We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights with some friends. The room and bathroom were well presented, warm and clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. Breakfast was good and hearty.

Yes the place needs some updating but that is clearly being addressed with work nearly complete on a brand new wooden staircase.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is great seating overlooking the pretty harbour.

The hotel offered good value for money and so long as you do not go expecting 5 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monument
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 355 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited the first time on a special offer and had a lovely time.
We went back on the same special offer but had to cancel due to illness.
The owner let us rebook at no extra cost and added a Saturday night to our booking at a really good price and upgraded our room for both nights.
We love the old local feel to the place, good cider, dart board and pool table and a good hearty breakfast.
It's nothing 'special'.......but a nice cosy place to stay...good value....and very friendly.
Oh and it's right on the harbour so perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnytwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Royal britania is a friendly warm environment with a great atmosphere and good valie for money definitely recommend it to friends staff are welcoming and are always eager to help and are very chatty the locals are also chatty and friendly will definitely be goin again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We are locals, and often go down for a game of pool, we had a curry to night and it was vert good quality, lovely food and bog portions !! Thestaff are welcoming and very friendly and help you as much as they can. Deffnatly can't wait for the summer to be sat out in the lively garden over lookin the beach, Stacey && Stephen

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ilfracomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed in The Britannia over the past 2 weeks and I couldn't fault it, if I faulted it I wouldn't have kept on staying, it's a quirky and old which I think is good :) the location is good as it out of the way from the town and is right next to the harbour which sets the seen,
Big Thanks to Kyle and Megan for welcoming me there, easy to approach and talk too, had a few laughs too. Both great bar/hotel staff,
I LOVES ETTTTTT

Tom The Tiler

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasKeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our group from china went to the UK for shopping sightseeing and Golf and ended up here at the Royal britannia hotel with many wonderfull places to see and good Golf cources
The hotel itself is a great historic place with helpfull staff and good food at amazing prices
if in uk its a place worth visiting

Room Tip: Take a harbourview room (i dident as i was with a group) and be next to the SEA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ming y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am with a group and we are at the royal britannia hotel in ilfracombe Devon England, I have had a wonderfull time whilst in London shopping in the other big cities
Now relaxing in Devon at the Royal Britannia Hotel and avoiding the swiming in the big pond
The Britannia Hotel is a friendly place where the staff and owners try hard to keep us happy and provide us with great English food and drinks at amazingly cheap prices.
A big thank you to all at the Britannia and i will be back

Room Tip: Take the small room if you dont spend your time in the room as they are cheap and the views can be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ying c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
484 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing