We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RAJAH ILFRACOMBE WORLDS BEST INDIAN TAKE AWAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rajah Indian Restaurant & Takeaway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rajah Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #96 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RAJAH ILFRACOMBE WORLDS BEST INDIAN TAKE AWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

SIMPLY THE BEST tried lots of indian take aways nothing comes close to the rajah, nawabi rice , chicken pakoras, spicy fries and the sauce are beyond compare. the chicken tikka masala is 1st class DONT MISS IT

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    5
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I live in Ilfracombe so can speak for many others that live here too. The only reason I went there last week was because the Gurkha was closed. Tesco poppadoms! Tesco's nan bread and shop bought cooking sauces. My prawn madras was served to me cold and had to be sent back. I ate here about 6 yrs ago and was equally appalled then too. Do not eat in this poor English run curry house. The service was awful too,hasn't changed in all the years I have lived here!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful food! Worst Indian I have ever had!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

When I went to the Rajah, I was anticipating a nice Indian curry, and was really looking forward to a chicken tikka masala! Boy, I was I dissapointed! Words cannot describe the mouthfulls of torture I forced myself upon. My father cannot tolerate hot curries, so he chose a vegetarian korma. The korma was spicier than the masala. When he commented on it being so hot, the waitress simply replied: "It's our own special recipe"
Throughout this dreadful experience, the waitress made sure her presence was known, by interupting in conversation. She also commented the chef had a bad leg?
Do not let yourself endure this. You've been warned.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_Suarez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic curries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The curries here are well cooked and spiced like those we have had in India.

Thee popadums and naan breads are not so good but we go there for the curries such as kenyan and goat.

Staff are friendly and attentive whilst making you feel welcome and comfortable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mugofjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the "party of four" from the other review, I concur that this has some of the worst indian food I've tasted. Admittedly, the price reflected this.
Vindaloo was not spicy (after the waitress' repeated attempts to warn us off it as it was "the hottest you'll ever taste"), the Tikka (ok, not a proper curry) was curdled and tasteless.

After speaking to some locals, it seems the restaurant is living off past glories. This is evidenced by "winner of....... 2007" signs in the restaurant. Weirdly, a couple of other dates are scribbled on the side "2008, and 09" (or something like that) is scrawled with a marker pen.

The only thing this restaurant is doing is discrediting the organisation that awarded this to it.

Avoid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rajah Indian Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to The Rajah Indian Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing