We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation and excellent restaurant”
Review of Auld Alliance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Alliance
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation and excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The Auld Alliance is not only a great base from which one can explore the Cairngorm area, it offers the best food of any guest house we have ever encountered. Lydie, who runs the guest house provides French cuisine of the highest quality. Breakfast each morning is a beautifully presented mix of fresh local produce and homemade breads/croissants. We opted to stay in for dinner and were not disappointed. Each one of the four courses was an absolute delight. A great 'alliance' between French culinary skills and fresh Scottish produce.
The room was very clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed with beautiful views of the Spey valley. The house is tastefully restored with many interesting artifacts and paintings. After a day of walking in Cairngorm National Park, what better than to return to a roaring log fire in Lydie's lounge, followed by a such excellent cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This place is a real gem, and the perfect spot from which to explore the hIghlands of Scotland. The owner, a Frenchwoman, serves food to die for. The guesthouse is a well-decorated victorian villa with nice rooms - including a family suite with bunk beds. The only downside? Kingussie isnothing special.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiebarker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Visited the hotel for its restaurant rather that for accomodation while holidaying in the area. Booked to celebrate a family anniversary and was not disappointed - friendly staff, great food and a great ambience. Would recommend the restaurant and suspect that the accomodation would be of a similar standard given the staff.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jkyles32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We booked up at the last minute in order to go skiing at Cairngorm in excellent conditions. We stumbled upon this and it is a hidden gem. There are no faults with this fabulous guesthouse. Lydie has everything down to a tee, she had thought of every little touch to make this the most perfect valentines weekend you could imagine. The breakfasts are amazing and the evening meals exquisite. She serves a wonderful french menu that would leave a michelin starred regular impressed! We cannot give this higher praise. Will definitely return.

  • Liked — Everything had been thought of - the food was amazing.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheViticulturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

The Auld Alliance is an excellent guesthouse that also does very high quality evening meals.

The location for exploring the Cairngorm mountains (our reason for being there) is also good, especially if you want to avoid staying in Aviemore.

We dined on one of our two evenings at the house, and the food compared favourably to good quality restuarants in major cities (if not better!) I would imagine its certainly one of the best places to eat in the area. The breakfast was also delicious and like no other you are likely to experience in a Scottish hotel/guesthouse/b&b - lovely presentation, and clearly extremely fresh produce used.

Their is a wonderful guest lounge complete with roaring log fire, and despite it being summer - it was still a welcome site! Could imagine the house will look even cosier as we approach Christmas time.

The owner Lydie was also very helpful and friendly and overall we had a good stay.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We didn't stay overnight here, but were recommended by our B&B hosts to go for a meal cooked by Lydie the French chef. We arrived at the victorian scottish home and were welcomed like old friends by Lydie herself into the large comfortable living room with a warming and welcoming open log fire for cocktails and to peruse the menu.
The waitress, whose name escapes me, was as welcoming as Lydie, telling us she had been working with Lydie since they opened about 10 years ago. The food was freshly prepared and was of an excellent standard. The wine cellar was ample and had a wide choice. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere was completely relaxing. I think one needs to reserve in advance as Lydie cooks freshly for the guests she awaits for the evening. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return on my next visit to the area.

  • Liked — The welcome, the food and the relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank condortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

What can I say .............. This is not the first visit we have had. We are now what I would call regulars (i.e. we go at least once a year). I'm sure the people of Kingussie probably go once per week.

Anyway, the staff here are amazingly friendly and helpful, the food is always out of this world, uber fresh and lovingly prepared. The wine comes highly recommended, and the atmosphere is truly Scottish with a little bit of romance thrown in.

You often meet someone from Monarch of the Glen, so even though its all very go as you please, you might want to smarten up just incase Archie or Duncan are around!

Book up, but don't tell everyone.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LovieLoverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Alliance

Property: Auld Alliance
Address: Viewmount East Terrace, Kingussie PH21 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Alliance 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auld Alliance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Alliance Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing