We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
South Staffs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed from Aug 29th to Sept 2nd. Good location. Food was excellant. Bedroom clean, tidy and comfortable.Bar and restaraunt service was very good. Entertainment was below average, however, Nick and his band were very good and so was the kareoke with Nick. But, bearing in mind 95% of the guests are 65+ the disco in the ballroom was very poor. Although the ballroom is a fantastic traditional ballroom, it was very cold and on the second floor.Most people left after the bingo. To make the evening worse, the ground floor bar was closed. Although the restaraunt waitress (Chelsea) was very good and efficient, if you did not have cereals, you had to wait until all tables in your group of tables had had their cereals before you could have your full English and toast. The lift is very old with an inner and outer door, and despite warnings and notices, if guests let the doors slam shut, the lift does not work. A member of staff has to go to each floor and find the offending door. A further negative point is that there is no communication with reception from the bedroom. So if the lift has stopped working you have to walk downstairs, or if you have an emergency, there is no way of contacting anybody.
Anyway, all in all, a good stay. Best wishes to Nick and hope all goes well with the operation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    71
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
85
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

wow what can i say we stayed at the osbrone from 15thaugust till 19thaugust, we had a wnderful time brill hotel lovely food great rooms and great entainment made most welcome nick a great guy and his family will be back again anytime made my father most welcome hes 87 he really enjoyed himself
love steph maureen and kenxxx

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank naturedsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

just got back from 5 days in the Osborne Hotel and had such a good time, Took my 80 year old father in law and he enjoyed every minute.! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. the entertainment was great and every meal was lovely, the rooms were very clean and in all we had a great holiday for a very reasonable price. Shame the weather wasnt better but you cant have everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dance38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thanks dance38 for your review, its always nice to receive positive feedback. Next time you come to visit us, we'll try and book you some sunshine too lol xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Excellent service from a good 5 course meal
Room ok but bathroom cramped
Great location during Victorian Week, surf beaches nearby at Woolacombe
Entertainment first class, old fashion lift a problem for disabled

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGMRWALKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for a two night weekend 12/13 august and we were very pleased with everything. we had a front room 35 and it was very clean and tidy, food lovely and all staff were excellent and very helpful and if we return to ilfracombe this would be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, Stoke-on-Trent.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We went to the Osboune hotel with Procters Coaches 1st to the 5th August. We really enjoyed our stay, we found the service excellent, food was of the best quality, entertainment was brilliant, Thanks to the owner Nick, he was such good fun, got everyone to join in, bingo every night, Karaoke, we certainly enjoyed ourselfs. The hotel was clean.Our waitress Judith was lovely, and may we say a big Thankyou to our lovely coach driver Roger, & Jan for being so helpful and pleasant. all in all i give 10 out of 10. One of the Best holidays we every had.!
Ilfracombe and surrounding area is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

As a coach driver myself and my customers found the hotel to be excellent in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing