We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Score Valley Country House
Ranked #23 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A very pleasant, comfortable hotel, clean and welcoming, in beautiful grounds. Breakfast very generous and beautifully cooked and presented. The only drawback was it was cold but the temperatures outside were raw and once you crank up the heater in your room you soon get warm, plus a blanket and hot water bottle are provided. This does not reflect on the standard of accommodation though - the owner cannot help the freezing weather. I would like to visit again in the warmer weather to fully appreciate the surroundings, and in all likelihood will, nd would recommend to friends and family..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 98 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for only three nights, but had a wonderful time. Although ti is called a "hotel", it really is a B&B guesthouse. It is located in a valley - as the name suggests - and although not walking distance from the town, it is near enough - a short drive!. Unfortunately we had a room without an en-suite bathroom - but we enjoyed our stay. I will definately recommend Score Valley Country House to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We are very grateful to Eulogia for her generous comments and would just like to pick up on the points she has raised. We have only one room which, due to its location within the property, is not possible to be made En-suite. This room has a dedicated lockable bathroom nearby. The benefit of this is that it does make it a very spacious room which we sell at a lower price. In all publicity material we do our utmost to highlight that it only has a private bathroom but unfortunately this is not always noted. If any guests are caught out by this we are pleased to provide bathrobes. We can only strongly recommend that when booking for any property guests carefully read the specification of a room before finalising to avoid disappointment.
The valley is concealed to the side of the main St Brannock's Road entry to Ilfracombe and although it appears to be in the middle of nowhere is in fact a safe pleasant walk down the lane via Bicclescombe Park into town. Again, of course, this can be very subjective as one person's leisurely stroll can be another's good walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with hubby ,2 teenage girls and our dog Snoop,who was made to feel welcome throughout our stay and made friends very quickly with their dog with Logan .We had lovely clean comfatable rooms and a fantastic breakfast every day ,Jenny and Roger were excellent hosts and extremely welcoming and friendly ,It was so peaceful in a realy beautiful part of the country to stay.I would highly recommend this hotel to pet lovers and familys ,we all came home feeling very relaxed after our lovely break .Great value and will definately visit again and have recommended it to all our family and friends .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

The beauty of doing this is that we get to meet so many wonderful people and really appreciate all the kind feedback we have received. Just to clarify that we have only started taking small to medium dogs this year on request and this has proved very successful as there are many pleasant walks nearby. In case of any concerns our own dog does not go into the hotel and stays in our own garden when guests are present but if anybody would like to meet him he is very friendly and loves a cuddle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from spending two nights at this wonderful place. Jenny and Roger made us feel very welcome and they went out of their way to cater for all of our needs.
The breakfast was very filling and there was plenty to choose from.
We would recommend this hotel for familys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindufiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

stayed 4 nights at the score valley hotel Roger and Jenny made us very welcome.was like home from home very chilled, nothing too much trouble, very clean comfortable and breakfast set us up for the day. great value would use again next time down devon.

steve & pauline elliott

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Room 7 which is at the top of the house, we found the room very cosy. This room does not have a shower but a very quant old fashioned looking bath which we were happy with.

The location is about 2 miles outside of Ilfracombe (£8 taxi fare to the harbour area) and is situated in a wooded area which is a perfect setting if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Jenny and Roger are excellent hosts; the breakfast menu has a great choice and Roger was even kind enough to make up a flask of coffee for me.

I would highly recommend any overseas visitors to this area looking for a very English experience and wanting to get away from your typical characterless chain hotel to book yourself into Score Valley Country House Hotel - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeYin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at Score Valley as a last minute booking on our way home from a week in Cornwall.

We needed somewhere to stay that allows dogs and Score Valley came up on a dog friendly website and looked nice so booked and we were glad that we did.

Entrance to the guest house from the main road is an interesting turn and the secluded/narrow driveway is the perfect line up for the wow factor when you reach the house.

The house is old and quaint and the decor fits with the period. The owners were welcoming and showed us to our room (7) which was at the top of the house. No dogs on the bed was the only rule which was fine by us as we had his bed with us.

We chose our breakfast the night before from a selection of cooked, haddock fish cake, salmon scrambled eggs and muffin etc and the portion sizes were great on both mornings.

Advice was given on the local area which was really helpful and a nice chat with the owners on departure left us happy to stay again the next time we are in the area.

Only recommendation that I would make is that when leaving the narrow driveway and pulling onto the main A road, that one of those mirror discs is placed opposite the entrance to allow you to see downhill and what traffic is coming. It's a nervous manoeuvre coming out of there!

Thanks for a great stay, see you again!

Andy & Sonia

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.3 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sherborne Lodge
The Sherborne Lodge
#32 of 52 in Ilfracombe
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rocky Cove Bed & Breakfast
The Rocky Cove Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 52 in Ilfracombe
75 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Score Valley Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Score Valley Country House

Address: Score Valley Country House Hotel St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $78 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Score Valley Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Score Valley Country House is a licensed guest house set in its own pleasant grounds in a peaceful secluded valley on the edge of Ilfracombe, making it also an ideal base for enjoying the vast sandy beaches of Woolacombe and the Golden Coast or exploring the wonders of Exmoor. A husband and wife team we take pride in the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of our home offering a good nights sleep, a hearty breakfast and are always happy to offer ideas and advice to ensure you get the most from your visit to this beautiful area. We have plenty of free parking. Due to the age of the property and the running streams we suggest that you consider this before bringing very young children. We are pleased to take small/medium dogs in three of our rooms on request. Please check availability of these before booking. Our double rooms are equipped with zip and link beds making us completely flexible to accept single sex groups or couples for walking, golfing or shooting holidays etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Score Valley Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Score Valley Country House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing