We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first choice for a special meal out.”

The Restaurant at The Cross
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $83 - $99
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our first choice for a special meal out.”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We live reasonably locally and are lucky to have several good restaurants in the area. However whenever we want a "special" night out for a really top class meal - The Cross is always our first choice. The smiles are genuine, the mood is friendly, the staff are excellent, the food choice is superb and the wine selection second to none. Couple that with perfect lighting throughout to add to the atmosphere and a very genuine knowledge - from all - about the dishes and a detailed knowledge of the wines - if needed - from Katie. A special evening out - every time. Thanks to all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greyelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Great WIne Great Company”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We went along to a special evening with Gerard Basset OBE (and his wife), the world's number 1 Sommelier (amongst other accolades) . The evening commenced with an introduction to the wines to be served that evening and a brief resume of Gerard's fascinating career. Following a meal of some fantastic local produce cooked with Davids usual flair and imagination, complimented by wines specially selected by Monsieur Basset, that included some incredible wines from Alsace and the Pau region in the south of France as well as a biodynamique wine from the Rhone region, we then had a greater insight into the background to the World Sommellier championships and the rigour that the contestants were tested with, all leavened with a wry sense of humour by Gerard.
This is our second time at special events at the Cross and we would reccommend it anyone with a love of outsdtanding food and service.
Thank you David and Kate and the rest of your team

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geordie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kessock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best, no doubt about it”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just had our fifth visit to The Cross in as many years - fantastic experience every time. Beginning to feel like we're one of the family because of the welcome that's extended to us. Really love Becca's cooking - exceptional quality - and think the commitment to local produce is one of the things that keeps this on our tour 'must-do' list.

This time the seafood was out of this world, very subtle flavours - a deceptively simple list of ingredients for such a wonderful result. The venison was the usual amazing standard too - I don't think you can beat this dish, particularly when you're eating it almost literally in the backyard where the meat was sourced. And Becca's desserts... where do you start?

The atmosphere was a bit quieter than usual - not so many in dining - but I think that's because of the time of year - we haven't seen that many folk out on our travels at the local folk museum and the animal centre up near Aviemore.

Worth mentioning Dave's wines too - great list, although he told us he's still looking to bring in more for the rest of the season - that might tempt us back later this year! It's not a huge list compared with some we've come across but there's still a lot of choice and we have never been let down in terms of quality (and Dave's advice has always been really good whenever we've asked). Same with the 'drams' - whisky's not my usual tipple, but it always is here after the meal. Again, I've found it helpful to get a bit of advice from Dave to avoid some of the more 'acquired' tastes.

Already thinking about plans for next year's tour - and The Cross is bound to feature again. Really can't recommend too highly. One of the best!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drumderfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had eaten at 2 Michelin star restaurants the two previous evenings. This is a simple pleasant restaurant with a kitchen that is not memorable especially at the exorbitant prices which are near Michelin star level . The food was rather bland with absolutely no nuance subtlety or creativity. The service was friendly but hardly commensurate with prices being charged. The room is pleasant but lacks warmth and atmosphere. At these prices a lot more is expected. This may be the best food availalable in Kinguisse but there is much better to be found nearby.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vscca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding - beautiful food and attentive service”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently booked a lunchtime party at the Cross to celebrate a family gathering whilst staying down the road in Newtonmore.

The food was absolutely beautiful, particularly the shiraz sauce with the fish was a wonderful surprise and the bitter chocolate pudding was really outstanding. The wines were fantastic and expertly sommelier-ed! The service was so welcoming and attentive.

It was a family meal to remember. Thank you very much for making the meal so special.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana_Romanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at The Cross also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Restaurant at The Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing