We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruthven House
Nearby Hotels
$134
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$89
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)(Great Value!)
$122
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
53
5
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesseven yearsself cateringbeautiful settinghome from homeon arrivalcolinaviemoreaccommodationhostsscotland
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 59 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I spent an idyllic week at Ruthven House in Creag Dhubh cottage
The welcome was second to none,friendly and helpful after a long journey it was lovely
The cottage itself was very clean and tidy we loved the tartan decor and we were delighted to find a welcome pack of bread and milk waiting, along with tea and coffee.
The owners were available when we needed to ask anything ,very knowledgeable about the area but not in the slightest bit intrusive ,most evenings when we got back in all we could see and hear were sheep rabbits and birds.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Very hospitable hosts who are always willing to help you with anything. We had a very romantic room and beautiful clean bathroom! Nice rural place with amazing view when you're standing in front of the house. Great breakfast (love the rabbits who joined us!).
Dinner at the local pub is awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely place, very peaceful.
The owners were extremely friendly and it was very enjoyable watching the wildlife in the garden with a lovely cup of tea :-)
I would highly recommend this establishment-only wish I could have stayed longer. Many thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were looking for accommodation close to Loch Garten as we had heard so much about their fabulous breeding Ospreys. A friend who had been to the area some years before recommended Ruthven house.
All of the earlier entries say it all really! The house is in a lovely spot, we got the warmest of welcomes each day we returned "to base", the breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were magnificent in helping us navigate the area and in suggesting spots to visit (the Highland Wildlife Park for example!). Also if you like wildlife take a guided walk around Insh Marshes with the RSPB warden (just across the road).
We planned to stay 3 nights but extended our stay to 4 and were still sorry to leave. We are planning a return trip next year and would recommend Ruthven House to anyone unreservedly!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I spent two nights at this establishment which I found via the Scottish Tourist Board site as if you drove into Kingussie you won't drive past it even though it's on the road to the station.

Bobbi and Alastair were excellent hosts, He greeted you on your arrival, helped you with your bags and showed you round. Don't be taken aback by the lack of kettle and tea making facilities in your room as they are all available in the dining room and it has that real homely feel, there's nothing in a packet or from a cheap supermarket. In fact it felt like being at home. Wi-fi is available.

In summary it's worth its 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerekRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews