We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheery, bright room in the center of seaside town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The double room was sunny and bright, well-cleaned, with large ensuite bath, and even had room for luggage around the large bed provided with comfy duvet and pillows. The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was served quickly. Having stayed at many 2-stars, we highly recommend another star for The Carlton and would go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haletourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 471 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Good location. This hotel has secure gun cabinets. As Dedes has changed hands and lost it's parking, this is a good alternative, with it's own car-park. NB shooters will have to take their shot gun certiciates.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esher_SurreyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Many thanks for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Had just one night here whilst woking in the area. Arrived too late for dinner, but thankfully the bar was still open and I was able to enjoy a few well chosen local ales which certainly hit the spot after a traumatic day at the dentist followed by a 6 hour drive.

My room was nice enough but perhaps a little dated for some. It was however spotlessly clean with enough of everything I needed for my short stay.

Breakfast was fine, even though I sadly couldn't manage the "Full English" due to a new plate. However perfectly poached eggs were soon polished off and washed down with good coffee and fresh juice.

Being out of season, the hotel was quiet, but for £30 per night B+B (via late rooms), it represented amazing value for money.

When I'm next in the area I will certainly return.

A final word for the hosts. Very friendly and witty, not to mention welcoming

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel, run by Claire and Austin, who are relatively new to the hotel trade, is of a good standard. Reception and suitcase delivery was pretty efficient. Rooms are comfortable, but with many old buildings, vary in size. Most, if not all, are ensuite. There is a lift to all floors, only takes three or four at a time, so a queue at busy times.

Decoration in the foyer and bar/ballroom is rather over the top, but due for renewall according to the owner. The restaurant is in the basement, food good and plentiful, served by smart and friendly waiters.

The location puts in equ-idistant from the town and the sea front, not too far to either. The pretty harbour is further, a good walk.

Entertainment is the usual stuff for holiday hotels, nothing to write home about, but passes the time!

The owners are keen to assist and are helpful without being overly so. This is one of the few holiday hotels that I would consider visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for taking time to review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I stayed here at the Carlton during my weekend visit to Devon and to be honest was not expecting a lot from a 2-Star property. I was greeted very warmly by a young (and rather attractive!) receptionist who checked me in with great speed and courtesy. My room was very clean, warm and complete with all the extras you’d expect from a 4-Star Property (flat screen digital TV and tea/coffee facilities). I had dinner later in the evening and had to wait no more than 2 MINUTES (!) before the food came out which was well cooked, hot and generous in portion.
The owner of the property was always very cheerful and gave me good advice and tips on local walks and attractions around Ilfracombe. The rest of the staff (all of whom were English!) were never too busy to chat and help in any way they could.
I work in hotel management myself and tend to notice things that other guests would not – but here, there was literally nothing wrong at all. This is how all hotels should be and what guests can look forward to when staying here. The room rate was very reasonable as well – I paid just £47 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. This hotel is 2-Star, but by far offers an experience of between 3 and 4! When I return to Devon in February – this is where I shall be!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAGoldStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the 5 star review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed in the Carlton for a single night whilst visiting friends in Ilfracombe. I had read previous reviews of the hotel and managed to book a single room for £35 which included a breakfast.
I had a little trouble finding the hotel as it is tucked behind a parade of other guest houses but once I arrived I was very pleasantly surprised. The location is within easy walking distance of the harbour, high street and beaches.
I was warmly greeted by the lady on the reception desk who told me where everything was and that parking was available on the hotel forecourt at no extra cost.
My room was quite small and a little dated, but it was very clean and had everything I could need. There was a small en-suite with a shower cubicle and toilet (electric macerator so a bit noisy in the middle of the night but worth it to have an en-suite). The sink is in the main bedroom and there was also a digital flatscreen TV, wardrobe, tea & coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. The bed was very comfortable and there were ample pillows and towels etc.
The hotel itself has a restaurant and also a bar and lounge. WiFi is available in the main areas and there are lots of sofa's and chairs if you want to sit with your laptop etc.
My breakfast was very nice, there was a choice of cereals and fruit, juice, tea, coffee and also a full cooked breakfast - all included in my rate!
The restaurant was quite busy when I went to breakfast but I was seated and tucking into my food within about 5 mins. The gentleman taking the orders apologised profusely for the delay which I found quite amusing as it was some of the quickest service I had received in a long time... they must be lightening fast normally :)
All in all a very pleasant stay and I will definitely return again. It's not a 5 star hotel but for the money it far exceeded my expectations. Great value, nice warm welcoming staff and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for four nights and took our teenage daughter surfing at Woolacombe. The hotel is tired, but then so is Ilfracombe generally and I didn't see any other hotels that looked obviously superior. Our two rooms were small but had everything in them and were very clean and the beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast is good...we didn't have dinner and there are plenty of eating places within a short walk.
Staff are exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $89 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing