretch of the coastal path. I would not hesitate to revisit or recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Epchris for one night for a brief break away from home and we are so glad we did. The owners are friendly and can't do enough to help. The guest house is really close to the main center and could be easily walked within fifteen. Due to arriving quite late we decided to get a taxi to the local Indian restaurant and were so surprised so find out how cheap they were! £2.50 for both of us! We were delighted! The room was great. It was absolutely massive, including a kingsize bed, sofa, ensuite bathroom and beautiful views over the valley. We were also really surprised to see that there was a dvd player with the tv and so we watched a dvd that we had brought with us! The breakfast is gorgeous and filling, and there is plenty to choose from. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Get a taxi to the harbour for £2.50!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Property: Epchris House
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing