We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing few days away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A relaxing few days away”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at The Hamptons for 5 nights from 29th April in the Chantilly room - this was our first trip to North Devon, and our plan was to take advantage of the numerous walking options in the area.

The room was spacious and very well presented, with a good sized ensuite and excellent views over the town and to the sea from the large bay window, which was well set-up for sitting in with a nice drink. The linens were all excellent quality, and it is so nice to be able to dry yourself properly with a decent towel, and much more restfull sleeping under good quality sheets!

The breakfasts were excellent, with lots of choice, and really set us up for each day's walking, which Paul was able to give some advice about - there are also a couple of guide books and maps in the hallway which you can borrow and return.

The hotel is close to the town but seemed to be far enough out to avoid the hubbub (although as it was a wetish week in early season, Ilfracombe town was far from busy while we were there).

5-10 minutes walk gets you either to the lower 'harbour' end of town or to the top of the main high street, and it's only 5 minutes to access the Torrs for walking, and around 15-20 minutes to access the old railway line, which is a slightly easier way to walk from Ilfracombe to Wollacombe if you are interested. One word of warning - the area is very hilly and unless you are reasonably fit you may find the walking a little challenging if you like to go a distance, including the driveway leading to the hotel itself (which looked to be the case for all of the hotels on Torrs Park - but it does mean you benefit from a good view)!

The town was quite quiet at night - we prefer to eat later (around 9:30pm), which did prove to be quite difficult to do, and some of the restaurants were closed for the first part of the week - as a result we ended up in bed much earlier than we would normally - probably a good thing as it meant we got a good rest after all that walking!

It is also an easy drive (with some narrow lanes and steep climbs) to visit neighbouring towns and villages - we were quite impressed with Barnstaple and had a bit of retail therapy there on one of the wetter days.

My only less positive comments would be that the shower in the room really isn't a power shower (we tend not to have baths but the large roll-top did look tempting), and it would have been nice to have biscuits with the tea making facilities in the room (we did get very nice ones but only on the first day) ... OK so the last one is a bit petty and didn't really spoil our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyNMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed here after doing lots of research online. We read fantastic reviews so we thought we would give The Hamptons Hotel a try.

It was everything I could possibly want and more. The breakfast was delicious, I had a full English and a croissant. The decor was just perfect. Our room was spacious and the luxury toiletries were a nice touch.

The location of the hotel was a 5 minute walk from the town, which was perfect for us as we were visiting Ilfracombe to attend a friends wedding. We will definitely be back again! Thank you for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistiqueCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Fantastic weekend at The Hamptons. We spent two nights in luxury accommodation, Paul and Janine have thought of everything, the attention to detail is second to none and recommendations of where to go and places to eat were spot on. Travelling with two small children in a family room we had plenty of room, digital TV, really brilliant stay, planning to go back again this year. Thank you so much for making our weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VISIONBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a lovely family break in North Devon and stayed at this superb, family run hotel. Paul and Janine made us all feel very welcome, Paul's breakfast is definately not too be missed, he uses wonderful local ingreedients and cooks them to perfection. We stayed in a spacious family room, which was beautifully decorated, with lovely crisp white sheets. It was a great base to explore North Devon and they were both very helpful in giving us ideas on where to visit and where to eat. We will definately be returning again, and will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent two nights here and very much enjoyed our visit. The house is very nicely decorated with lots of individual touches. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owner was pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Guests need to be fairly mobile - the driveway is extremely steep, with a sharp bend halfway - and after driving up this once we elected to park on the road at the bottom. Not a problem for us, but the walk up is quite hard. Also, our room was up four flights of stairs, which was good exercise! There is a pantry for the use of guests, with a microwave and a fridge, which would be very handy for people with small children. All in all this is a great b&b and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were given the room called "Jasmine", which was actually a small suite with separate si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A pleasure to stay in such a beautiful room, excellent breakfast charming hosts made very welcome and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maceybeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring Cornwall and North Devon and this was by far the best B&B of the trip.

We were attracted by the classy photos of the rooms and wern't disapointed with the reality. It is a classy place, up there with the big boys. However the clotted cream on the scone was the warm welcome from our hosts and thier delightful daughter. The proprietor is a font of knowledge about the local area and his reccomendations for walks, pubs and restaurants were spot on.

In the past we avoided Ilfracombe as being stuck in the 70's but things are definitely on the up.

We shall be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zappaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acorn Lodge
Acorn Lodge
#23 of 53 in Ilfracombe
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood
Westwood
#16 of 53 in Ilfracombe
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Property: The Hampton's Hotel
Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing