We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Osborne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$96
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
$124
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
$107
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
$115
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
173
74
31
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
74
31
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa family run hotelfantastic weekendturkey and tinselmince piescoach tripbit datedbar managerevening entertainmentcoach partyvaried menunight porterbreakfast was includedowners and staffon arrivalnothing is too much troublecentral heatingweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 293 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

we went to the osbourne hotel in ilfracombe on the 1st to the 5th of august and it was a
fantastic hotel the food was excellent and so was the service it is a family run hotel, you have
entertainment every evening they also have a sauna, on the last evening we had a
kaioke it was fantastic best evening of the week

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank book186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My children and myself had the time of our lives at the Osbourne Hotel.Aspen is a picky eater but the lovely waitresses ensured he got what he wanted.Nothing was to much trouble for them.Well done you lovely girls.
The room was spacious and clean, with fresh towels and complimentary tea making facilities replenished every day.
We all loved the entertainment and laughed so much,we never wanted the evening to end.
It was a beautiful hotel, and the food was SIMPLY THE BEST.
We can not wait to come again,and now we have told the rest of our family, neither can they.
Well done Nick and team for making us feeling part of the family.
We loved it and can not wait to return, any vacancies next week?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annescolaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

this is a two star hotel that is still living the past 30 years of ownership,all the reviews, cards, letters,and thanks must be part of a brain washing act which,, was much better than the entertainment in the evening,this being crude most nights and not to everyons taste, a salvation army member singing her religious songs and then going around with her tin collecting is not part of a karaoke event,shame about the local male voice choir with their tins for collecting,if i wanted to see a paid for show i would have gone to the local theatre .NICK the owner, manager, wont like it but this is a hotel that is living in the past and needs a good clean up ,freshen up,and new furniture and fittings, not a hotel to spend tolong in . sorry nick ,,I FOR ONE WILL NOT RETURN.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carmenwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

We're sorry to read you did not enjoy your holiday here at our hotel. Whilst we accept we are not able to please all our guests all of the time, there are some comments within your review that we as a family and the owners of a very successful business find both hurtful and disappointing. Your suggestion our guests are 'brain washed' by the amount of thank you cards etc we receive we feel is a very disrespectful remark to make and extremely personal to our guests. We do receive lots of thank you cards, gifts and as found on this website, reviews of recommendation. To us they are all a token of appreciation for the service and hospitality they experience here and we appreciate each and every one.
Your comments regarding the decor and furnishings are we feel more a question of taste. The hotel is an old building and its decor reflects its era and for most of our guests the ambience they provide are part of its attraction. As a working hotel, we are constantly replacing old furniture with new but none of the existing furnishings effect the high quality of service one receives whilst here. This brings me on to your opinions of our entertainment. We are renown for our excellent programme of entertainment and never before have we ever been accused of it being 'crude', and can't think of any of it that could be thought of as offensive. You write about the fact that both our good friend Pat from the Salvation Army and the Ilfracombe Male Voice Choir made collections during their time in the hotel. The latter were a part of your Tuesday Nights entertainment, both give their time voluntarily and the collections made are all for charities, not for themselves. They also in no way force anyone to donate, that is left completely at the discretion of the individual. Nick is vey upset at your comments too as he spent a lot of time with your husband sharing their mutual interest in music and playing guitar together, he had no idea this is how you felt about your experience here.
We'd like think that the service we give our guests is the best we can offer. Most of our guests ask us how we can offer such high quality of service on the tariff we charge? However when we consider your comments, the price you paid and the service you received we wonder if maybe your expectations were a little too high and a case of 'champagne tastes for lemonade prices'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Booked a 2 night stay for the 15th & 16th July 2011 for my 90 year old mother– in–law (this is not a joke, she is very precious to us) to have what will be possibly be her last holiday ever. The hotel was well recommended for comfort and entertainment and would have been perfect as my Mum-in-Law has trouble walking. W would not have had to trudge up and down the hills of Ilfracombe.
We arrived Friday lunch time after 5 hours of travelling including many stops, and were informed that the hotel was closing for the Saturday due to bus party cancellations and that they had texed us to cancel our booking. We received no such text. They were still open for the night but did not even offer us one night’s stay but palmed us off to another hotel which had no entertainment. So we had to trudge the streets. Imagine my Mum-in-Laws surprise and upset on walking past the hotel on the Friday night and seeing it full of old people like herself, all enjoying themselves. This so-called caring family did not even cross the road to our hotel to apologise or even invite us in for an hour or so. I now know what a leper feels like. I really have never come across such ignorance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
13  Thank micky93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

After reading your review of your recent experience here at the hotel, as one of its owners I feel it only appropriate to respond.
I should first of all again offer our apologies for the disruption and inconvenience caused to you and your family by the breakdown in communication. Our having to cancel a booking is I assure you a very rare occurence, but as we explained the reason was beyond our control. In the 43 years of the family owning the hotel it is the first time something of this nature has happened, However, we are all in agreement that once is once too often. But I should correct your review as the messages left on your wifes' mobile phone were not as you state text messages but were infact voicemails. We recognise such an action is not seen as appropriate or professional but we were left with no alternative as we had no other means of contacting you i.e. deposit, address or land line telephone number. I realise that it is of no use to you now after the event but we have since implemented new procedures to prevent this happening again.
I feel that once at the hotel, the situation was dealt with professionally. You and your family were offered our apologies and alternative accomodation found for your two night bed & breakfast holiday.Your comments regarding not being invited into the hotel for the entertainment and not receiving a visit from the owners of the hotel begs me to ask the question:- What would your response have been if we had? You left the hotel understandably very angry and upset and by the tone of this review you still are! Wouldn't your suggestions have added more fuel to your fire?
As an ex hotelier yourself, I'm sure you appreciate all the hard work and dedication that goes in to running a successful hotel. We are a family run hotel and as a family we do care about both our guests and the hotel. I'm not sure what else we could have done to appease what was obviously a sensitive and difficult situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Travelled with our local Coach Cmpany, On arrival we were offered tea or coffee - we needed that after a long trip!! - a very nice touch - the only time we had that was on our P&O cruises!!
You were handed out a card which shows your room number and table number. Very well organsied, bags were taken to your room within 15/20 mins - depending which floor you are on. There is a lift to the third floor, the fouth floor is by some stairs from the 3rd floor. The food and rooms were very good, food was especially good with many choices, and will cater for dietary needs - no problem. After breakfast the waiter will ask you what you want for your evening meal with many choices - this saves food wastage. All food was cooked to perfection, the Chef is part of the family and knows what he is doing.. could not fault it.
Breakfast is at 08:30 and evening meal is at 6:30pm
Our room was on the 4th floor, had a Sea View over roof tops....!! the Gulls were squawking alot, there was 3 baby gulls on a flat roof by us, when it's parents came to feed them you could hear them... (was better than the TV) as they were ready fly whilst we there (11 - 15th July) so once they have gone it should be quiet again..
Tip... READ the book which is in your room, tells you about the Family history and the about Hotel, there is a "Town Plan" in there aswell and other usefull info.... READ IT
The weather was very good whilst we were there, loads of Sun even at 9pm it was hot...
On departure, they ask you leave your bags outside your room by around 7:30am where they are taken down for the coach driver to load up.

Keep up your good work Nick...... best regards to the rest of the Family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews