We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”

The Quay Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Quay restaurant in Ilfracombe is home to a unique and substantial collection of Damien Hirst's works. The classical fronted building has been beautifully restored and now relates well to the stunning views out to the Atlantic and the traditional harbour of this ancient port. Exmoor Angus beef served at The Quay has been bred within a few miles of the restaurant, and the Lundy crab and lobster is delivered on a daily basis by the fishermen who catch it just a few miles off shore. With a wine list to delight the heart of the average oenophile, and a stellar selection of West County cheeses and home-made desserts on the menu, The Quay is a genuine treat for discerning food and art lovers alike.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice food but expensive for what you get. Calamari was tender but could have been crispier, Beef Carpaccio was tasty but at £12 you don't get much for your money, granted it is sold as a starter but as we were there at lunchtime and did not want a big meal there wasn't a lot to choose from. Salad was a good size and tasty. The best meal was the children's fish goujons and chips which were not only really well cooked and tasty but good value as well. Staff were friendly and helpful. Was glad to have tried the food here but don't think I'd bother going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frizznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas g, General Manager at The Quay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed the food and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 617 of 750 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate here on a weekend trip away, we were catered for even though they stated they were fully booked which was great the staff were lovely and really attentive even though they were super busy, the fish on the menu was great, me and my partner both had the lobster which was great and the starter and desert were good also, I loved the decoration very different to what you might see elsewhere and the view was lovely. All-in-all a good night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas g, General Manager at The Quay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you had a great time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went for dinner yesterday, we were a large group of 9 diners and had booked in advance. On arrival were disappointed to be told that the sea bass and cod mains were not available which was disappointing especially as these were the main fish dishes on the menu. Only other fish options were frito misto ( too greasy for our tastes) and lobster at £40! per portion which was far too expensive even for us Londoners. Meal was okay but nothing special and we could have got better value at other less hyped restaurants in the area. We ordered 4 bottles of the same wine, and when ordering a 5th, were told that they had also run out of this particular wine. It was just a Voignier, and not a rare wine which was puzzling, no alternative was offered. You can't fault the surroundings, or views of the sea at this restaurant but we all felt that the personal touch was missing here and there was a lack of any passion behind the dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ARKIngdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas g, General Manager at The Quay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience on Monday. It is regrettable that we sold out on both the Cod and the Sea bass, but our stock on fish and shellfish tends to be quite "tight" - for quality and freshness of the produce. Monday was unexpectedly busier than usual, and I guess this is why we sold out on some dishes (and wine) by the end of the night.
We would like to apologise once again for the inconvenience this may have caused, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch here. We went for an early sitting and got a table right by the upstairs window right on the waters edge.

We went with our 11 month old son who was really well catered for with high chair and caring staff.

Food was really fast. Large portions and really great standard. It was also a lot cheaper than we expected.

Definatley recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas g, General Manager at The Quay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you had a good time with us and wish to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Maybe we picked a bad day or the chef has changed but regretably this was not a memorable night for food. The menu is really varied and looked good. I had the cod and mussels, which were nice but my partner the steak. We had to tell the waitress we'd like it medium rare and after starting it looked as though half the steak was un-cooked and mushy, I can only assume the pan was only on half the heat. They did offer to re-cook but it wasnt the tastiest so we decided not. For pudding we ordered the creme brulee and although it presented lovely it was runny and again under cooked, the waitress agreed it didnt look good and offered to make another but concerned for updetting the chef returning two dishes we declined.
I'm not a fussy eater or generally a complainer and cant recall returning many a dish but this was not up to the price you pay so i asked if they thought it was acceptable to take the steak and pudding off the bill, which they agreed.
On a positive note the restuarant has a beautiful view I espect amazing at sundown and the staff were really nice and apart from half the food, the evening, wine and ambience was still memorable and Ilfracombe is a beautiful town. Please dont let this deter you as there seem to be more positive reviews

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas g, General Manager at The Quay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. The issue with the steak and the creme brulee has been passed on to the kitchen that evening, and it has now been sorted out.
We would like to apologise for the inconvenience, and we hope to see you again for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing