We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay with lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #8 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay with lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved epchris house lovely rooms and friendly hosts will be back in future maybe bring pets along and see the two lovely goats that live at the bottom of epchris house garden . Overall a very enjoyable place to stay and relax

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc56zone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
116
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed two nights at Epchris House early in the season. The room was immaculate, clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were an amazing ....no need for us to eat again until the evening! Nicky gave us plenty of advice of where to visit and was wholly attentive without be over-bearing. We brought a young dog with us who was made to feel just as 'at home ' as we were. The house is sited in a lovely location a short walk from town and a stones throw from a beautiful stretch of the coastal path. I would not hesitate to revisit or recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Epchris for one night for a brief break away from home and we are so glad we did. The owners are friendly and can't do enough to help. The guest house is really close to the main center and could be easily walked within fifteen. Due to arriving quite late we decided to get a taxi to the local Indian restaurant and were so surprised so find out how cheap they were! £2.50 for both of us! We were delighted! The room was great. It was absolutely massive, including a kingsize bed, sofa, ensuite bathroom and beautiful views over the valley. We were also really surprised to see that there was a dvd player with the tv and so we watched a dvd that we had brought with us! The breakfast is gorgeous and filling, and there is plenty to choose from. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Get a taxi to the harbour for £2.50!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Epchris House in July 2013 for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches and we could not have been made to feel more welcome! We hired all of the rooms over the weekend, and our guests were equally impressed with the warmth of the hospitality.

Nicky and her family did everything they could to make sure both us and our guests had an amazing stay in Ilfracombe, from local tips and recommendations, to being on hand whenever there was a pre-wedding panic!

The patio and garden made for a perfect relaxed setting for hosting friends and family for food and drinks the night before the wedding. Nicky even contacted a local delicatessen and helped us to arrange catering for our pre-wedding evening, as well as getting her son to help man the bar!

The rooms were spotless and the Garden Room was pure luxury. Breakfast was fantastic and certainly settled some post-wedding hangovers!

We want to say a huge thank you to Nicky and her family for making our stay so memorable - we literally could not recommend this place enough!!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is very spacious and was brilliant for all of the pre-wedding preparations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a brilliant stay on our anniversary in Oct, very nice bedroom clean & spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with good choices, The hospitality was suburb with a bottle of Red thrown in Brilliant. We will be back.

Room Tip: Great outside space to chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nicky and her family (and wonderful dogs:) made our stay in Ilfracombe the most memorable wedding weekend we could have ever dreamed of.
We booked the whole house for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches for ourselves and our friends and Nicky was so friendly, attentive and welcoming it felt like we had just travelled from home to home. You couldn't notice she was around but the minute we needed something she was there with an iron, tea, coffee, balloon pump:), you name it!
Our room was amazing and so were all the other guests', breakfast was wonderful, and the garden is to die for.
We stayed in the garden room which was amazing for all the bridal preparations, and when we came back from our wedding there was a card and a bottle of champagne waiting for us!
All in all, this is a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it for your stay in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank notesalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed the Epchris 25/10 to 28/10/2013. Stayed in room 3 which was well appointed and very roomy. Good bathroom and shower facilities and well decorated and maintained. Nicky was very welcoming and helpful through out our stay. Breakfast was good and a wide choice was available. Very convenient for Ilfracombe, easily walkable and handy for trips a field. Car parking on site was readily available but a bit of a challenge for a larger vehicle (Mazda 5).
On the whole an excellent base and one I would not hesitate to recommend or use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taxcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Property: Epchris House
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing