We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was really surprised at quality of The Royal Britannia for the price we paid. The bedroom was really quaint and cosy with a bathroom with a jacuzzi bath (LOVED!) a toilet, a little sofa area with a TV and plenty of tea and coffee.
We attended a family party nearby and thought we would make the most of being child free and book a Hotel. So glad we chose to stay here.
We took advantage of the late check out and went for a stroll down the nearby pier and harbour area. We will definitely choose to stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    63
    28
    40
See reviews for
67
181
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Have stayed at the Brit several times over the years and witnessed many changes all to the good! A sea view room is a must. Very comfortable and relaxing. Staff friendly and polite. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 25! Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Thr Royal Britannia Hotel is an historical hotel where Lord Nelson and Royalty stayed in the past and when you walk down the hallway it feele like stepping back in time
The rooms are modern with en-suites and creature comforts
Staff friendly and the hotel is relaxed so they dont rush you when checking out
the three bed room appartment is good for groups of up to 8 people

Resturant serves varied meals from home cooked curries to superp steakes at very competative prices

Room Tip: Try the Big Beast Burger if you can eat a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here during Jan 14 and found the hotel a very central located place overlooking the Sea
Our room was very big with a huge en-suite and had all the mod. cons
Staff were good polite and if customers wanted to engage in conversation they would talk and if not they did not choke us with ideal talk the hotel has two bars which are good and a big restaurant which is convenient and serves high standard food at affordable prices.

Room Tip: stay in room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Britannia hotel for 3 nights,we only booked small room for 49gbp per night,Luck enough we had been free upgrade to the sea view room,and been told it was not busy season they always give the guests free upgrade when they have room avaliable.That made us feel speciall .The room was huge with flat screen and sky,we spent a lot of time in the room because it was cold and wet outside.We had plenty good rest that was what we needed.Everything was just great,we have to love it!

Room Tip: book the sea view room if you spend plenty time in the room and ask free upgrade if you only booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in a small room at 49gbp per night and found it to be compact but clean and everything in it
The bar was good with friendly locals as well as hotel residents
Food was good and plenty of it
We will be back in three months but will book a harbour-view room

Room Tip: join the members club to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Royal Britannia Hotel is full of history and is a very warm and friendly place to stay
our room was overlooking the harbour and we had birds-eye view of the sea as the stormy waves broke over the wall nearly hitting our window
The room was big and yet very warm with a powershower and creature comforts
Breakfast was good as were all the other meals
We found the locals very friendly and the staff were very helpfull so we will be back

Room Tip: book a harbourview room and if staying on saturday skip breakfast and have carvery before leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Property: The Royal Britannia
Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing