We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and friendly atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #33 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very pleasant and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

A pleasure to stay in such a beautiful room, excellent breakfast charming hosts made very welcome and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maceybeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring Cornwall and North Devon and this was by far the best B&B of the trip.

We were attracted by the classy photos of the rooms and wern't disapointed with the reality. It is a classy place, up there with the big boys. However the clotted cream on the scone was the warm welcome from our hosts and thier delightful daughter. The proprietor is a font of knowledge about the local area and his reccomendations for walks, pubs and restaurants were spot on.

In the past we avoided Ilfracombe as being stuck in the 70's but things are definitely on the up.

We shall be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zappaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I work in the City of London and it takes a while from me to unwind - If you feel the same way - try this Hotel, you will relax within 30 minutes. It is how to do style the understated way - the Host does 'quiet friendly' rather than too attentive and fussy. The rooms are all individual (quality décor) before you book, pick the style that matches your mood, great fun -Breakfast is an event to look forward to even if you are a little less stout than me I was there a week tried a little of everything could find no fault. Great Hotel will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful short break weekend. The owners Paul and Janine were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and the rooms so well presented and just a short walk down the hill into the town.

“Remarkable attitude” indeed as one other reviewer has commented, but just wondering if they have reviewed the right hotel. The hospitality shown to us was top draw and we will definately be returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Phone first and discuss what type of room you would like. A really varied choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pault8980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

A lovely place with outstanding decor and the host was very helpful. Our room was relaxing and peaceful. Immaculate and clean. The bath in the chantilly was very relaxing. good value and made our stay in illfracombe worthwhile

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_Geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Was looking about for a hotel after a nightmare with a hotel nearby and found this one. What a beautiful hotel, homely feel the owner was friendly and helped with everything. The views were amazing the room was amazing, the breakfast was delicious and I cant praise this place enough and its owners. Thanks for a brilliant stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kashmir there was one next door to it that looked better for couples nonetheless still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccoMole_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Chantily room which had wonderful views across the town. Every part of the hotel is beautifully finished, no expense spared. The poached eggs were a wonder! I wish I could have stayed longer... my only tiny tiny grip was no fresh milk in the rooms ( uht pots instead). Very impressed The White Company toiletries.

Room Tip: Chantilly room is worth the extra for the space, views and roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Owner at The Hampton's Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.0 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#14 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Property: The Hampton's Hotel
Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing