We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great price great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great price great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Second bay hotel in a month hotel like all the bay hotels needs a little bit of love and attention but hey what we paid I thought it was fantastic Yes the room we had was a bit old (328) but it was clean and had every thing we needed the food was really good three really good courses with a fine choice .The waiting staff were some of the best we have come across very happy ,plenty of smiles and always helpful they went about there tasks in a very professional manner.The four drinks each was really good as you didn't need to go out at night so got to meet some of the other guests if you wanted entertainment it was laid on all in all if you want a weekend away and don't want to sped a lot give it a try i would come back for another visit and will let friends know about the breaks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ian W,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review and your positive comments.
As you said, our staff works really hard to provide the best possible service, and we are very pleased that our customers appreciate the effort. I will personally pass your comments to our Restaurant staff, and I am sure they will be very happy to know that customers are happy with their service.
Here at The Dilkhusa, we work hard to provide Excellent service, Good accommodation, Good food and entertainment, and we are happy to know that we achieved all your expectations.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    270
    135
    42
    28
See reviews for
70
379
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here on a shearings mid week break, we had a lovely room very large & overlooking the illfracombe gardens the room looked as if it had recently been decorated so was clean & bright. I think the bathroom was due to be updated as although ok the bath surround was cracked but otherwise ok.

Breakfast was a bit hetic as only 1hour given for this between 8-9 so did become like a cattle market for people wanting cereal & juice as everyone fought to get their cereal! the poor staff were rushed off their feet bringing cooked breakfast drinks & toast to us, it is a wonder we didn't all suffer from indigestion the way we had to rush!

The evening entertainment was ok but we have enjoyed better but ok.

One point if going with Shearings for an inclusive break make sure you get a free cream tea from the hotel on your free afternoon not everyone was told about this & the manager was not at all helpful & couldn't explain why this was!

Apart from this we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret22mcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your positive comments to the staff.
Your feedback is very helpful to us, and all your comments will be taking on board.
Once again, thank you for your positive review.
We hope to see you again, travelling to us or to any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a really nice room at the front only one floor up, which was as requested due to walking limitations. View was excellent. En-suite really good. Food was good and more was only a request away. Staff very helpful and friendly. Entertainment was well, entertaining. We had a very nice time here and would visit again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Christopher M,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and also for visiting us. I will personally pass your positive comments to the staff.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the food, service and entertainment, which proves that we are working hard to deliver our main core values, Good accommodation, Good Food, Excellent Service and Fantastic Entertainment.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback, it was a pleasure to have you here with us during your 5 days break, and we are looking forward to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand, or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

superb break at the dilkhusa with our friends,this is our second trip with
bay hotels,on entering the reception area on arrival it had a refreshing
smell which was a good start to the holiday,the lounges had recently
been refurbished and very comfortable,the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful,could not fault the food it was excellent and waitress was very efficient,the entertainment was better than we expected,our room was cleaned to a good standard and cleaning staff very friendly
room needed a new carpet and a lick of paint but didn't stop us having a good time,will be booking another bay hotel break in the near future well
done bay hotel for keeping the prices down

Room Tip: had a room at the front 229 the seagulls outside can be annoying as they sit on the flat roof outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Fred.c overton,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased that you had a nice time and enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real pleasure to have you and your friends here with us, and I will personally pass your positive comments to the staff.
We are working hard to improve our standards each week, and it is very nice to see that our customers appreciate our efforts.
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other Bay Hotels, where I am sure you will find an excellent value for money and great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Typical Bay Hotel, aimed at the coach holiday market. It's well located close to Ilfracombe harbour. But it certainly doesn't set the world alight. If you want a gentle break without any excitement then it maybe woth a try. The food isn't anything to write home about, a little bit basic and the portion sizes are a little hit and miss. Also, the rooms are basic, in need of a facelift. But, it's not the Ritz, so don't expect it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJROConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments.
As you said, we offer a good value for money, with a good service and good standards.
All members of staff work hard to provide excellent service, and your comments are a great help to us.
Once again, thank you for coming to visit us and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just returned from Bay inclusive weekend at this hotel. We had a great time, our room was on the back but didn't expect sea view for what we paid. Couldn't fault cleaning staff - room cleaned every day and refreshments filled up. The room was a little dated but didn't detract at all from our enjoyment (anyway didn't stay in it much as were out and about). Bed was a little uncomfortable for me as I have spinal problems and am used to a memory foam mattress. My husband was perfectly okay. The food was fine and plentiful (we don't have 3 courses at home). Our waitress Zsanette was a gem, a smile to light up Ilfracombe and so polite and efficient. The entertainment was very good for usual hotel offering (Mark Andrew Smith deserves a special mention).
. There are a lot of steps in this hotel so if you are disabled ask for a room near the lift. We had 214 and it was a step away. The hotel is in process of refurbishment on an ongoing basis.
Finally, ALL the staff at this hotel were excellent and made our short stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for room near lift if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonoraNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, specially Zsannett and Mark Andrew Smith.
Your positive review is very welcome as it help us to keep staff motivated and also to improve our services where required.
Once again, I would like to thank you for visiting us, and we hope to see you again, travelling to Ilfracombe or to any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

this place needs major surgery,the room we stayed in (114) was awful,the view from the only window was of a wall and a filthy flat roof,we asked for a room change and told there was no rooms on the front or side( there appeared to be about forty or fifty people in the whole hotel??)
the shower mat was mouldy,the window would,nt stay open and had propped up with gideons bible!!we where informed that the room had been recently refurbished but in my opinion very poorly,the wallpaper was ripped and had just been painted over,with gaps in it.
they offered us another room but that too was,nt much better and not worth the hassle of moving
the food was also abysmal and we had to eat out(they must feed you for less than a pound a day)
as for the luxury coach travel we ended up on a hired in coach with hardly any leg room no table (as on their setra coaches,which are really nice to ride in)
we would consider ourselves loyal customers of shearings,but it seems it does not count?
the redeeming factors where that it didn't cost very much,and the four free drinks vouchers per
day

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. All reviews are very welcomed as we always learn something new from them and help us to improve.
Our front bedrooms are very popular and always are the first ones to get booked; people requests them weeks in advance, and normally we do not have any available, which was the case when you arrived.
Mayority of our customers enjoy their stay with us and are very happy with our service, food and accomodation; you can easily see that by checking the last reviews we had on this wedsite.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us,and again, I would like to thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing