We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 5 days not good as the food was not up to the standard of other Shearings hotels we have stayed at. We complained about the food but were ignored.The waiter we had did not understand what we were asking for so we had to point at the menu for him to understand. The bedroom was fine but the bathroom was very small and the whole decor of the room was very tired. The outside of the hotel looked very tired and unkempt. The receptionarea was good and the service at reception was good very helpful and friendly. Would i stop here again NO.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do appreciate it as they help us to improve our services and standards.
We are actually redecorating the front of the hotel which will improve the entrance and outside appearance.
Our restaurant staff goes through a training programme that could take few weeks, until they are totally prepared to provide an excellent service; your waiter was on that programme, and that is the reason why the service that you received was not totally perfect. In any case, our Restaurant Manageress is always available to our customers and she would be happy to discuss any issues.
We are glad you liked the service of the Reception staff, and I would pass your lovely comments to the staff.
Thank you once again for your comments and we really hope to see you again travelling with Shearings and taking advantage of the great deals we have on offer for this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 715 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a two day break in September. The room was on the 4th floor not good,lift stops floor below. It was decorated nicely, not the bathroom that had been forgotten,slso needs to clean windows. The food and entertainment were very good, the waitering staff were really friendly.

Room Tip: lower floors are better accessed front of hotel has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonno1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays with us, especially the entertaiment and the service in our Restaurant.
I will personally pass your positive comments to the staff.
We hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of our fantastic Bay Hotels, where I am sure you will have a fantastic time.
Thank you once again for your feedback as it is a great help to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from an 8 day 7 night stay in this hotel..absolutely superb..from start to finish..firstly we took a leisurely stroll to our 1st pick up point.the coach to take us to the london interchange turned up bang on time our luggage was put into the coach and that was the last we seen of it..when we arrived it was put outside our hotel room. room 202 which was really nice,it had tea coffee kettle ect. and it was also very clean..fantastic service..we then made our way to the restaurant were we had a 3 course meal ample portions and piping hot..all served with free glass of wine and a smile from the restaurant staff..Great stuff..next to the lounge served once more by helpful friendly and polite bar staff..and then settled down for the nights entertainment and bingo.. The Coach tours were also excellent..Andy our driver was happy cheerful very informative and knowledgable about the local history and areas..an asset to shearings without a doubt..he made every tour very interesting..all in all it was a fantastic holiday at a good price..thank you shearings you are the best..we will travel with you again soon..all the staff at the Dilkhusa bay Grand Hotel have done you proud..they all deserve a mention and a special thank you..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank axleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are very pleased you enjoy your holidays and I will personally pass your lovely comments to all staff.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again travelling to Ilfracombe or any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from a four night all inclusive stay with National Holidays. Staff all very friendly. Hotel very clean. Our room maid was very obliging. We were on the 4th floor no complaint as we always ask for a high floor. Problem being lift only goes to 3rd!!. lots of stairs at this hotel. Some what disappointed that there was no entertainment on Sunday night, but gave everybody the chance to chat with there fellow travellers so we had a laugh. Hotel in a good position on the front.

Room Tip: 4th floor not served by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidaylovingnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are very please you enjoyed your holidays and I will pass your lovely comments to all staff.
The Dilkhusa Hotel is a lovely Victorian building with a great character and the lift serves the mayority parts of the hotel, with the exception of few rooms that were allocated on the top floor where the views are great over Runnymeade Gardens.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you travelling with us again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a 4 day all inclusive stay at this hotel traveling with National Holidays. Friendly staff,efficiant service in the dining room. Poor entertainment, none at all on the Sunday night. Food basic but cooked properly and served piping hot. Too many stairs for us in the dodgey knee brigade! Days out also places with steep hills and steps, a lot of the shops were closed on the Sunday. A very long tedious journey for what was at the end of it. We won't be going again.COME ON SCOTLAND!! Lynne and Kerry (Hull)

Room Tip: Old fashioned lift only goes up to the 3rd floor then 2 flights of stairs to climb to the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel is a Victorian building and unfortunately, some areas of the hotel have stairs.
Ilfracombe is becoming a popular resort and I understand it is a long way from Scotland, but it is worth coming. We also have few lovely hotels up in Scotland if you ever decide to have a short break and do not want to travel far.
I am pleased you enjoy the food and I would like to thank you for your comments about the staff.
We have a great team here at the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel and it is always rewarding to see it commented on.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arrived Saturday 18 August,given key to room 120 on entering the room we could here a loud vibrating noise, looked through a dirty window to find this noise was coming from what seemed to be a large metal fan.we immediatley contacted reception to be told by the duty manager Matthew Smith that it turned off at 9pm and back on at 7am, We found his answer very poor.he then told us the hotel was fully booked so no chance of changing rooms.We went to bed that night and to our joy no noise,suddenenly at 5.20 am the unit started up and because it was in the early hours it sounded like a tractor in the room.We once again complained this time to be told it had to be switched on early for the kitchen Staff, this explanation didn't satisfy us at all.every day we had to suffer this noise and we honestly believe that the hotel was over booked
and this room should not have been made available to shearings customers.this will not happen to us again and our family and friends as we will not use this company and hotel again.
Take our Tip Stay Clear

Room Tip: Stay Clear of Hotel But if You do go 120 is a no go area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Assistant Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, however I don’t find it all to be accurate, you are correct in stating that the Kitchen extractor fan was outside your window, however it was switched off by around 9pm each evening, unfortunately it was switched on earlier than usual on the Sunday morning, again we spoke about this on Sunday and I explained that it would have to be switched on around 6:30am each morning as it needed to be on for the Kitchen staff to be able to cook Breakfast.
The Hotel wasn’t overbooked, it was fully booked meaning that all the rooms in the Hotel were occupied, however I did speak to you about moving you to another room on the Monday morning but you came and informed me that you would stay in the room you had as your friends were staying next door, so I offered to move you all to rooms on the 4th floor but this was declined by yourselves.

Matthew Smith
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

the hotel is situated over the raod from lovely well kept gardens and museum near to the theatre too. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel that a lot of the guests were using. We were self drive and took advantage of prepaid parking in their carpark . We had asked for lowere floor room and ended on the 2nd floor but were by the lift.(Not sure what happens in the event of a fire!) The menu was the same as in all the shearings hotel but was very nice. Portion sizes were plenty for us and because we were on an "inclusive" We were given a glass of wine with dinner in additionto the 4 free drinks we were allowed per person per day. We did not see any of the entertainment but other guests enjoyed it.
The room was very hot when we arrived but I asked for a fan and one came within 5mins The bathroom was adequate and clean. the room decor was alright but the wallpaper in the corridors could do with some updating. The staff were very helpful especially Lisa who helped my husband with fetching his cereals from the buffet for him. it was our 2nd visit and we will be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

It is pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your lovely comments onto all staff.
As you said, the hotel is in a good position, with a nice garden over the road, theatre and all the attractions you need to have a lovely holiday.
Regarding your comments about the use of the lift in the event of a fire, just to inform you that lifts cannot be used if we had a fire, but all the floors have fire exits with easy access and the staff and management are fully trained to deal with situations if occurred.
We would be very happy to see you again and thank you once again for your positive review.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing