We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
235
351
181
55
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
235
351
181
55
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays free drinks shearings holiday shearings hotels self drive stair lift coach driver steak night evening meal small lift weekend break third floor per day restaurant staff upgraded room meal times buffet breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 865 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Five day break with Shearing Coaches, what a great value trip. First stop after long coach journey was the bar. The friendly, informative helpful staff at the bar gave a good first impression. Cases were delivered to our rooms, great. Seating arrangements in the restaurant were well managed by Stacey along with a great team of friendly, smiling efficient co-workers. I've never seen restaurant personnel work so quickly clearing tables and serving food. A variety of choices were available on the menu and food was of a good standard. Not huge portions but certainly adequate. The buffet breakfast was tasty and replenished as required. Alternatives were also available on request. Room was clean, and very comfortable, so too were all the public areas. A little refurbishment is required but didn't detract from our stay. Location of hotel is ideal for an easy low level stroll into the town and harbour. Well done all of you

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Discerning59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewS104, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you very much for posting your review. I am pleased to read that you found your stay to be of excellent value and the staff friendly, helpful and informative. I will share your review with the team especially Stacy. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Everything about this hotel is mean.
The food portions for dinner are surely a joke the meat is minuscule the vegetables come in a dish, one would think that is small and then you realize this is for two of you. The only meal which could be thought of as adequate is breakfast and that is because it is a serve yourself buffet BUT they for breakfast use SMALL plates to restrict consumption. The waiting staff at breakfast do not clear tables so people have trouble finding a table. In the rooms you get a small tablet of soap NO shampoo or anything. IF they cannot afford to provide their guests with the basics then put up your price to a level that it works and the market will decide to go there or not.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Your feedback is very important and will be discussed with our Senior management team.
I am sorry you did not find our food satisfactory. We serve standard food portions, however, our waiting and kitchen staff are always happy to help and provide extra vegetables and bigger portions when requested.
Toiletries are provided in our Coast& Country and Country Living Hotels.
Again, thank you for visiting us and for your review and hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

first time at a bays hotel disappointed self drive I must say the hotel is very clean and tidy .having read lots of reviews prior to booking sounded pretty good .food wise I agree portions sizes are small but then you can always ask for more breakfast was ok but if you got there after 8oclock you may of had to wait for a table to be reset but not a problem . evening meal we booked the 6 oclock sitting which suited us the quality of the evening was much to be desired at times but ok anybody having the turkey escollapes be warned don't entertainment we were led to believe was good . for what we had was 4 singers doing an 2 hour slot which included a quiz or bingo was not what we would call good entertainment all finished by 10 30 pm . I don't think we would do a bays hotel again .

Room tip: upgrade we had a room over looking the back of the hotel quite a depressing view
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is important and will help us to keep improving our standards.
Will pass your comments to our entertainment team.
If you are looking for tribute bands entertainment, please check bay hotels website and you will find a selection of hotels that provide with tribute band shows.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback and hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Our first time ever on a coach trip, and this one courtesy of Shearings.
The immediate impression of the hotel is that it is tired and in need of refurbishment.
My mobility is somewhat restricted, so stairs are a challenge. There is only one lift, with a maximum capacity of four persons, servicing all floors.
Our twin room #122 was very basic but clean with a side view onto a flat rooftop and a side wall. As we didn't plan to spend leisure time in our room that didn't really bother us. The bathroom was clean, but the washbasin tap was plumbed wrong way round, so cold water came out when you expected hot and vice versa. Not a major issue, however the corner shower had a very restricted opening. I'm not a small guy, but not grossly overweight either and I struggled to get in and out of the narrow opening.
The buffet breakfast was good and set us up for the day, but we found the evening meals to be disappointing, being relatively small portions, not very hot and not particularly inspiring. Hospital food sprang to mind!
We took advantage of the drinks package which is very good value offering a good choice of beers, wines and spirits.
The entertainment in the ballroom was adequate, think low key Working Men's Club and you won't be far wrong, with bingo, quizzes and vocal entertainers.
All in all, it's a budget package so 5 star features can't be expected and certainly won't be found, but we had clean, comfortable beds and we were fed and watered.
For the price we paid, we got value for money.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Guitargeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewS104, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, As you said for the price you paid you received good value for money and had clean, comfortable accommodation with the added bonus of being on the package with the drinks voucher. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the buffet breakfast. I will discuss your evening meal comments with the Head Chef as you will see from other reviews we usually get good comments for both breakfast and evening meal. Overall I'm glad you enjoyed your first Shearing's coach holiday and I hope you take advantage of the various holidays Shearing's have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

This is very nice hotel for the price range it is in. The food was very good. Even better was the 'steak night' night meal which for an additional surcharge was well worth it. The dining room is well set out so no getting in other people's way when self serving breakfast. The bar / dance room is pleasant although the dance floor has two support pillars in the middle of it. That said the entertainment that was laid on was very good giving lots of residents the opportunity to 'bop about' a bit. Our room was quite small but very well laid out to compensate for this as was the bathroom. Again very clean. My only comment was the room was too hot for me even though the radiator was off. Not sure where heat was coming from, so had to leave window open. Staff extremely friendly. Would certainly visit here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewS104, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to read you found it a very nice hotel and enjoyed the food, especially the steak night. I will share your review with the staff as you said they are extremely friendly and will also be delighted to see your 5 star review.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews