We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for one let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hotel was fantastic value for money, excellent room service all spotlessly clean, comfortable beds. excellent entertainment, as for drinks voucher that was the jam in the donut, a lovely hotel, excursions provided by Shearings really good. The food was really good we were promised a Spanish night but that didn't materialise instead we were offered an extra starter????. What let all this down was the disastrous service at mealtimes sometimes 25 minutes between courses in actual once I fell asleep I did have a go at the waitress (sorry it wasn't her fault)) she told me they each have 24 guests and she was doing her best, in actual fact all the waiters were running about there just wasn't enough of them, a few people we knew ate out because of this, I wouldn't stay again or recommend this hotel because of this, a real shame.

Room Tip: A lot of stairs if you are infirm ask for room near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

First ofall, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very valuable to us and your comments will be taken on board.
Regarding the Spanish night, it is not part of the holiday package. Some weeks, we have a theme evening with Spanish night with a cost as it is not included on Shearings package.
I think you meant the Gala dinner on Thursday night, which consist on Starter, an extra course between (you can chose an extra starter) Main Course and Dessert.
All the staff, particurally the restaurant, are doing a great job and they are always ready to help.
We are offering a proffesional and friendly service in our restaurant, and we also offer flexible meals times, so people can enjoy a relaxing dinning experience.
Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 718 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from having stayed at the Dilkhusa Grand as part of a group staying for my son's wedding. The staff could have not been more accommodating to our unusual needs. Storing the flowers in a cool area and looking after some of guests arriving and departing at different time. Yes the hotel is a little tired, but it is very clean and run by efficient friendly staff, which made our stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Wendy M,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family and friends during the weekend. By the way, the flowers were beautiful!!
I am glad the wedding went well and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please give my regards to your son and his wife.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great to be looked after by such a happy, welcoming team.

As commented previously, you will not be disappointed at this hotel where food, service and entertainment are very good. Just a shame we missed out on speciality dish paella which is served on Wednesdays and not at the weekend!

Many thanks to all for a thoroughly relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimsieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, great entertaiment and an outstanding service.
Sorry you miss our Spanish night and could not try the delicious paella. At the moment, we only have it on wednesdays, but it is becoming very popular, so we are already thinking about offering during it the weekend in a near future.
Once again, thank you for your positive review, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights with Shearings. A blow to learn that the lift was out of order, many of us with limited mobility had great trouble getting up and down the stairs, on the last night the lift was repaired it turned out to be quite old and very slow. Despite this the hotel was good. the food was good and varied, the waiters were brilliant, the entertainment was very good and "entertaining".
We had a small but comfortable room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. this hotel is near local bus routes into the town and surrounding towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room, this avoids the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Peter B,

First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Your opinion is very important to us, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, great entertainment and brilliant service.
I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, and I am sure they will be very happy after reading your positive review.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

stayed for 3 nights on a national holidays all inclusive weekend break.We were welcomed very nicely to the hotel by a member of staff and shown to our rooms.We were on the 4th floor and the room was comfortable but the decoration was a bit tired.Food was excellent and a special mention should go to Lewis our waiter for his excellent service. I must say all staff we met were very friendly and ready to help with any queries or inquires. Entertainment was good and varied with a great atmosphere. All in all a good place to stay.As for ilfracombe itself it could win the ugliest seaside town competition.Just across the road from the hotel should be a sea view but a theatre has been built which looks like 3 cooling towers terrible.You also get Damien Hursts VERITY statue which i think does nothing for the harbour, no plaque or explanation to what she represents.A good place to base yourself but not to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor room as the lift is not 100 per cent reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Raymond C,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Your review is very valuable to us, and once again, shows that we are doing a good job.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, excellent service, and great entertainment; packages like that are very difficult to find these days, but we have it here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel.
Thank you very much for your positive review, it is nice to find that our customers enjoyed their stay with us, and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, especially to Lewis.
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and for your excellent feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights with Shearings, 21-28 Sept. When we arrived we were told lift out of order, part due to come in soon (what they didn't say was the lift had been out for 6 - 8 weeks PRIOR to our arrival. Many on our coach had great trouble on the stairs - we had 57 to climb to our room each day. It would have been courteous of the hotel (or Shearings) to let us know BEFORE we came so we could have made other arrangements, or cancelled. We saw a lady of 70 on her hands and knees going up the stairs to the second floor.
Our room was shabby, dated and had mould on the wall and window. One window did not open at all. Shower tray, though clean inside, was very dirty on the outside, also with mould along the edges.
On the plus side, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was good, but we found there was not enough of it, and we ended up having a meal out at lunchtime, which is something we do not usually do. The entertainment was good, but not good enough for us ever to think of coming back. Ilfracome - YES, bay Dilkusa Grand Hotel - a resounding NO.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your opinion is important to us and your comments will be taken on board.
Regarding the lift, we are very sorry it was out of order, but unfortunately, lift company was waiting for a part that came from Italy and took longer than expected, which left us without the use of the lift for few weeks. Lift was repaired and back in working order on Friday 27th September.
Shearings Head Office, via Help Desk department, contacted all the customers that have been registered as disabled or had any walking difficulties.
All the staff here at The Dilkhusa, work really hard and I am glad you enjoyed our service and also the food.
We offer an excellent value for money with good food, friendly staff and great entertainment, and our customers are always well looked after. Restaurant staff do a fantastic job looking after customers and they are always available if any customer would like anything else (extra toast, extra vegetables...).
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and we hope to see you again travelling with Shearings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a great time at the dilkhusa hotel great food very friendly staff a special mention must go to Gary behind the bar who made our stay well worth it and also our waitress INGA who does an exceptional job in the restaurant good entertainment all week don't listen to all of the negative comments in some of the reviews just go and make your own mind up you will not be disappointed thanks again the dilkhusa be back soon Martin from Liverpool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,234,601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Martin,

I am glad you had a great time and you enjoyed the food, service and entertaiment. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and I am very happy you enjoyed and recommended to others.
Also, thank you very much for your positive review, which is very welcomed.
I will pass your lovely comments to Gary and Inga, and I am sure they will be happy to read them.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $93 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing