We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
$201
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
$103
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveler rating
197
316
156
48
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
316
156
48
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree drinksshearings hotelsshearings holidayself drivestair liftcoach driverweekend breaksmall liftevening mealrestaurant staffthird floorper dayupgraded roomentertainment roombuffet breakfastmeal times
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 749 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Yes there is s scaffolding. Yes the rooms could have been warmer, and are dated. The corridors were warmer than the rooms for some reason. Yes the windows were rotten, the beds not the best - BUT the rooms were clean (except the skirting boards!!!!), everything worked, loads of hot water for showers, fresh towels etc. The entertainment far exceeded our expectations, although we hate bingo, Jon worked very hard and deserves a mention. KateMae who came to entertain one evening was 1st class. The meals were more than adequate for the cost of the holiday through Shearings, with 3 courses plus tea/coffee, and adequate choice. We all also enjoyed 4 included drinks from the bar each day per person! You have to make the most if it. We knew before we went that this was a 2 * Hotel. Our bedroom was at the front and therefore noisy most of the time, but you have to take the holiday overall. Our gripe was that they had painted the handrails on the stairs before we arrived, then removed the flat screen tv in the Lounge, presumably to paint, but did not apologise - it was there one minute and gone the next and no staff seemed to know why! Why not paint at night like other places? That wall was never painted during our stay. When they changed the time of breakfast on the day of departure they should have put a note on the outside of the dining room door the evening before just to avoid confusion - this would have only taken a minute to do and would have helped the guests! The entertainment room, bar and reception area were fine, the staff friendly. Pat and the team were busy but professional. Someone needs to look at the top of the curtains in the dining room though please. Tip - the outdated lift does work, but is a bit scary. The trip out with Shearings to Lynmouth and Dunster was exceptional. Please think of value for money when staying here. It looks like the hotel is slowly being upgraded. Our room was the main let down -1980s decor and furniture, but for 3 days you cope. The rest of the holiday was good. Hope this helps visitors and staff.

Room Tip: Lift very old fashioned, but works
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pixiep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and I want to assure you that we will take them on board.
We are improving all public areas to make it more comfortable to our customers and we are sorry if we are causing inconvenience for it. The top lounge is now a comfortable quiet area where our guests can read or enjoy quiet times. Our bottom lounge is now a nice area to enjoy a bottle of wine or a nice latte while you watching TV or listenting to the background music.
All the tours coming to the Hotel have their own itinary which is displayed on one of the reception's wall, so our customers can check trips and meals times when needed.
Once again I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our staff and we hope to see you again travelling to us or to any of the fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer. Also, please do not miss the special winter breaks where I am sure you will fine great offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

On way back Worst Shearings Chef can't cook Sausages raw bacon raw plates cold toast hard Heard most people complaining Pat a Manager there was seen showing chef returned foodPork chops at dInner disgrace Vegetables warm As for rooms freezing most of guests asked for heaters told water or heating only by Manager Windows rotten and arrived to scaffold erected outside Entertainment terrible Glad to go home We heard most guests complaining glad we are going home

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments as they are a great help for us, We always welcome every comment, no matter how negative they are, as we can always bring something positive to us to help improvement.
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and your comments about the food.
Every week , our kitchen staff works hard to provide a good food choice and a quality breakfast and dinner. Our Restaurant Manageress and Head Chef, are always available to discuss any matters and I am sure they would have help you.
At the hotel, we have a combine hot water/heating system, which means that the boilers serve hot water and also heating. At peak times, the demmand of hot water is high, which means that the boilers would switch from heatimg system to hot water system. This is a normal system that most of buildings have and probably that is why you thought the heating was off.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and I will pass them to my team on our next meeting.
We hope to see you again travelling to any of the fantastic destinations that Shearings has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Agree with most other reviews that the hotel is tired in places BUT they are working towards it being better. The reception/ ballroom/lounges/restaurant have all been refurbished and are light and airy. The bedrooms are what let the hotel down at the moment, ours was old furniture but well polished, the room was very clean and the linen spotless. The bathroom had signs of lack of ventilation and had mildew in places so I do hope they get around to re furbishing them next. The staff without exception were a joy , always very busy but always smiling, friendly and informative and never too busy to help. Entertainment was not high on our agenda but we sat in the lounges outside and enjoyed the music in the background, John worked very hard and the lounge was always full to enjoy the evening. The menu in the restaurant was very varied to suit all tastes, well cooked and well presented and served quickly and well by the young staff

Room Tip: The hotel has only 1 lift so if mobility is a problem ask for a room on the lower floors
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are happy you enjoyed your holidays and I will pass your positive comments to all staff.
The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme as you pointed on your comments and we are trying to improve all aspects of the hotel, that is why your comments are so important to us.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you travelling to us again or to any other fantastic destination that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have recently returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. Other reviewers are quite right the hotel is very much in need of redecoration and modernization as it borders on the shabby in places, but on the upside the staff are fantastic. The few complaints that we had were dealt with rapidly, and with a smile. TV remote not working...new TV brought to our room immediately....Loose toilet seat....replaced within half an hour. The food was OK, not the best we have had at Shearing hotels but perfectly acceptable especially as it was pointed out that they were very short staffed in the kitchen. I think it was a credit to them that they managed to provide a 3 course evening meal to about 130 people in a one and a half hour time slot. Our waitress, Lili, was always smiling and helpful even tough they were so busy.. The reception staff were equally pleasant, helpful and informative. It was explained that our ground floor room smelt a little 'musty' because of a recent leak from an upstairs room, but it wasn't a problem. Our coach driver John...who normally does the Irish trips....was a great asset to Shearings, although it was his first trip to Ilfracombe he was completely unflappable and his sense of humour helped the long journey to pass more quickly. My partner has trouble walking but he never made him feel that he was being a nuisance. We were sorry he had to leave us on the Friday to return to his usual routes.
Altogether a good holiday in a lovely part of the country with interesting trips out. Thank you Dilkhusa staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking your time to post your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your holidays and I will personnally pass your positive comments to our staff specially to your waitress Lilli.
We are always working to improve our standards and your comments are a great help.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 5 days not good as the food was not up to the standard of other Shearings hotels we have stayed at. We complained about the food but were ignored.The waiter we had did not understand what we were asking for so we had to point at the menu for him to understand. The bedroom was fine but the bathroom was very small and the whole decor of the room was very tired. The outside of the hotel looked very tired and unkempt. The receptionarea was good and the service at reception was good very helpful and friendly. Would i stop here again NO.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do appreciate it as they help us to improve our services and standards.
We are actually redecorating the front of the hotel which will improve the entrance and outside appearance.
Our restaurant staff goes through a training programme that could take few weeks, until they are totally prepared to provide an excellent service; your waiter was on that programme, and that is the reason why the service that you received was not totally perfect. In any case, our Restaurant Manageress is always available to our customers and she would be happy to discuss any issues.
We are glad you liked the service of the Reception staff, and I would pass your lovely comments to the staff.
Thank you once again for your comments and we really hope to see you again travelling with Shearings and taking advantage of the great deals we have on offer for this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews