We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
125
94
74
36
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
94
74
36
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour viewlord nelson roomfour posterfree upgradeserved hottea and coffeeout of seasonstayed one nighttwin roomquaydogseagullsdevonpubs
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 388 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lovely hotel. Room was large, king size bed, clean, airy, spacious. En suite was very clean. I'm surprised to read other's reviews about the bar service...I didn't encounter too much of a problem. I probably waited about 5 minutes to be served but always managed to get the barpersons attention. The food was good value for money, didn't have to wait too long for it and it was hot when it arrived. The discount card scheme is a bonus and brilliant idea...worth the £10...got that back on the food and drink savings. Wonderful views over the harbour from our room. And i could enjoy a pint with breakfast (that doesn't make me an alcoholic (DAVID R)...just a holidaymaker having a good holiday. We're already booked to return in September...and really looking forward to it. See you there.....

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room.....so relaxing.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
np1257315, Owner at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location but that's as good as it gets. Small rooms, dirty windows, poor service, poor breakfast.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
np1257315, room service at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are sorry you felt that way. We have 3 tiny rooms for people on a low budgets or travellers who only need a small en-suite as we have areas for sitting on the Harbour Front and yes they are small rooms (we advertise them as 10x10.5ft and they are very cheap so many people book them all the time and return back to these rooms so it’s like the old saying you only get what you pay for. As for the windows we are unable to predict the local seagull movement and cannot order just in time window cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I visited this hotel for a spot of lunch, we chose this spot due to its location. Lovely. We made 2 trips to the bar, on both occasions we waited 10 mins plus to get served, tried switching to another bar to order food, still no service. 2 staff behind the bar, neither looked incredibly busy, 1 bottling up and the other looking through boxes of till rolls. eventually served. food reasonably ok. Would'nt be in a hurry to visit again. Shame, lovely spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

We are sorry to hear that, we have off days and absent staff days so we hope you will return and like our new food serving system and better service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

First bedroom offered could hardly get through the door, after complaining we were given another extremely small room with on suite that was a joke. Could hardly see through the window , god knows when it was cleaned.Alcoholics around the entrance at breakfast time obviously just served drinks. We never found the free parking advertised and would never go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are sorry you felt that way. We have 3 tiny rooms for people on a low budgets or travellers who only need a small en-suite as we have areas for sitting on the Harbour Front and yes they are small rooms (we advertise them as 10x10.5ft and they are very cheap so many people book them all the time and return back to these rooms so it’s like the old saying you only get what you pay for. As for the people in the bar, well we have many weddings and other parties and most people are here to chill out,
We do say in our website that the Britannia is unsuitable for people who are looking for a quiet place as we are right on the Harbour with restaurants and pubs all around us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel as my Husband was walking the South West Coast Path. We had a lovely room with a bay window overlooking the harbour. Just the place to sit and relax and watch the world go by. The sandy beach just outside the Hotel was a bonus - and we had good weather too! The Hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but were very happy with our bay window, harbour view room which had a table and chairs to sit at.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews