We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour Lights B&B
Ranked #10 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful friendly place. We were made so welcome. Pristine rooms. Comfy beds. Don't know how they do it for the price. Asked for flowers to be put in one room and a lovely bouquet was provided. Nothing was too much trouble. Can't rate them highly enough.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank heather45Harwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived, very late, after walking the Coastal Path from Barnstaple. They were all so friendly and helpful, and the huge, hot bath was a life-saver. the Cornish lager helped, too. We only stayed one night, burt we would certainly consider going back and staying longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedraketeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for a short break. Rooms were clean, windows single glazed but earplugs provided (look in the bedside table). Breakfast was tasty with a good choice of cereal, yogurt and cooked. Quite a good location in the town, easy walking distance to the harbour and loads of food options (we never got around to trying the in-house restaurant but the menu looked good). One slightly odd thing was that once the restaurant had closed there were no lights left on in the whole of the downstairs, so we had to fumble our way through to the door to the stairs up to the bedrooms.

Room Tip: I think you'd need to be on the top floor to get a glimpse of the sea/harbour - lots of stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Harbour Lights exceeded my expectations! Ruth, Steve and Nick were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Location is great, with everything you could want on the doorstep, together with lovely coastal walks and beaches nearby. Spotless everywhere. We had a room on top floor which made the most of the lovely sea and harbour views (no lift so top floor wouldn't suit less mobile guests). The breakfasts were perfect! We also ate in the restaurant, which again was lovely with a great selection of locally sourced produce to choose from. Definitely recommend it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is exactly what I had imagined a seaside English B&B to be like. The service, outstanding. So friendly and helpful. The rooms immaculately clean with cute details like the wall art and door stoppers. The family room is great with 2 small separate rooms and small flat screen tvs in both.
Perfect location, good wifi and great facilities including a licensed restaurant. Highly recommend this little family run business.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent hotel,very clean with everywhere spotless.The location could not be better shops and pubs just across the road.Parking s available in the harbour at £3 a day.
Breakfast could be better,but that is just being picky.
Overall excellent and definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazzaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed one night with our two daughters. The top floor room offered us perfect family accommodation albeit with 54 steps. Ruth and Steve were efficient and welcoming. The Harbour lights is brilliantly located near the harbour and nit far from anywhere else.
The room was homely and clean,ample bedding and towels
Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble
We ate in the restaurant and they did a great job of accommodating my girls who wanted food off the main menu.
We will visit again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank prestoneEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Lights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Lights B&B

Address: 26 Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9BL, England (Formerly The Harbour Lights Coastal Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $86 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbour Lights B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Lights is a family run B&B situated in the heart of Ilfracombe's Heritage Harbour on the spectacular North Devon Coast. Built in 1895 as a small Victorian hotel The Harbour Lights has nine en-suite letting rooms. The Harbour Lights is owned and operated by the resident proprietors so you are assured of a warm welcome and personal service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harbour Lights B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Lights B&B Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing