We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful sorry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
adamdavi3s
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just awful sorry”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I had the unfortunate Displeasure of staying here for a wedding.
Firstly let me say my experience is based on a stay in the "basement" (rooms 9-15) I had friends staying upstairs and the quality was better, the superior room just about meets what I would expect as a minimum!

Firstly let me say that the staff were very friendly and helpful I have nothing bad to say in that respect at all.
Also the shower in my room was hot with good pressure, which I needed to wake me up.
The bed was tiny but reasonably comfortable and the bed linin was at least clean

However:
The first thing that struck me was the not so faint stench of cabbage on the way to, and in the room. I can only guess to the source of this...

The second striking feature was the Compact nature of the room, the corridor down just wide enough to fit down with a sachel and suit bag, although the ill fitting loose carpet nearly caught me out. The elegant placement of the bed giving me just enough room to walk around it without banging my knees on the bed or wall too many times.

The furniture also gave me a nice reminder of my childhood, white flat pack with a slight hint of yellow and flaking chipboard.

The bathroom had a quaint uneven floor with ill fitting Lino (I'm glad it was lino as it was impossible to fill the kettle in the sink so there was some obvious spillage while using a glass to fill it) , but with just enough room to turn around... With the door open. The shower also provided an intriguing insight into some pretty rare and exotic plant species...

The single glazing also let me enjoy the pleasurable sounds of downtown Ilfracombe... All night.

I also enjoyed being woken at 6am by the sound of my neighbour coming through the wall, well that was my initial thought, as it transpired he was simply turning on his light.

The car crash of a breakfast I will leave to your imagination...


I'm sorry but I got this room for £60 as a 'good deal'... Had I paid a penny more I would have demanded my money back and slept in my car... It would have been quieter....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamdavi3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    139
    35
    22
    6
See reviews for
80
136
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to Ilfracombe on a sun holiday, could not stay in the acomandation that we had. So found this hotel on a website and read the reviews and booked it. Took a chance and turned up at the hotel early morning, check in time was not meant to be until 3pm. I just wanted to park in their own car park and walk around the town. Spoke to a very nice man on reception explained our story and he was great. He made us feel very welcome and told us the room was ready and we could check in now :) we were so happy. The room was clean and tidy and fresh towels provided every day and tea, milk and coffee with maid service, breakfast was cooked well and plenty of choice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Thank you too the Carlton for turning around a weekend break. That we thought was going to be a disaster. Highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for the recommendation Jon. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Excellent beds, showers and breakfast. Location good, recommend the nearby bistro for evening meal. Room a little small, difficult to access wardrobe. Bar needed renovating (which I think there are plans to do). Very friendly, very clean and overall would recommend

Room Tip: Possible that other rooms are more roomy than the one we had. We were on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMarieM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed Fiday-Monday.B.B./E meal.Nice cheerfull Staff.Rooms very clean.Breakfast good but sadly the set evening meal was a let down.Also experienced a lot of late night noise from the street and the windows rattled in the wind.Could do with double glazing and a lick of paint.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for the review Nev. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been visiting the Carlton for several years as part of a group enjoying the excellent Clay Shooting facilities in the area. Ilfracombe is a perfect base for us and the Carlton delivers great service and excellent value. The management and staff couldn't do more to make us welcome. This is why we return year after year.
The location is perfect, just minutes walk to the centre of town with it's wealth of pubs and restaurants. It is also much on the same level as the seafront, so no uphill walk back.
We only do B&B, so I can't comment on the evening meals, but breakfast is very good. Parking is available at the front of the Hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for the review Stuart. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to the rudest manageress. The man behind the desk even looked taken back with how rude she was to customers.
She was belittling and disengaging, I am unsure why this was, which was even more unsettling.
Unfortunately due to this treatment the hotel didn't sparkle for myself and my friend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omni_lil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. On behalf on the previous owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. Two female receptionists greeted us and although we were slightly early for check in they made the effort of finding out if our room was available for us. Room was quite small but lovely and clean and well supplied with tea and coffee that was replenished everyday, also clean towels daily. Food was very good and plentiful with a wide variety of dishes.
Although the outside of this hotel looks rather tied do not let this put you off, as the friendliness of ALL staff is second to none. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review this hotel Sharon. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing