We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and i stayed at The Royal Britannia hotel for 2 days.We had really wonderful time.The room we were in which was 1 of the sea view rooms,was very clean and warm. The sea was just in front of us, we loved it!!!
The staff were so nice and helpful Freshly cooked full English breakfasts was served which was very nice,specially the fresh ground coffee that I had was lovely.
We enjoyed our stay so much.We defitnetly will go back there next year.Thank you so much to all the staff at the brit!

Room Tip: take seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racer5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    81
    57
    24
    40
See reviews for
66
173
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Royal Britannia hotel is not near the harbor it is part of the harbor with its pattio area sitting along the harbor wall with breathtaking views
We stayed here for 5 nights and did not want to leave as our room was a very big room only yeards away from the sea and one can just sit and watch the waves hitting the wall in front of the hotel
The staff are very helpfull and the food was great and enexpensive and one could have a pint for only around 2gbp which makes this hotel the cheapest drinking place for miles around (you have to register as a member to get the best prices)
we will be back soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

From Rod and Sue .The Britannia is a friendly and comfortable hotel situated facing the beautiful harbour of Ilfracombe . We would certainly return again in the future and recommend this hotel for your stay .

Room Tip: Harbour view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed here for a week,food was great the sunday carvery i could not fault and the price was very good/rooms were cleaned each day with new bedding and refreshments,the views from the room we were in were stunning as we were overlooking the harbour, staff were freindly and will be coming back here next year .the prices of the rooms are very good and got upgraded as soon as we got there and received a loyalty card which you can save upto 30% on accomadation,food and drink woul recomend to anyone dave and maggie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Took off to Ilfracombe on a whim, drove into town looking for an Hotel and this one caught the eye, ideally situated on the harbour side. On a rainy day in November it wasn't busy so we were able to book in and we we had The Lord Nelson room over looking the harbour and with a four poster bed. The room was clean and tidy, and the staff friendly. We didn't have an evening meal there, but the breakfast was fine and the price we paid for our night was very reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Royal Britannia Hotel is Situated right nest to the harbors waters edge and amongst a lot of eating places making it the best hotel in the south west England as far as the views go and the prices are good
We have been to the hotel before and became members which means that we get up to 30% discounts on rooms and a pint of lager only costs us 2.20gbp as a member
The staff are very helpful, food is good and cheap and 2gbp a pint with stunning views you cannot go wrong so if you fancy a break next to the sea give the Britannia a try

Room Tip: Try the new room 25 its huge and just yards away from the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself my wife and four friends have stayed in the Britannia s three bedroom apartment twice now and each time we have had a fantastic stay . The rooms are basic but very clean and the hotel is right on the harbour in heart of Ilfracombe .The hotel bar is always busy with locals and visitors all enjoying good food and drink . The staff are all very helpful and Richard the owner is one of the nicest people you could ever meet and is always looking for feedback to improve the hotel .Give the Brit a try you wont regret it .

Room Tip: Ask for the room where Lord Nelson slept .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NOSE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Property: The Royal Britannia
Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing