We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't want for more”
other travelers have booked this property
The Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Snug
View from the window Evening View from Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Snug
View from the window
Evening View from Garden
Over head Electric 
shower in the Bath
Private Garden
Off road Parking
Old railway line walk to Woolacombe
View from Snug Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barnaby D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't want for more”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Snug, it's small enough to feel homily but not too small as to get under one another's feet. It has everything you could possibly need for staying there for any amount of time, with the fully equipped kitchen and information for things to see and do as well as being very clean and welcoming, The owners are more than attentive if any help is needed, as well as being a lovely couple who clearly adore their surroundings. The town is lovely and within walking distance (taxi is only around £3 to get back up the hill) and it's an added extra that there is a private driveway for the car that is out of view. Beautiful views from the front windows, you can see for miles! Plus the location is very quiet and peaceful at night. When we next visit Ilfracombe this will be our go-to place to stay for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thanks Barnaby , it was great having you to stay xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle...
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely time at the snug really was a great place with everything we needed for a relaxing stay the small touches really were appreciated from the wine to the herbs and spices... I think the kitchen was better equipt than mine at home!! (Though we didn't do much cooking) We enjoyed the walks down to town and seafront and used the walk back as an excuse to eat plenty whilst there! Loved having breakfast in the sunny garden in the morning so private and peaceful and a lovely sun trap first thing!felt really at home at the snug it was so clean and cosy and would definately want to stay again if we visited Ilfracombe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thanks Michelle, a lovely review and thanks for leaving the place so tidy. Hope you do come again, you would be most Welcome

Nicky & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne P
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

'The Snug' was perfect. Clean and well-presented accommodation. Amazing views from kitchen, living room and front bedroom over Ilfracombe and the sea. Best holiday place I have ever stayed in. 'Extra touches' were very much appreciated. I can't say anything bad about this holiday at all. We did lots of walking, 'The Torrs Walks' were especially beautiful. Left the car parked up all week and either walked or went on the bus to Woolacombe, with lovely beach, especially good for surfing. I could go on and on, but it was an excellent, enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Appearance of the accommodation and the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, we are so glad you loved it as much as we do. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Joann...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views and amazing apartment”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have really enjoyed our stay at The Snug. Fantastic views and peaceful surroundings have made our holiday a very relaxing one.

The Snug has everything you could ask for and more. My husband and I, along with our 9 year old daughter had plenty of room and enjoyed lazy mornings and cozy evenings.

The beach is 30 minutes away on foot and a bit of a hike back, but we chose to do this so that we could eat what Ilfracombe had to offer and walk it off on the way home. We left the car on the drive all week (nice and private with plenty of room) so that we could enjoy what was around us. There is a lovely park nearby with a small café and tennis courts which can be seen from the windows.

If we return to Ilfracombe, we will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for leaving it so clean and tidy, you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy ideal for couples or a family.”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic little place ideal for couples (like us) or a small family wanting to get away for a holiday. Set in a great location with great views across Ilfracombe. I am impressed with how clean the Snug is. The Free WIFI is a bonus as it enabled us to look up local places although there are plenty of leaflets within the Snug which were also handy. Within 15 minutes you are in the heart of Ilfracombe with its shops and restaurants. If I was to visit Ilfracombe again I would be sure to book again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Thankyou for leaving it all nice and tidy.. I will pass your comments on to our very own Sparkle Angel, Gaynor who does the change overs for us. Look forward to a return visit from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David w
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant long weekend”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely lttle apartment that was dog friendly. Two bedrooms (useful when someone snores...), lounge and well equipped kitchen. The outside seating area was great for sitting out with the dog. Nearby is a wood with lovely walks. Only 12 minutes walk in to town, with taxis home around £3.
Would come again and really enjoyed it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
So glad you enjoyed it. You left the place spotless too, Thankyou. You would be welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshop
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely snug for small family or couples, great views”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We much enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Snug - two adults, one 4-year old. The apartment was very clean and the kitchen perfectly equipped for our short stay, incl. cooking basics like seasonings, oil, tea/coffee etc. We were glad to have the washing machine. There are walks directly from the house, and a playground close by, which was great when one of us cooked or packed. Great views from the living room. It took us about 30 min to walk down to the harbour, but we were always passed by buses, so would have been easy to take the bus up and down. Easy parking on the dedicated spot right in front of the snug. Very good communication with the owners, who we didn't meet but who made us feel very welcome. Good price. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen, cleanliness, view, personal touches like the bottle of wine left for us, binoculars
Liked least: Long walk up (but good after all those cream teas), little storage space
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thanks Dorothe, I'm glad your family enjoyed the visit.and thank you for leaving it as beautiful as you found it. As well as the buses we have excellent taxi firms that will take you to the harbour for as little as £2.50 , so when you visit us again pick up one of the cards on the book shelf. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing