We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just rocked up for an overnight stay . We had not booked .So very friendly ,could not do enough to help us .Breakfast excellent. Would recommend if staying in Ilfracombe ,this is the place to stay
Stuart & Lesley

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel so positively Stuart & Lesley. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    129
    31
    19
    5
See reviews for
69
116
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked this hotel for a week's stay in June 2014. The hotel is situated to enable good access to the main body of Illfracombe, and near to a bus stop to use the local transport.
Hotel very clean, the staff were very helpful especially Claire who was a "mine of information on the local area". All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much problem.
Rooms were exceptionally well kept and clean and comfortable. A special request for a breakfast item was supplied, there was plenty of choice, and breakfast was presented well and was great.
Plenty of parking space at the front of the hotel, bar facilities if required and also food in the evening if required. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting Ilframcombe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695helenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for the 'Lovely' review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, when shooting with a group of friends around the local area.
The staff were all polite friendly and helpful, there is a gun room for safe storage of your shotgun, which is secure and alarmed and you have your own cabinet within.
The single room that I stayed in was very small but was clean and had more in than you would expect from a two star rated hotel, I did not eat breakfast as I had to leave at 5.30 am but there is a night porter who was more than happy to provide coffee and toast before my departure.
Overall the hotel exceeded my expectations and I would use it again for a clean cheap bed for the night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Mark. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

After arriving in Ilfracombe late with nothing booked, we tried several hotels, only to find all were fully booked. Finally and thankfully we found the Carlton Hotel. Very clean, great service, good breakfast, good rooms, plenty of parking and a great location.

Thanks also to Claire who greeted us with a warm welcome and was always on hand if ever anything was needed.

Apparently the reason a lot of hotels are full is because they accept Coach Parties.The Carlton doesn't and that's a good thing as it meant we had a great weekend and didn't have to spend time in one of 'God's Waiting Rooms' across the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Vaughn. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A group of us stayed at the Carlton and received a warm and friendly welcome from the manager. I shared a twin room which was on the top floor and was clean and well presented. The room was compact but comfortable although the toilet and shower room was small and the hand basin in the bedroom. Beds were very comfortable. Most of us had pre-booked an evening meal and we were all served quickly with well prepared and cooked food and extra vegetables and chips offered. Meals were all paid for individually but this presented no problem and we were all dealt with in a short space of time. Breakfast gave a good choice and was cooked to order. The lift is worth using for the experience! It is fitted with a sensor and should you move forward and break the beam the lift stops mid floor. All the staff we saw were friendly and helpful. I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Malcolm. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. We booked a couple of days diving which required early starts meaning we had to leave before breakfast. The hotel offered to provide a selection of sandwiches, crisps etc as a packed lunch in lieu of breakfast which we felt was very good service. Very impressed by the service.

The hotel, on the other hand, was really very dated. I appreciate that a modern style is unlikely in a quaint seaside town, but some things did need replacing. The duvet cover was faded and the pattern was pretty alarming (see photos from other reviews). Some of the pictures on the walls were terrible (see photo). The dated feel of the hotel was even upheld by a cliff richard tribute artist performing in the bar one evening!

To be fair, I think this hotel would be quite pleasant for people of a certain age, but I personally found it to be dated and tired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Sian. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Big thanks to Neil, Matthew, Claire and all the staff who helped us and made us feel very welcome - late arrival accommodated and nice breakfasts too

Helpful in finding local places to eat and generally being pleasant and chatty as we popped in and out over seveal days

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for the great review Steve. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing