We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful in every sense”

Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: British, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dreadful in every sense”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Awful experience for a family get together of 9, the poor staff included, unbelievable really! Grey looking fish was served with no sauce aside a grey potato, 6 leather steaks served with a thick dollop of gunge, steak knives appeared eventually but really a chainsaw was necessary. Funeral type music started to play, perhaps to liven up the atmosphere as there were no other customers....it would be perfect for a "Murder Mystery" weekend, but otherwise this place should be avoided at all costs (the menu was grossly over priced too).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Why thank you for the review.

You were the boorish lot from away who turned-up really late, in dribs and drabs for your booking, brandishing a discount card and thinking you owned the place. We've come across diners like you before and your nouveau riche plastique doesn't impress us.

It's funny what you say actually because the same night you arrived (quite a bit later than the other ten guests that evening) my family was dining-in too to entertain two friends of our children, the first time for quite a while. We didn't have any trouble in having a very pleasant meal - I had the Pollock and enjoyed it (perhaps you couldn't recognise it or you're not used to fish without batter, if so why order something unless you're prepared to be adventurous?). Perhaps it is the company which helps make an evening - ours was great.

As for the steaks, it can't be the same ones which another diner noted as food yummy, steak great, could it? I know they can vary sometimes but come on, for goodness sake. If they were that bad you'd have returned them and asked for replacements and not eaten them all. It beggars belief and I am sure other readers of your review will think the same (apart from the rest of your group naturally but what should we expect from them). The steaks our party had were enjoyed very much - same cuts, same source and same Chef - that's odd isn't it. Our group didn't even need steak knives which tells you something.

To recognise funeral music you must attend more of those types of events than those to which I'm accustomed but that's not what we play here. Perhaps you're not very discerning but if you wanted very modern, racy music, why are you coming to an old property with roots pre-Domesday? There's no accounting for decorum and taste of one's guests is there! Sadly we have to put-up with the types of you, who polish-off all their food and then relish giving a one-out-of five rating as they imagine they're some snooty critics from the City - who can't perhaps discern between the good and the bad.

As for a pricey menu - £28.50 for three courses of home-prepared fare, from choices of three or four of each course; you'd best frequent pizza bars or establishments more likely to cater for your budget tastes but certainly you won't be welcome back with us and I should warn other local establishments to avoid you as well.

Other readers, if you'd like honest, home-prepared fare pulling from the best of local quality produce wherever possible and at a sensible price and in nice, historic surroundings with pleasant staff and homelike comfort, please do give us a call and we'll look forward to seeing you. However, if you think you're masterful critics yet on a budget to suit the supermarket, we're not for you and to be frank, we don't want your sort here as we're not desperate. If you're bringing friends or family too, please make sure your company is good as that helps you enjoy your evening - we can't arrange that bit for you. If you want a few alternative reviews of our food which somewhat contradict this one before you try, drop us an email and I'll pop some along.

Yours sincerely

Philip J Milton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    5
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“fab food great choice and value”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ate in this restaurant over the bank holiday week-end, and have to say it was excellent, really good value for money great choice and large portions, although we are large eaters we could not finish the meal, I ordered cheese and biscuits on one of the evenings and had a selection of 7 different cheeses, wow, we would thoroughly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Fisherman44

Just a brief note to thank you so much for your review. i am glad you enjoyed your experience in Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone. I shall make sure all the staff are aware of your appreciation.

We shall very much look forward to your return trip!

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“finding a gem”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I found the restaurant by chance and decided to give it a go, we called up 2 hours before and they were able to fit us in. Off we went not knowing what to expect and enjoyed a chilled out pre dinner drink in the bar and then shown into the restaurant and enjoyed what can only be described as the best slow roasted belly pork we 've ever had, the starters were simple but cooked and presented beautifully and dessert was a large slice of cheese cake, lovely. All accompanied by a nice glass of white wine.
If we had to describe the meal in one word, it would be PERFECTION.
The staff were very pleasant and quick to please, would definately reccommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benandfliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Benandfliss

Thank you so much for leaving your review - am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and found everything to your satisfaction!

we very much look forward to seeing you back again.

Thank you for taking the time to do the review - much appreciated!

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I recently had dinner here while staying at the hotel on a business trip to the area. The food was very good and service very friendly. I think some of the comments left by others are a bit unfair. Its not a five star restaurant but very good value for money. The crab cakes were lovely and the pork as a main was fantastic. Its a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr T

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind comment - so glad that you enjoyed your stay and indeed your meal in Tyme Restaurant.

We are pleased to announce that we have just secured our second year's Three Star rating with an improved mark and are still the only Three Star Hotel and restaurant in the immediate Ilfracombe area in fact.

We look forward to seeing you again - perhaps you'll have to bring your young lady next time to share with you!

My best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Food but limited selection”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Starter, main course and dessert were all very good quality for all three diners. There is a limited selection on the dinner menu, but they do have other possibles if none of the mains are suitable (this is not advertised though.) Two had Sirlion Steak, ordered medium rare and was correctly cooked. My wife had the trout and said the cheese board for dessert was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Realityracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Realityracer

Many thanks indeed for your review. I am pleased that you were happy with the quality of your meal.

I am sorry about the choice restriction but that is because we operate on a daily changing Table d'hote to ensure everything is as freshly prepared as possible as a long menu suggests more use of freezer and microwave....! However, usually if there is a desire for more choices, as you mention a quiet word with Chef means we can add to the usual menu selections for the meal! Indeed, if you have any favourites, tell us in advance and we'll see what we can do for you!

Thank you again for taking the time to comment and we shall look forward to seeing you again.

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor also viewed

 
West Down, Ilfracombe
 

Been to Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing