We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay in a family friendly home from home”
Review of The Elmfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elmfield
Ranked #21 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a family friendly home from home”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Elmfield. With a young baby, I'm becoming frustrated with how unwelcome I am made to feel when visiting anywhere, however at the Elmfield, they really are family friendly. I felt as though they were prepared to go above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The staff and owners seemed genuinely pleased to have us stay, even with a 5 month old in tow. The hotel itself is in a great location, a short walk from the seafront, shops and restaurants. It is also within a reasonable drive distance to other lovely seaside destinations and attractions. Whilst the room doesn't afford the latest power shower and there is no lift to get you to the top floor, our room was clean, nice décor and is a comfortable place to stay. I don't feel the owners sell themselves enough on their website. There are many little touches that make the Elmfield so attractive to visit again. We will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcSprent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    62
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
124
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived early but could check in, we went out and when we got back and finally got wi if working we were told by booking.com there had been a mix up and they had overbooked. As it was late spoke to the owners in the morning who explained that there had been but it had been sorted due to the fact we checked in early. The room was on the top floor it was big and spacious with a lovely bathroom. It was all very clean. The breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked and there was plenty of choice. They don't do evening meals and they run an honesty bar which was all very chic. It is a nice relaxing place just come and go as you please it was like home from home.

Room Tip: There is no lift but they do have ground floor rooms. You do have to go down a flight of stairs for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My fiance and I have just been on a short break to the Elmfield for his 30th birthday and it definitely lived up to all expectations! We received a free upgrade to a superior room when we booked an extra night a few days before arriving which was a really nice and unexpected bonus, especially considering it was a special occasion.

The room, hotel facilities, breakfast and hosts were all really excellent - customer service was second to none and we also really enjoyed using the hotel's heated indoor swimming pool, pretty terraced gardens and free wi-fi. The Elmfield is in a nice quiet location on a hill (with fantastic views over the town and surrounding hills) but is also very conveniently located to walk into Ilfracombe. Ilfracombe itself is an idyllic town with lots to offer - an ideal place from which to explore the many lovely towns and attractions of North Devon.

Thanks again for a lovely stay- we would definitely like to come back and would highly recommend the Elmfield!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A quick and seamless check-in followed by amazingly-decorated rooms, clean and luxurious bedrooms (with some fantastic smellies provided for you to wash and clean with) and free wifi...

...what's not to like?

We didn't get to try the pool but we did check it out. It's in a glass-fronted building encompassed by greenery and private land, and whilst the path is a little steep it's difficult to see how it would otherwise be presented with the nature of the land in the area. As houses are built into the faces of the rock it's going to present challenges such as access and ramps and we managed just fine.

Every single little thing we encountered was clean and immaculate. The water didn't drain too well from the showers but this was because of the fantastically large shower-head in the en-suite not being matched by a sewer-size drain, but you can't have it both ways can you?

If you're looking for a lovely little getaway to impress a partner with or just somewhere comfortable to collapse with friendly and contemporary stylish surroundings you can't go too far. Just half an hour's walk down a hill lands you in to the centre of Ilfracombe and avoids the spend of a taxi.

I love it! Well done to all the team. Fantastic stuff.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are decorated to an exceptionally high standard and give you a four-poster bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOtherJola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second visit to The Elmfield, and it was just a lovely as our first.
The hosts are really friendly, and their local knowledge is second to none. There is so much to do in the area.
The hotel is clean, quirky and perfect for all the family to relax in. It has free wi-if too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Elmfield is a charming hotel in a great location. Our room was clean and bright with a touch of comfy style. Breakfast was delicious and we felt relaxed and cared for. Zoe and Matt were great hosts and an unbeatable source of local information. From insider tips for the best beaches to local restaurant tips, they went the extra mile to ensure we had a brilliant holiday. The hotel is a handsome building with a cute bar and heated swimming pool. The gardens are lush and the views were delightful. All in all a fantastic base from which to strike out on your adventures and highly recommended. We'd gladly come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On arrival, we were met with the warmest and friendliest greeting I have ever received at a hotel. This feeling of being welcome was reflected time and again with a superb flexibility to ensure that our needs were catered for. The room was both spacious and comfortable with nice heavy, thick curtains to ensure a good nights sleep. The hotel is situated on a hill but is a quick and easy walk into town. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Property: The Elmfield
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elmfield 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian villa that combines contemporary style with a classic twist. The Elmfield offers the facilities of a luxury hotel, with the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere of a friendly family home. There is a fully licensed bar, and games room, and the comfortable family lounge transforms into a cosy cinema in the evening. In the gardens is the pool house with heated swimming pool (Easter - October), and a summer house with terrace offering lovely views of the wilder valley. The grounds run down to a secret garden with fire pit and the soft sound of the stream as a relaxing backdrop. Available for whole house hire or individual room B&B basis. The Elmfield in Ilfracombe offers very competitive packages for exclusive use wedding weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Boutique Hotel Ilfracombe
The Elmfield Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing