We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO STAR HOTEL WITH FIVE STAR SERVICE”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited the hotel as part of a coach party.

Our room was on the first floor, a large, clean family room with views across the front of the hotel. Tea, milk, sugar and coffee sachets and are on a table alongside a four drawer chest, which also houses a large hair dryer.

There is a small lift which can take four people to one of the three floors and the hotel restaurant is in the basement

Evening meals were served at 6.30pm and comprised of three courses, together with coffee or tea afterwards.

There is a small but well stocked bar at the front of the hotel, with comfortable chairs and a sofa. Alcoholic drinks are not expensive, a bottle of white wine costs just over £12.00.

Nightly entertainment is held in the bar. We had a chap who sang and played an organ on the first night, a great female vocalist on the second, bingo and a quiz on the third, which was a hoot and the same chap from the first night on the fourth.

The bed was VERY comfortable, with a lovely clean white base sheet and duvet. The curtains are adequate. Our room had an en-suite bath and an over shower.

Breakfast was served at 8.30am, buffet style and comprised of cold fruit juices, tea in a pot and coffee from the perculator, a number of cereals or porridge and a 'full English':breakfast. Sauces are available in sachets. Brown or white bread for toast, which you make yourself together with marmalade or jam.

One important thing to point out with this hotel are the staff.

From the minute we arrived when the Manageress came onto the coach to welcome us, to our last day when a representative came on to bid us farewell and safe journey, everyone was fantastic and a credit to the hotel - 'Thank you all'.

There were parts of our bedroom that would benefit from a refurb, but for the price we paid, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank BJonesBaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to Ilfracombe last weekend with voels coaches,stayed at the palm court hotel,where we were made very welcome,even had a cup of tea waiting for us when we arrived.
The food was very nice and the staff were all very pleasant,the bedrooms were all very clean and nice beds.
I would certainly go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room 303 and it was a lovely room,bathroom was small,but you don't stay in your room on h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank linles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here on a Voels four day coach break last weekend 1st- 4th Aug the hotel is very welcoming & a cuppa waiting for us all on arriving our room was very clean & spacious the meals were very good we have stayed here last year & some improvements have been added though it was ok then.the hotel is ideally situated for the town (through a short steepish hill) & the sea & attractions only a short distance away, entertainment is mixed but something each evening bearing in mind this is a 2** hotel it was a very enjoyable weekend,& great value for money,we will be back regards Andy & Kath Adams

Room Tip: Ilfracombe has a bit of a problem With seagulls which can be a bit noisy even at night so I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stay at the palm court and were really surprised to fine a modern hotel with such caring staff who go out of their way to assist in any way. But the best was the food as it was delicious especially the breakfast you just helped yourself. I've stayed in 3 &4 star hotels which aren't a patch on the palm court. Well wo

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiger245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I went on a coach trip to the Palm Court Hotel on the 16th June and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel, apart from the broken lift, not the hotels fault. The food was very good, the service was excellent, the price was right, the cleanliness of the room was very good. The only fault was the size of the television screen,much too small.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I were greeted by the hotel owner on our arrival when we arrived by coach.Our luggage was collected and taken to our room by the hotel staff.The rooms and beds were clean and the meals were excellent as was the service.All the staff were pleasant and efficient.We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ljoes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A lovely welcome by Julie. All the staff were extra friendly and so helpful. Hotel very clean and rooms well allocated The food was excellent with plenty of choice. Well situated near Ilfracombe town centre and beach and pier. Also buses nearby.
Just had to say thanks to Julie and all her staff for a wonderful stay. Hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms although at front of hotel are quiet and well appointed. Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Wilder Road | Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe EX34 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Court Hotel is owned by the same family for the last 28 years. It is centrally located 30m from the sea front, with its own Car park.A great location to investigate Ilfracombe by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing