We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, clean, good food, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Travelled by Shearings coach from Cheshire arrived Monday 30th January 2012, price included free bar 7-30 to 10-30pm each night and excursions.

All the guests were reborn teenagers and great fun, 4 nights entertainment was good and helped by the compare Jon who ensured everyone had a great time.

Welcomed by the Manager, rooms large, warm and very clean; better decorative standard than other Bay Hotels. All staff very friendly and keen to help, (don't forget problems can't be fixed if you don't report them). Food of good quality (clearly not 5 *) served quickly, bar staff happy to carry drinks to table.

Very good leg room on the executive coach and driver (Mark), very friendly and helpful).

All in all a great value holiday although wheelchair users will require assistance no ramped access at front entrance or to some bedrooms (3 steps); although there are 2 stairlifts to the dining room.

The resort has some steep hills but still very enjoyable avoid the Wellington Arms pub!

Room Tip: Wheelchair user will require assistance; hotel not suitable for anyone who is wheelchair confined. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    274
    136
    42
    28
See reviews for
70
388
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is a Shearings hotel, and we've just thoroughly enjoyed a Christmas treat here. The staff are what make it......... everyone is so friendly, and even though the hotel was full, we all felt like one of the family. The attention to detail is great. On arrival, each room had a basket of fruit, chocolates and a small bottle of cava as well as a miniature of whiskey. Throughout the weekend, everywhere there were baskets kept stocked with chocolates and nuts. The resident MC (Alan Scott) was new and had come from being a children's entertainer, but he did a wonderful job. Not too keen on the evening cabaret, not our particular choice. We believe they are closing for a month for some much needed updating, so we look forward to seeing the results.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank babs74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the Dilkhusa Hotel on a Shearings 5day/4nights all-inclusive package. For £99 per person we had four days Dinner, Bed & Breakfast, a glass of wine with our meal and a free bar from 7-30 - 10-30pm. Added to this were free coach trips to Barnstaple, a tour of Exmoor and a visit to Datington Crystal with a free Devon Cream tea thrown in. Incredible value.
The Hotel needed a lick of paint and was in need of a makeover, but the staff were excellent and our room was clean and at the front. Breakfasts were good although the Eveving meal was typical 'plastic' food with a very limited selection.
There was good entertainment in the Bar each evening. A really enjoyable week. Well done Shearings.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MDR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The Dilkhusa was not as bad as some reviews might leave you to believe. The bedrooms were spacious, but not all have a bath. In some rooms the decorating needed updating.There was plenty of public room space. Books, games and daily newspapers always readily available. Evening meals were average, desserts always good. Value for money was excellent as we had 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast, plus a glass of wine with evening meal and then free drinks from 7.30 until 10.30 each night all for just £99 per person through Shearings.. The female singer on the Friday night was excellent and I must apologise for not remembering her name. She sang songs from the London musicals and had an amazing voice. Many residents of the Hotel purchased her £5 cd which she signed after the show. Without exception all the staff at this Hotel were friendly, efficient and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room but should also have asked for a room with a bath as that is my preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Just returned from a five day break with Shearings and could not fault the holiday at all. The Hotel was in a good position, and when we arrived the Receptionist had everything organised so there was no long queue waiting for room keys. The room was large and clean with an extra heater provided which we did not need as the room was warm enough.The dining room staff were excellent especially Lisa who served us she was always bright and cheerful. The evening entertainment was very good, especially the comedians and the resident compere. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank norma20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we are seasoned shearings travellers and know what to expect, the decor in the rooms are a bit tired but we could not fault anything else, first class service in the bar and restaurant a good choice at meal times, some great entertainment and a free bar for three hours nightly and all for a very reasonable price. we have been to many bay hotels and can highly recommend them you will not beat them for overall quality and price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

we went to the dilkhusa on the 21st nov 2011 for a five day trip with shearings, the cost ?
£111 p.p and an inclusive bar for three hours each evening
the rooms, food and attitude of the staff couldnt be faulted they were spot on with everything.
if we had a complaint, the optional trips by coach, we declined as we didnt think they were value for money for a half day trip and we did our own thing.
there was eight in our party and came home with no complaints and all felt we had a really
grand time and would return

Room Tip: you pays your money and takes your chance, this is 2nd visit for us and room always good however th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing