We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well run, welcoming guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #8 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A well run, welcoming guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We decided on impulse to take a few days break in Ilfracombe. We didn't know the area at all, but were in for a very plesant surprise. Epchris House greets its guests with a warm welcome. The service is professional, yet friendly. The room was airy, clean and comfortable, with a large, spotlessly clean ensuite housing both a bath and a shower. Breakfast was beautifully cooked - I can recommend both the kippers and the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. I would recommend this guest house to friends and family with confidence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agj750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I spent two lovely days at Epchris House when we were touring Devon and Cornwall. Everything was good about this B&B - rooms, grounds and breakfast. Would loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheColhouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Epchris House for 3 days and we can only say what a loverly 3 days. Nicky and the family are just great and very genuine people. The room was excellent and very clean.

There is a little bar in the lounge next to the dinning room and we had a couple of drinks there on 2 of the nights. Breakfast is absolutely fantastic, all cooked fresh and excellent, we was lucky with the weather and had breakfast on the patio overlooking the gardens which are beautiful.

The Epchris is located about 10 minutes walk to the harbour and in a quiet street, the car park is a little tricky but not all the guest houses or hotels actually have a car park so no complaints.

We used to live in Devon and love to revisit, if we go back we will definitely stay at the Epchris.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

A really excellent place to spend a few days. The hosts are so friendly and effiecient and the house is immaculate in every way. Ther is an uphill walk from the town but taxis are very cheap and efficient so it creates no problem for any one of senior age.
We had the select room which was very large indeed and everything was of the highest order from the very comfortable bed to the lovely fluffy towels.
We cannot recommend the Epchris enough - just visit and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I recently stayed at Epchris House with a large group of friends. We were in Ilfracombe celebrating a friends wedding. The b and b was perfect! We were able to get into our rooms a little earlier, to get ready for the wedding. The owner, Nicky, was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely, very big, clean and tidy! The grounds of the house itself are beautiful and we even managed a swim in the pool due to the sun coming out!
I would definitely reccommend Epchirs house to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Deciding to sneak a couple of extra days in Ilfracombe at the end of a week in Cornwall, we walked round the harbour area. Nothing looked suitable for us so my wife went into the Tourist Information centre as I searched via the Trip adviser iphone app' in the car. My wife came back with 2 names, one of which was the Epchris which by chance I was just reading reviews on. A quick phone call to Nicky found that she had one room available for the 2 nights we required. Set towards the top of Torr Road a quick 2 minute drive from the 'tunnel beach' and just a 10 minute walk down, it has a suitably sized car park which makes a change. On arrival Nicky warmly welcomed us and showed us room 4 a 'superior room' which it truly was. A large light airy room tastefully decorated, includes a sofa, plenty of drawers, ipod docking station and a white refitted en-suite, a nice welcome tray and a mini bar with normal prices (yes honestly). The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. There is a comfortable lounge area with a small Bar which again had normal prices and was well stocked. The grounds are quite large with a lovely veranda and swimming pool area. Nicky, Rob and their sons have clearly put alot of hard work and love into this house and it shows. Only wish we could have stayed longer and took more advantage of Nicky & Rob's local knowledge and will definately visit again but for longer next time.

Room Tip: Room 4 was perfect and overlooked the rear gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

after researching hotels in north Devon that accepted dogs we decided to book 2 nights at the Epchris and we were not dissapointed. We were greeted with open arms from the moment we knocked on the door till our departure and were given the ground floor room which was perfect for us if our dog needed to go out during the night and without causing any disturbance to other guests.
The breakfasts were delicious , room spacious and bed very comfortable and because it is approximately 10 minute walk from the town in a quiet peaceful location was everything we wanted to form a base on our 2 day discovery of north Devon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggyboy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Property: Epchris House
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing