We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed 4 days in August as part of a group. There is a quiet lounge with books as well as the bar and lobby seating area, and a small lift. It was spotlessly clean; better food than some hotels and always with a vegetarian option or salad choice every day; the staff actually listened and were very helpful. Usual notice about leaving towels in the bath if you want them changed, which we never did, but they were changed every day anyway.
The hotel is on a quiet road next door to the Tunnel Beach entrance and easy walking distance to anywhere in Ilfracombe including the Coastal Path.
When I congratulated the owner she said 'Some hotels cater for coaches - we cater for people.'

Room Tip: If you're not happy, ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review Gordon. on behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotels in order to attend a family birthday, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. The only thing that concerned us was the lift was carpeted on the floor, walls and ceiling, which seemed a little odd and could be considered a fire hazard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mumsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review Mumsy. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for five days and were very impressed with the service and the lovely meals, the bed was so comfortable clean towels every day and the hospitality tray was always full, we would be happy to stay there again, thank you Claire for making our stay a happy one. John and Maxine Trefor.

Room Tip: just explain to Claire what you require and she is so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maxine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the very kind review Mr & Mrs Trefor, on behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for 1 night on the 9th August. We had two rooms and can't believe what a lovely place. The rooms were very clean,tidy everything you could ask for. The full breakfast is a perfect start to the day.The reception staff were so helpful when we arrived.A hotel which ideally place for everything. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review Michael. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Don't be put off by the 2 star rating, this hotel is a little gem. Good value for money, very clean, food nice and the staff were always friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had room 103 which had a huge bed and TV. The bed was made every day, we had tea making facilities and full sized bath/shower. Special thanks to Clare for assisting with my dietary requirements. We spent four days at the Carlton, we were shooting at the two local grounds and it was a great benefit to be able to use the secure hotel gun room with individual cabinets and additional security. The hotel was a short walk into the town and harbour, and easy access to a good selection of restaurants. Happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 103, huge bed and massive TV, full size bath/shower. Very quiet apart from the seagulls!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieGun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review Annie. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding,
Room. Bed was very nice one of the best yet!!

However room was very small for two people,shower was grubby

Full length mirror was inside wardrobe,but couldn't open fully to use as bed was in front.

Food was ok if you like a microwave breakfast.

And it cost me £160 for two nights very very expensive. Would not go back

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for taking time to review Lee. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staying in this hotel for 4 nights. Very friendly and amenable staff. nothing too much bother.
Room is clean and tidy with usual facilities ,single room even has a bath. Cleaned daily.
Excellent choice of Breakfasts and Evening Meals freshly made . Anything that's not on the menu ,just ask to see if available.
Ideally suited for sightseeing around Ilfracombe and surrounding areas.
Suitably stocked bar and wine list.
Proprietor Claire extremely helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the great review Alwyn. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
621 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $106 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing