We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Epchris House
Nearby Hotels
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
$201
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
$103
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
199
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomhonesty bartunnels beachesbridal partyguest houseswimming poolstayed two nightswarm welcomebreakfast was excellentwould definitely stay here againfabulous staystayed longereach morningowners and staffa lovely place to stayon arrivalbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 210 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from a Monday to Friday stay at this wonderful Guest House in Ilfracombe. We booked the King room, which had a lovely big, verrry comfortable bed. Nicky was a wonderfully accommodating host, with a wealth of information on the area, breakfast was superb and set us (me and hubby) up until lunch time. We were both made to feel very welcome and had the keys to the front door to come and go as we wished.
Very good location, but the walk back up the hill from town was very tiring. If you want a sandwich at lunchtime then look no further that Dolly's opposite the Theater.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smootherjuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from Ilfracombe following the wedding of my niece at the Tunnels Resort which was a 5 minute walk down the hill.

We had booked three rooms for my wife and I, our daughter and partner and our son.

We had a fantastic welcome and assured that everything would be done to make our stay comfortable and it was!!

Epchris House was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable and exactly as advertised on the web site.

Our breakfast was a joy and kept us going throughout the day until the wedding reception at 6pm.
We were given keys to the front door and were able to come and go as we pleased.

What a fantastic place to stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendanW311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely spotless overnight stay. Hosts fantastic, nothing was too much trouble,excellent attention to individual guests needs I.e. long mirror for bride and my car brought up steep drive owing to very dodgy knee! Hosts proactive as well as reactive! Only a minor quibble I don't like synthetic duvets , but can see why they have them!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hosts, good house and garden, reasonable walking distance to town.But...the bed in our room we thought it was quite small, no bath instead there is a wet room. Not very pleased about this. Breakfast was ok but quite limited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kin5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky E, Owner at Epchris House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. Just to clarify a few points. The double bed as booked is a 4'6'' double, industry standard double bed size, not a small double. We do have rooms with king size beds and when the guest booked these were available but they chose to book the double instead. On the on line site they booked through it does state double en suite rooms have en suites some with bath and separate shower and some shower only, no request was made for a en suite room with bath either prior to or during their stay. Our breakfast consists of 8 different types of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, grapefruit segments, followed by cooked breakfast, egg of your choice, bacon x 2 rashers, premium local butcher sauage, fresh tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms, vegetarian sauages are available, or you can have poached or scrambled eggs or baked beans on toast, or english muffin with scrambled egg and smoked salmon, kippers or crossaints. We are approachable if you wish to have an omllette or something off menu within reason let us know. We feel that this is a very good choice for for a bed and breakfast, all items are locally sourced as able and bacon and sauages from a local butcher and eggs free range. At no point during the stay was anything mentioned that they were unhappy with so we have been supprised by some comments. We ask guests to please let us know if there is an issue with their accommodation or stay so we can resolve any issues at once if able. Best wishes Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Nicky made our overnight in Ilfracombe extremely pleasant. Wonderful host. Unbelievable breakfast. Location is fantastic for a 15 min walk to the High St & maybe 20 min to the harbour. Nicky gave us great options for supper & made us quote at home. Delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gettalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews