We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue, lovely hosts, would go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elmfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elmfield
Ranked #20 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Bath
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, lovely hosts, would go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
The accommodation was very clean and modern, with plenty to do (swimming pool, large screen to watch DVDs), huge comfy lounge and games room.
Very family oriented, friendly and caring hosts.
Decent breakfasts too, with a huge choice - something for everyone.
Recommended by us certainly !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymacb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    62
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
124
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We really had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Elmfield Hotel.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, we were shown to our room and were given complimentary coffee and tea.

The hotel is artistically decorated and quirky, facilities aplenty with a "DVD library" to boot.

The breakfast was delicious (loved the home made muesli) we were spoilt for choice.

Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Looking forward to seeing Damian Hurst's statue!

Many thanks Matt and Zoe.

Kind regards
Louise & Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolLou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely place three times now, and I now feel like I'm visiting good friends.
My first visit was on business, I returned a second time with my wife and children and my most recent visit with just my wife was as good as the previous ones.
We very much enjoyed splashing out on a lovely four poster room, it felt very decadent. We requested champagne and chocolates in the room as a surprise for my wife, and the quality was very good. We had the swimming pool to ourselves on the two occasions we used it which was a real treat.
I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely friendly place for any kind of visit to Ilfracombe, if only to enjoy the excellent quality breakfast.
Thank you again Matt and Zoe for a wonderful stay.
Guy and Miranda

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wasn't particularly impressed with this 'Boutique' hotel.
No one was there to greet us, had to wait a long time and started wandering around in order to find someone to check us in.
Our room wasn't ready so had to wait a further 20 mins, not great after a 4 hour drive.
The room was really small, old and very dated, also felt a bit damp. The bathroom was even worse!
We were woken at 8am by a noisy gardener - triming the hedges directly outside our window!
The breakfast was good but I'm afraid it couldn't save what I would call a dissapointing stay.
I wouldn't class this as a boutique hotel, more of a mid-range B&B.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 402Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelmfield, Owner at The Elmfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We’re always sorry when our guests experience is a disappointing one, as we always strive to ensure an enjoyable stay. The main issue here is that the guests had the expectation of a boutique hotel. We’re not a boutique hotel – we’re not even an hotel, we are a B&B with a boutique style of decor.
We can totally appreciate that after a 4-hour drive not being greeted or having your reserved room ready is frustrating, however our check-in time is 4pm, check-out time is midday, and these guests arrived at midday – shortly after the departing guests had vacated the room, and whilst we would never wish to keep anyone waiting for their room , we have to ensure that our rooms are completely cleaned.
It is regrettable that our neighbour’s gardener decided to trim the hedges on a Monday morning, and we can only apologise for the disturbance – we did however request him to postpone his arboreal activities until a later time once we were aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We very luckily had friends getting married at The Elmfield.& as part of the wedding package had a luxury king size room at the top of the house (room 8)booked for us with a child friendly daybed for our 17mth old son & outstandingly beautiful stunning views.
The wedding ceremony was set on the middle terrace of 5 in the garden, which was followed by Pimms by the pool house. Photos took place in the lower gardens with the prefect advantage points for professional photographers & guest alike.
This was followed by Mediterranean cuisine & local barbecued tasty treats. Simply Divine.
The house is a detached period property set in the Tors of Ilfracombe. Its wonderful to see one of the gems of the town being loved and cared for.
Its tastefully decorated,throughout with the bonus of a children's play room, full of toys,books and bean bags with an adjoining lounge with a Wii and many children's films available to use with a large projection screen. Plus a pool house & sauna.
The whole experience was a delight to be a part of, you felt so welcomed & at home.
Its the little extra touches that put the cherry on the cake, like being offer a blanket for my son who fell asleep in the lounge. also filling up my sons cup with apple juice and water without charge.
Baby monitors were available by request & cots without extra charge.
Enough of the baby's perks...
The Bar was stocked with local beers , ciders & Ale & not at silly prices which is a treat in its self.
And what ever you do DO NOT miss breakfast, simply exquisite. Book now to experience for yourself or treat someone you love.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashapops0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed for one night last minute on a visit to North Devon. Chose as we wanted a pool for our 18 month year old. Owners very friendly, room was lovely, bathroom a little dated and the shower was poor. No other complaints though.
We picked a DVD from the selection to watch, and our son enjoyed playing in the toy room.
Great breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at The Elmfield for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is an attractive period property with bags of charm located a short stroll away from Ilfracombe's town centre. We stayed in room no. 1, a lovely large well appointed room with a comfy four poster bed. Our two young girls were made to feel very welcome and they loved the indoor pool and games room! The owners Zoe and Matt were great hosts providing a warm welcome and useful information on the local area including recommended restaurants. The breakfast was excellent & plentiful and the honesty bar was an inviting retreat whilst the children entertained themselves in the play room! We wouldn't hesitate to return to The Elmfield and hope to do just that next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Property: The Elmfield
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elmfield 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian villa that combines contemporary style with a classic twist. The Elmfield offers the facilities of a luxury hotel, with the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere of a friendly family home. There is a fully licensed bar, and games room, and the comfortable family lounge transforms into a cosy cinema in the evening. In the gardens is the pool house with heated swimming pool (Easter - October), and a summer house with terrace offering lovely views of the wilder valley. The grounds run down to a secret garden with fire pit and the soft sound of the stream as a relaxing backdrop. Available for whole house hire or individual room B&B basis. The Elmfield in Ilfracombe offers very competitive packages for exclusive use wedding weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Boutique Hotel Ilfracombe
The Elmfield Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing