We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food ever”
Review of La Gendarmerie

La Gendarmerie
Ranked #22 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ilfracombe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best food ever”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We live locally and whenever we have the opportunity to go out for a meal, this is the number one choice. The food is first class as is the service. This is simply the best place in town to eat. It is not the cheapest but worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    25
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food in a lovely cosy setting”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food here was truly exquisite! Having had mediocre and over-priced food the night before at The Quay, this was a complete pleasure!
The portions aren't big, but the superb ingredients make for beautiful, tasty food.
the menu is simple with only 3 choices for each course, but this allows the chef to concentrate on getting the flavours just right!
The service was spot on, not to smothering and yet attentive enough.
It's perhaps, a little pricey for an any evening meal, but for a special occasion, La Gendarmerie is the place in Ilfracombe to eat! We will definitely return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 67PLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great diner menu”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A sign of a good restaurant is a simple menu, with a choice that is a challenge to decide which starter and main course to choose from. Food was very tasty and adequate, with a great desert.
Will recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had the set New Years Eve menu for £59 each for three courses, the overall experience was fantastic, the food and ambiance was 1st class. We will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best food and service in North Devon”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you appreciate fantastic contemporary food and great wine in an unstuffy, relaxed surrounding, then you will enjoy a meal here.

It is not the cheapest restaurant in the area, but compares favourably with other restaurants of similar calibre in other parts of Devon and Cornwall.

I hesitate when talking about specific dishes, as I believe there is no weak link - all dishes I have tried there have been full of flavour and original.

Well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seahoarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gendarmerie also viewed

 

Been to La Gendarmerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing