We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel with Shearings coaches. This is our 3rd holiday this year with them the previous trips were at the Beresford in Newquay & Broadway in Sandown IOW and this was the best hotel out of the 3 mainly down to the entertainment host Simon who is an excellent singer and is very very funny. Thanks to Simon for making an evenings very enjoyable. All the staff are very friendly, rooms very clean & tidy thanks to Jackie. Service at the bar excellent thanks to Garry and his team. Good choice of food very well cooked. Hope to come back one day to see you all again. Well done to all the staff keep the good work up you are 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank casinocolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 722 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just back from a week at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel,owned by Shearings. Lovely time was had. The Reception staff and Bar staff were excellent,clean,tidy and very efficient.The entertainer Simon,was outstanding.Didnt see the chambermaids,but room always clean and tidy. Plenty of choice of food,even for me,and i am fussy.Several coach excursions included in the price,all very nice.Driver Andrew,lovely and informative.Every night there was a free bar for three hours!!what more could you want?The only negative comment, was The Restaurant,it needs a good clean and tidy.As do some of the female staff,including the manageress,quite dirty and untidy uniforms,some times they dont even wear waistcoats?? all male waiters look very smart.Get this area sorted, and you will have an excellent hotel,Will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimMancester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDenbyIlfracombe, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Jim

Firstly thank you for returning and thanks for your latest review. I apologise if you felt your Restaurant experience did not live up to what you found elsewhere in the hotel. I take on board your comments and will be paying it close attention.

In the meantime it is very much appreciated what you wrote about the rest of the hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you’re coming again, after all Christmas is not that far away….!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We just wamted to say what a great time we had and how well we were looked after. We will definetly come back again. The staff are so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pike69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Came with National Holidays, was looked after hand and foot, Ok the room was basic but very clean,Staff where exceptional hard working , friendly and very helpful, all in all a lovely week,in glorious surroundings, Plenty to eat !!! good food, Dont know how they do it for the money x would recommend,, Edna Turner

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdnaTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDenbyIlfracombe, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Edna

I think I’m thinking of the correct week and if I am I have to say the atmosphere that week was one of the best we’ve had all year. It really does make our day to read that guests have enjoyed themselves so much and the efforts of all the staff are appreciated, tell everyone!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

just returned from the dilhuska had a good time but god does it need a refurb !!! it is not a 2 star hotel ,the maid keeps your room clean,service in dining room appalling no one seems to be in charge ! allow at least 1.5 hrs for breakfast dinner dont expect a pudding at night it takes to long !! now to the best bit simon is excellent for entertainment if he wasnt there you wouldnt go it has the appearance of an old peoples home . bar staff are excellent maybe they could train the resturant staff. ilfracombe town centre very run down harbour area very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gisarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I wanted to leave as soon as I entered the ancient lift to be honest and I was shocked by the decor, my room was surprisingly clean in despite of needing urgent decoration and new carpet, I switched on the TV, four channels, but hey, I was on holiday, why did I need more channels, I needed to go out an see glorious Devon.
First night dinner....three courses,, as a vegetarian disapointing choice but my meat and fish eating family enjoyed the menu choices. The service was excellent. Very efficient and friendly staff where nothing seemed too much trouble.
Entertainment each night...bingo and a different entertainer everynight that seemed to be enjoyed by most in the room. Bit old for me, but knew that when I booked. Good fun really. Resident entertainer Simon very funny.

First night in my room...aghhh, never slept thanks to a very loud clicking clock that was fixed to the wall. The bed though very comfortable. Family members did not have the same problem and slept well. No loud party revellers here to wake us up.

I told the maid that I was kept awake by the clock, when i returned from a lovely breakfast of buffet cereals and a choice of cooked breakfast included kippers and full english which I have to say was freshly cooked and very tasty the clock had vanished! I looked everywhere....then I noticed the note, the maid had arranged for it to be unscrewed and removed and hoped that was ok....Thank you Donna, I slept soundly for the next four nights.

On first impressions I feel ashamed to say I wanted to run and book myslef into somewhere else, but now five days later I am very pleased that i did not. My family and I had a lovely stay, staff great, good food and entertainment each night and a stones throw from the lovely tunnel beaches. A good location to explore North Devon and if you are a bus pass holder the bus stop is right outside the hotel.
If you go, please look past the decor and old shower fittings etc etc and enjoy the good value for money hospitality that this hotel certainly provides.

Room Tip: No sea views. My room only had a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lorraineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDenbyIlfracombe, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

When I first read the title of this I feared the worst! I’m sorry you found a few bits of your stay not quite what you expected. With regards to the food we do have a choice of a meat, fish and vegetarian option on each day. The menu is put up each morning so if you do come again please feel free to come and chat to the Chef. We will do what we can to try and help you with any dietary requirements.

I have to say though thank you for positive words about the staff and your overall stay with us. We all try our best to please and it’s very satisfying when that comes across to someone so strongly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just spent a lovely 5 days at this Hotel. Staff were very friendly and food excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hils48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $80 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing