We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ilfracombe? Stay at Sue and John's, there's no Two Ways about it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Ways Guest House

Two Ways Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Ways Guest House
Ranked #22 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Warlingham
1 review
“Ilfracombe? Stay at Sue and John's, there's no Two Ways about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

After a long car journey there, it was a great comfort to receive such a warm welcome from Sue and John. This hospitality continued when we were offered to upgrade to an En Suite room, which was extremely comfortable with that 'home from home' feel. The breakfast menu offered a great variety, even for the Vegetarian among us.

Having experienced problems with our car, we chose to walk everywhere. However, we soon discovered this was a blessing as the walk from the Guest House to the old town was very pleasant and only took 20 minutes at a leisurely pace. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the local tourist attractions as well as the old fashioned side streets, with their hidden treasures (ie Cream Teas).

Sue and John themselves were very warm and friendly. They are willing to go out of their way to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. However, they are never intrusive. Their knowledge of Ilfracombe and the local area was invaluable to our short stay. We will definitely be staying with John and Sue again and look forward to more of John's jokes!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holholholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

sue & john, cound not be more helpful to us, carried our bags to our room ,staff very friendly and helpful, we would stay there again anytime and would recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

On arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the friendly proprietors. The rooms were clean and comfortable with everything we needed after our long journey. We found Sue and John, very helpful, offering information about local attractions and eating places. The breakfast was excellent as we are vegetarians and not all places cater for us. The waitresses were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. we stayed for 5 days and even had a tipple or two in the cosy bar before bed. On the whole a very enjoyable stay, looking forward to our return in August!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haytheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have been visiting Two Ways Guest House since 2007 so that we can visit my 1/2 brother who I have only just met. Two Ways is a traditional B&B located near Bicclestone Park and our rooms (we have stayed in most of them now) are always tastefully decorated most with en suite bathrooms which were, most importantly, spotlessly clean. One of John's Full English well cooked and generously portioned breakfasts is a must to set you up for the day. John and Sue are a very charming couple who can't do enough for you but are not intrusive in any way. We had a very enjoyable Easter break and have booked for August Bank Holiday and we are looking forward to staying at Two Ways again as it is the nicest B&B that we have stay at in a long time. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank old-relic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have stayed at the Two Ways several times in the past few years when visiting family in N. Devon. Our stays have always been pleasant experiences---comfortable and attractive rooms; friendly and helpful hosts; and generous and tasty breakfasts.
Two Ways is no 5 star establishment, but I doubt if it can be beaten on price and value for money.
We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

after reviewing lots of b n bs online we settled for two ways with its low prices and small bar and beautiful surroundings(supposedly).on arrival it was clear that the way it was displayed online was not true, it wasnt surrounded by beautiful streams etc but was in the middle of a street full of houses!the online prices were incorrect and was actually more, the house had a very strange odour when we entered which was not pleasant.the room was small and old fashioned,biscuits on the tea tray were in a plastic tub yuk!!! the tv cud hardly recieve a signal and wen lying on the bed you couldnt see because of the metal bed frame.the room was not en suite and the shared bathroom was horrible....the bed was hard and sticking in my ribs and to top it off the bar wasnt even available due to decorating.1 night was more than my patner and i could stand.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sophiesnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angryDevonEngland, Owner at Two Ways Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
we are very sorry that these guests were not happy,.they did want a ensuite room for four nights but agreed on two nights standand room, then moving to a ensuite room for two nights. on arrival they ask if it was possible to have ensuite , but we told them no, we only had what they had booked, dont think that they were happy with reply. In the morning they said that they would be leaving because the bed was hard and the bar was,nt open. we have now replaced the mattress, so far everyone who has slept in this bed said it very comfortable, as for the bar, i told him it would be open that night, but he said its to late now, they had breakfast, and when he paid their bill he told me to keep the change, so we were very surprised at their later comments. but we did have a chat and parted on good terms.Whilst he was having a cigarette outside, i ask to close the door, we hope this didn,t cause any offence, but we have to consider all our guests, smokers and non smokers. As we are near Wales our T.V. receives from their Transmitter and on that day, Ditial switchover was taking place.
As to our guests comments about us being on a stream, our site clearly shows pictures of near by locations, as most guest house do, however the picture of our guest house shows off road parking with guest car and there is no stream in sight.
Finally as to this strange odour, we have over 20 excellent guests reviews and this is the only one that felt that the smells, which must have been my Husbands cooking, was not pleasant.
, in fact most guest say "lovely smell, can we join you for Dinner".

We hope that the future readers of these comments will, take into consideration all the wonderfull reviews that we have had so far. Sue&John Waran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We found this guesthouse to be perfectly located for several local attractions. John, Sue and Lisa made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Their hospitality and friendliness was much appreciated. Our yellow room was spacious and was oozing with charm. Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, with soft bedding and a beautiful bay window. Pretty snug outside space decorated with plants was inviting, and we looked forward to coming back each evening after exploring local marina, cafes and restaurants.
We will definitely be back!
A & U

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamygal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.9 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Ways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Ways Guest House

Property: Two Ways Guest House
Address: 39 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Two Ways Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing