We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money.”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #27 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

we came here for one night. never again. we were shoved on the top floor in a very cramped, dated, smelly room. on arrival we were met by a huge door which wasnt inviting and was very hard to open. then we were met by and overwhelming smell, asif we'd walked into some overcrowded old peoples home. not a good start. the owners weren't very welcoming and rather odd. the stairs creaked and the carpet was old, and some floors had a communal bathroom. after the third flight of stair we finally reached out room and the landing on the way was full of memorabilia and stuffed animals. our door opened and we saw the room at last, it was awful. unnecessary ornaments and a very small tv, which was hard to view from many angles. the doilies on the bed side tables weren't need either, they just collected dust. the two single beds had a plastic mattress protector which made the bed feel wet and slightly uncomfortable. the bedding was very heavy and one blanket/quilt was enough, two wasn't needed. the tea and coffee facilities were vague and the mugs were small and dated.

however. there were one or two good things, the breakfast was nice and the bathroom was big and clean ( just like the rest of the room). the bar downstairs has a pool table which is a nice touch, yet sometimes the host overstayed her welcome and made things awkward.
flat bear and lemonade.
wont be staying again. thank god that it was only one night. if it was considerably cheaper it would be acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Very confused at these comments. We genuinly try to make all our guests welcome. Rooms are allocated according to needs no-one is shoved anywere. This is a victorian building and has a very large front door. All our rooms have modern en-suites, we do not have shared bathrooms. This Family Hotel some times has a childs toy here and there, and I have never been a collector of memorabilia. We have a bar-lounge which is not private but for everyone to use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

On arrival first impression was not good, the building looks like it needs a refresh as it doesn't look very inviting. By the time I parked the car and looked round I wondered what I was walking in to, if it hadn't been paid for in advance I would have gone elsewhere. The hotel inside much the same as outside in need of some modernisation. The furniture in my room looks like something my Nan had. The carpets and bedding are either dated or need replacing. Overall if your looking for something cheap under £30:00 it's fine

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We are sorry that the gentleman was disappointed. As advertised on the web site we are a property with warmth and character. (photographs all up to date) The building is Victorian but we do have all modern faciliies which were updated only a few months ago. It is advised that if people want a chic modern looking hotel this is obviously not for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for a week in the family room with our two children. This is our second visit to the hotel, we stayed last year for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and clean with a double and two single beds and ensuite shower room. The beds were made every day and the tea and coffee was refilled every day Breakfast was always nice with plenty of choice, my youngest requested croissants and had them every day, all you have to do is ask. We had a couple of evening meals as well during our stay and these were very good value, three courses plus coffee and they were a generous size. Sharon and Geoff the owners and their family are friendly and really nice people to stay with, this being the main reason we returned again. We were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything. The hotel is ideally situated a short walk from the High street and Harbour with ample parking. Very good rates and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed for three nights BB with our 4 month old son. Bed was a little soft for our liking but room was nice size, very clean and warm. Cot was supplied at a small charge and was nice and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and was refilled each day.

We needed to use the microwave twice a day to steralise baby bottles and were told to help ourselves which was nice. (I stayed at a hotel recently where they were really unhappy about letting me use the microwave).

When we went for breakfast geoff came out of the kitchen after he'd finished cooking everyone's breakfast and looked after my little boy so that myself and hubby could have our breakfast! He then appeared with a baby bouncer and popped my son into it - he had great fun! They left the bouncer next to our table for the duration of our stay.

All in all it was a lovely place to stay and sharon, geoff and sharon's mum are all lovely and made a fuss over our baby which was great :o)

Will stay again if i visit Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clo_S237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed a few days at this hotel in late August 2011. The hotel was clean( we find this the most important thing). The room we were given had a double and single bed, Flat screen TV ,tea and coffee facilites and was fairly comfortable.The bath room was OK and plenty hot water,the one thing needed here is a little "make over" Breakfast was first class with everything one needed .Plenty of space to park the car.Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

A great deal of refurbishment has been undertaken over the last few months.(Jan-March 2012)
We are satisfied that we can now offer even better facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed at wentworth house on the august bank holiday, after an awful long drive with horrendous weather we arrived late to a warm friendly Sharon who from the minute we arrived to the minute we left was helpful and nice to talk to. Thankyou for having us and will hopefully see you again

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryFido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend had stayed here for 2 nights and we had a lovely stay here. The Hotel is quiet and the rooms spacious and very clean and very affordable. The Hotel has loads of Character. Brilliant period look about it. Although some visitors had commented a little outdated I would say totally oposite and say the owners have done a great job in keeping the house looking as it should be.
I would definately return here for many reasons. Situated in a quiet part of the town. The bedrooms are huge and the beds comfortable. The TV modern and there are Tea and Coffee facilities in the room.
This is my second trip this year to Ilfracombe and the town is beautiful. There are its bad points like every town but overall a lovely place to come for a short stay of a walking trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#30 of 53 in Ilfracombe
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#21 of 53 in Ilfracombe
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Acorn Lodge
Acorn Lodge
#20 of 53 in Ilfracombe
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#6 of 53 in Ilfracombe
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Lights B&B
The Harbour Lights B&B
#12 of 53 in Ilfracombe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: 2 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $71 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth House is a beautiful Victorian property with warmth and character and, open all year round, is perfect for Family Summer Holidays, Mini Breaks, Business trips and Winter Breaks Including Christmas and New Year. We offer a fabulous location, Centrally based only a stones throw away from the High Street and only minutes walk from Tunnels Beach, The Promenade and Harbour with the surfing beaches of Woolacombe and Croyde only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing