We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
43
24
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
24
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnolia cottage lovely spacious room the cottages very comfortable stay recommend this hotel star hotel pot of tea both mornings small hotel stayed here for one night easy access evening meal warm welcome town centre poached eggs enjoyed our stay paul
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019

Well kept, clean and excellent dining. Very surpised by the evening menu, not the usual small hotel choice- had a corned beef fritter with poached egg and home made tomatoe sauce- then Mexican pork with great veg and potatoes. Breakfast very good, plenty of choice and freshly cooked- including a local excellent local sausage. Hosts very friendly and informative.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stevo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

Arrived and was greeted by the owner, very kind and helpful. Have us lots of information about the local area. We stayed in one of the cottages and found it warm and homely. Beds and pillows very comfy, and excellent kitchen facilities. Very close to the shops and harbor and seafront walks are stunning. What made it great for us was the fact our dogs were welcome.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Richlovell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

the cottages the Darnley hotel have are not cottages they are prefab chalets for a start and stuck in the 1970s for décor. we had to beg for a toilet roll when running out of the only one we had and theres no hairdryer and when we asked to borrow one their reply was they are for the hotel only.

Room tip: none I can tell off
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank susie573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

Lovely big old Hotel with larger than average rooms. big enough to have on suite facility's in room. On check in were were asked if we could pay in advance, a little unusual. Great décor and lovely beds with comfy bedding and very clean. Unfortunately the wc’s have macerator’s that are rather noisy. In our room I had to report on first looking to the wc ,to the owner the macerator had not been working correctly and great trouble was taken by the owner to flush the problem. We were told that it had been a problem before. We appreciate that older property's do take a lot of looking after but if the problem was known. We elected to move room and were well satisfied with the lovely room, with a very small TV. Good to have parking but if you have a roof rack or a van you may not fit under the brick entrance arch. The young chief cooks up a very good breakfast. Small talk at breakfast with the owner became a little too personnel, on his fathers illness. We enjoyed our stay and the facility's at the Darnley.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Best Christmas Day Lunch in a restaurant we have ever had. Everything cooked and presented perfectly at a reasonable price all in a beautiful dining room and our hosts were attentive to our every need.
Thoroughly recommend this as a place for Sunday lunch.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alakeefic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews