We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of The Graystoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Graystoke
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed for one night on Easter Sunday and had two rooms booked, one superior and one standard double. We were very warmly greeted, there were Easter eggs and easter chicks all over the hotel which was a really nice touch. When we got to the rooms we were very pleased and there was even an easter egg in each room and a selection of mini eggs. The superior room was very big, with a fridge, DVD player and large flat screen television, the standard room had a flat screen tv with freeview. The rooms were probably the cleanest I have ever seen before with even the en-suite totally spotless. The selection of drinks on the tea tray in the room was great and on the Monday morning the breakfast was delicious. There was a great selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts and we were served fresh toast with our full English breakfast (there were other choices for vegetarians as well). It was the best English breakfast we've had. We would definitely recommend this guest house and if we are going back down to Ilfracombe then we will definitely try to book the Graystoke first.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancesLangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for The Graystoke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at The Graystoke for one night over the Easter weekend where we stayed in room 3 (large double, with sofa and shower room). We received a very warm welcome from the owner and were shown up to our room which was very spacious and spotless, it also had some nice touches like bottled water in the fridge and an easter egg (it was Easter Saturday). We walked into Ilfracombe (10 - 15 mins) and went for dinner at Terrace Tapas which was lovely and we would definately go back - recommend waiting for a table on the patio. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast the next morning was really good - what more can you ask for! We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nailsworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed for one night at The Graystoke, a really superb managed B&B. The owner was very helpful and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.

Our superior room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable. Parking is available in front of the building, please make sure you park your car within the white lines in order to leave enough space for other guests.

The breakfast was excellent with your choice of full english breakfast or continental breakfast.

The hotel is perfectly located a 15 minutes walk to the harbour and town center, on the main road into Ilfracombe. We would definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campionidelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Had never been to this area before this trip and had a great visit. There is nothing I can add to the previous reviews as The Graystoke is the perfect guest house. Don't even bother to search for any alternative accommodation as you won't better the service given by Gabi and John. The place is spotless and the food very, very good and plentifull. In fact nothing seems to have been overlooked here. Stay there and enjoy yourselves as we did.

Yvonne & John. (Essex)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Located in a cluster of B&Bs just outside the town centre, the Graystoke proved an excellent place for our overnight stay in Ilfracombe.

With convenient off-street parking, clean, well-maintained rooms and an excellent breakfast, all our key needs were met. It was great to see Free Trade tea, coffee and biscuits on the in-room tray, and the free bottles of water were a nice touch.

We’d happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Arrived at the Graystoke Hotel for a long weekend with another couple and my husband,for a birthday present to do surfing,arrived after a long four hour drive from the South East.
Once upon our arrival which was late afternoon , we were greeted by a lovely lady called Gabi the owner of the Bed and Brekfast.
Having not ever stayed in a B & B i was not sure what to expect, but i was blown away with the B & B as it was so clean and well kept and precise.
Gabi was very helpfull and showed us where to go and checked us in to the rooms.
We were shown the bar and told what time the breakfast is inthe morning.
we went to our rooms which were big and very very clean and came with an on suite bathroom which was fantastic.
The decor was old fashioned but matched the house and was clean and fresh they did have a plasma tv on the wall and the bed was so comfortable so were the pillows, the room we had looked on to a road and was a little noisy on the saturday night but nothing that made you not sleep well.
The breakfast was amazing and the choice of full english,kippers or continental breakfast, which was all set out for you to help yourself.
Gabi was very informative and would recommend places for us to go to during the day.
Ilfracombe town centre was not all that but had the odd dodgy little seaside shop but the harbour was lovely and the restaurants were very nice and the food was lovely, plenty of fish dishes.
Would recommend for people to stay in this B& B as it was fantastic and superbly managed, and a friendly environment would recommend for older people.went to Croyde bay to do surfing lessons and was fantastic beach lovely and clean and fantastic instructors.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blitz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night at The Graystoke and were fortunate to find a room where just about everywhere else in Ilfracombe was fully booked. However, for anyone planning a visit to Ilfracombe I would suggest not bothering to look any further ... just book a room at The Graystoke. Our room was large and like the rest of the hotel, absolutely spotless. As other reviewers have stated, Gabi was very welcoming and the breakfast was enough to sustain me for the rest of the day. The hotel is on the main road into Ilfracombe from Barnstaple and easy to find. Although it was a little noisy around midnight as people made their way home on a Friday night, this wasn't too much of an inconvenience and I am sure it was a lot quieter than being closer to the town centre which is about a 15 min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastbourneNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#19 of 20 in Ilfracombe
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graystoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graystoke

Address: St. Brannocks road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graystoke 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcombe To The Graystoke, our beautifully refurbished Four Star Victorian Guest House, providing excellent service and quality accommodation at its very best. We aim to make your stay a most memorable one, provide attentive but unobtrusive service and endeavour to be as flexible as possible. Housekeeping of the highest standard. Bedrooms are en-suit with full facillities. Breakfast options, English, vegetarian or continental, freshly prepared and cooked to your individual taste. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Graystoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Graystoke Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing