We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Grampus”
Review of The Grampus Inn

The Grampus Inn
Ranked #55 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Love the Grampus”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stopped at the Grampus many times when walking the Coast Path from Ilfracombe. Maybe it's because I am usually in need of a break, but always enjoy my visits here. Haven't had a full meal here for a while, but can say that the scones with the cream tea are THE BEST I've ever had, and I've had a few ! Great cider on draught usually too. Hope it never changes , a really special pub.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    27
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another good find”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Called in for a coffee what a lovely old pub lots of people sat in the garden, after walking down to the sea went back in for lunch had a ploughmans which was very nice with warm foccacia bread and a really nice fruity chutney,service was good we didnt have to wait long even though the pub was full

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must visit classic pub”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice location. Great beer choice. Decent food. Liked the serving staff. Suggest you sample all the beers. Then take a walk along the coast to revive but watch your step.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this pub difficult to find but that could just have been our sat nav! Once there we thought the setting was delightful and the inside of the pub very quaint. The food was truly magnificent! Although I had a simple steak it was cooked just how I had asked for it and the portion size was generous. A walk in the surrounding area down to the sea afterwards was just what we needed to settle our very full bellys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great dining pub a few minutes walk on footpath from Lee Bay. Helpful staff.
Very tasteful "Gravadlax" trout with new potatos and veg., and OK selection of real ales. Nice outside beer garden, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grampus Inn also viewed

 
West Down, Ilfracombe
 

Been to The Grampus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing