We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You're simply the best”
Review of Coastal Fringes

Coastal Fringes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastal Fringes
Ranked #31 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“You're simply the best”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the very elegant Gene Tierney Suite which provided everything you would expect in an expensive hotel. The breakfast menu choice was extensive and delicious setting us up well for each day. Marianna and David's local knowledge is encyclopaedic. We had a wonderful stay and so will you!

Room Tip: If the Gene Tierney Suite is available book it quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abraham325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just had a 4 night stay at Coastal Fringes. David and Marianna were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was out of this world. All freshly cooked with a range from kippers to croissants and cereals etc. We had the Gene Tierney room on the top floor which was very comfortable and airy with all the amenitys that you could want with home made biscuits everyday, fresh milk for the tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV and DVD. There was a range of Gene Tierney films to watch if you required. Local information on walks and days out was also available in the room. Great shower with shower gel, shampoo etc and lovely soft towels. The whole property was very clean and well looked after. The movie memorabilia on the walls and down the stairs was fascinating. Would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our night in the Gene Tierney room, even supplied with movies starring Gene Tierney. The house is very interesting with lots of movie memorabilia. Marianna very helpful in directing us to the sights. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All looked very clean and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Marianna is a very enthusiastic hostess who went out of her way to make us, two couples eventually cycling to Plymouth, feel at home and offered us great, plentiful breakfasts with a good choice. l loved the kippers. We stayed two nights and spent our free day taking a great boat ride to Lundy Island. Both rooms were spacious and clean. We found Ilfracombe an attractive town with lots of choice of restaurants. We enjoyed the Smugglers Inn. ln the port, the Damian Hurst enormous statue of a naked pregnant female 'caused much controversy' and still does.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent B & B in Ifracombe - in a great location as it is just a few minutes walk to the town, Tunnel beaches and Landmark theatre; a further five minutes walk takes you to the harbour and the famous "Verity" statue. The rooms are all well appointed and modern with a flat screen TV and DVD player, double glazed windows with blinds and curtains, tea/coffee, hairdryer and toiletries. Owners are helpful, polite and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are cooked to order and to a high standard. The best room is the Joan Fontaine suite which has a large bathroom with bath and double shower. It also has a large sitting area in the sunny bay window. The bed is a lovely antique wooden style with an electric blanket (if required). It is definitely worth the extra couple of pounds. There are 3 rooms with 3 allocated spaces so there is no problem parking. The B & B is well placed for travelling to Woolacombe and other local attractions. The town has a few nice reasonably priced restaurants but they do get full at peak times so it is advisable to book. It has the usual tea rooms, shops and pubs but not too many like some seaside towns. There are boat trips to Lundy and fishing trips available at the harbour. The beach is pebbly and rocky with lots of pools which kids love but if you want golden sands you will have to go to Woolacombe! I would definitely recommend this B & B as it good value for money and one of the best I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Book the Joan Fontaine Suite as it large, dual aspect, well appointed and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad-Maz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Coastal Fringes. The stay was as excellent as everyone else has mentioned.
Nothing was to much trouble, Marianne was welcoming, helpfull and went out of her way to make sure your stay was as comfortable as possible.
Great choice of Breakfast and freshly cooked, Perfect.
The room was like home from home, very clean and themed, with a range of magazines, books dvds to keep anyone amused on a wet or cold night.
One of the best private guest house we have ever stayed in.
You can not pay by credit card, but this was not a problem, they advised us of this when we booked so just made sure we took cheeque book with us.
Private parking on the premises and within walking distance to the sea front, so left car at guest house and walked down to the sea front.
Marianna works very hard to ensure your stay is as exactly as you wish.
Really enjoyed weekend and would certainly recomend the guest house who anyone looking for accomodation in Illframcombe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

David and Marianna have used their experience to provide the best B & B we have ever visited. Nothing has been missed from the spaciousness of the rooms, choice of breakfast, and all the other extras provided for their guests. The decor is unique and interesting. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Local information is readily available from details of walks to bus timetables. Their enthusiasm to please is apparent. Coastal Fringes is also great value for money. You will not be disappointed. Superlatives are used too easily these days but this really is the best of the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Gene Tierney Room'' which was on the top floor making it very light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 52 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#27 of 52 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#16 of 52 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn House
Cairn House
#17 of 52 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Fringes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Fringes

Property: Coastal Fringes
Address: 76 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coastal Fringes Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing