We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”
Review of Coastal Fringes

Coastal Fringes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastal Fringes
Ranked #31 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The reviews on Trip Advisor prompted us to book this B & B and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Gene Tierney room which is on the top floor, it was spotlessly clean, bright, light and extremely well appointed with extras that you would be hard pushed to find in some hotels; flat screen TV and DVD player with a selection of DVDs, tea/coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, hairdryer, illuminated shaving mirror, shower gel, shampoo (and many other little touches)
The breakfast selection is vast; starting with a selection of fruit juices, then fruit or yoghurt, cereals, and then a choice of breakfasts including smoked salmon and scrambled egg, full english, continental breakfast. We found the breakfast set us up for the whole day, only needing a Devon cream tea to keep us going until the evening!
Marianna and David are lovely hosts, they will volunteer information if asked, their recommendation to visit the Marwood Hill Gardens was greatly appreciated.
A brilliant little find, thank you to previous reviewers, so glad that we tried it despite a couple of kill joys who left undeserved negative comments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylesburyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Coastal Fringes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a B&B with an unusual character, with its film themes. We stayed a total of five nights in the very spacious Joan Fontaine room which has a nice sitting area. Breakfast was always lovingly prepared and Marianna and David were welcoming and enthusiastic hosts. It's about a10-15 minute walk into the main part of Ilfracombe and the restaurants, which was fine for us. It also has three off-road parking spaces, which was handy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Marianna and David are delightful, they are very helpful and accommodating and offer a vast and very tasty breakfast selection.

We stayed in the Ann Harding room, the room was immaculate and offers home comforts, more than any other b&b we have stayed at, definitely would recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe and is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre.

Great hosts, great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 nights at Coastal fringes and it was great, the owners a so welcoming and friendly, the rooms are immaculate and breakfast is great, I would defiantly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Another wonderful stay in Ilfracombe's finest B&B! The very high standard and hospitality given by David and Marianna never falters and is the making of our trips to Devon.We stay in the Joan Fontaine room which is so spacious, will every facility you could ever want.You could not ask for better value for money and the extensive and varied breakfast menu is amazing and keeps us going for a good part of the day.We stayed for four nights this trip and not even a bit of bad weather could spoil it for us. On our journey home we always find ourselves planing our next visit to the area and Coastal Fringes!

Room Tip: Joan Fontaine room which was the biggest, and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MREDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent the Easter weekend at Ilfracombe and stayed in this delightful bed and breakfast. The breakfast room has lots of lovely Art Deco collectibles in pride of place. Spotlessly clean, Marianna, the owner, spends a lot of time keeping the place immaculate. We were in the Joan Fontaine room which was the biggest, and very comfortable. There were even old videos of this great Hollywood star if you wanted to go back down memory lane (I have to confess I watched one "The Bigamist" and enjoyed every minute of it! ) Being new to the area, the owners were very helpful and knowledgeable of places to visit, with special walks that had been prepared by Marianna's husband David. The B&B is within walking distance to the town where we discovered Fore Street, which has some lovely restaurants and pubs. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room with the most delicious home made biscuits to die for! We really enjoyed our weekend away in Ilfracombe and staying at Coastal Fringes was just the icing on the cake. Thank you to Marianna and David. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Joan Fontaine room is lovely and big - however, if you are 6' plus it might not suit as it i...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The room was immaculately clean and comfortable, big telly, great shower and nice bed. However, it was so regimented that breakfast was between 0800 and 0830 exactly (on a holiday?????) with no flexibility. Breakfast was ok but smiley potatoe faces isn't so cool. Continental breakfast has ham, cheese and yoghurt, not just two croissants!!!! The owners were very nice but just a little overpowering with niceness. All in all, nice place but not for the under 50s.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalFringes, Owner at Coastal Fringes, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Coastal Fringes and for your reveiw. We cannot however, agree with some of the opinions stated. Firstly, if you have issues with the accomodation or service at a B & B it is normally courtesy to in the first instance, approach the owners and to give them a chance to deal with your concerns. You did not mention anything to either my wife or myself and when asked if you had enjoyed your stay you said that you had. Calling us a 'Timewarp' is totally unfair. In this industry. that normally implies an 'Abigail's Party' decor of swirly multi coloured carpets and garish big patterned wallpaper and clapped out fittings and furniture, none of which is evident at Coastal Fringes. . If you wanted a contemporary room, why did you book the only room that is not done in a contemporally style? When you booked all the other rooms were still available, but you asked particually for the Ann Harding Room. Photos of our rooms are on our website. On our website, is our breakfast menu othering a wide choice of main courses and it states croissants and fruit. You were offered everything on that menu. If you wanted cheeses or ham you could have asked for it, or for anything else for that matter, as we try to oblige. As for our fab, groovy, smiley potato faces, they only appear occasionaly as part of the English breakfast, They obviously did not cause you amusement You were also making a big deal about breakfast times. Why did you not ask for a later breakfast? and why did you choose to order breakfast at 8.15 when you could have had it at 8.30? or later if you had asked We are flexible and often make breakfasts early for people going to Lundy island or going fishing. Your comment about us being not suitable for anyone under 50 is very unfair and an insult to all the many people under 50 who enjoy their holiday with us and like what we provide. Coastal Fringes is not a temple of Minimalism but it is not full of tat or kitch wither. Our guests, including our younger guests have liked the fact that Coastal Fringes is not like everywhere else and brings something different to the table. Things are not regimented here, people have access to their rooms at all time, we are flexible and caring. All you need to do is ask! We are a small quality seaside B & B. and have no pretentions ro be anything that we are not. Sorry that we have had to write this but we believe in fair play. David & Marianna Holdsworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 53 in Ilfracombe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#15 of 53 in Ilfracombe
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Lights B&B
The Harbour Lights B&B
#11 of 53 in Ilfracombe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Fringes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Fringes

Address: 76 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coastal Fringes Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing