We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have stayed in”
Review of Auld Alliance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auld Alliance
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B I have stayed in”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed two nights with a friend. Lydie was very friendly, the house is beautiful and spotlessly clean, and the food was outstanding. Our five course meal lasted two hours, each course a delicacy beautifully made and quite delicious. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nederweert, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This B&B offers the best of two worlds: Scotland and France. The rooms are very clean and are designed and decorated nicely. The French owner makes sure the four-course breakfast is an absolute highlight of your stay with freshly baked Croissants, juices and delicious egg-dishes. Next, 100 metres from the B&B a lot of nice walking trails start (all in Cairngorms National Park) varying from 45 minutes to 6 hours in length. There are also two Whisky distilleries nearby which are open for visitors. It takes about 30 minutes by car, either north (Tomatin) or south (Dalwhinny). Within Kingussie itself there is a restaurant called Silverfjord which offers good meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently had a weekend at Auld Alliance, and we very much enjoyed out stay.
There are very nice touches here, with nicely distressed furniture and pictures which gave the room the feel of a rural country french house. On the dresser there was a little decanter with 2 nice whisky glasses and a card showing what the malt of the month is, a sample of which was in the decanter.....a very nice touch.

The house in general is very nicely furnished, very good quality leather sofas and chairs in the sitting room, it has the appearance and feel of a traditional but well to do family home.

Lydie, who owns and runs the place, is absolutely charming. She also is the chef, and clearly takes a great pride in her cooking. She also arranges cooking classes and had us laughing at some amusing stories of "would be" chefs that had taken the course.

We booked for the weekend, and reserved a table on our first night for dinner. There were nice touches to the table d'hote, individual wines recommended....by the glass, to go with each of the courses. We had a glass of wine in the sitting room whilst we waited to be taken to our table, the house wine was fine, the bottle of wine we ordered turned out not to be available so we decided to go for the wines recommended for each dish, which I have to say were well chosen.(£7.50 per glass)

Now I don't want to turn this review sour, as I very much like Auld Alliance, but if you are booking, and thinking of staying for dinner, you should be aware that the table d'hote is four courses, with one choice for each course. I don't think I have ever seen a table d'hote that had no choices. We were not aware or told of this. In the hall there is a notice that the table d'hote is £34.50, but no copy of that night's menu or a sample menu. As it happens I like warm goats cheese, which was the second course, and I also like guinea fowl, which was the main course, but if we had not liked them I think we would have been a little stuck. Perhaps they might have offered an alternative had we not liked what was on the menu, but I like having options and deciding for myself.

On their website, they describe Auld Alliance as "a higly rated restaurant with rooms, run by French owner and chef Lydie Bocquillon". I would take issue with this being a restaurant, it is more like being at someones house and having a meal cooked for you, albeit a very good meal. In a restaurant I enjoy looking through the menu and deciding what to have. My suggestion would be that they have options added to their table d'hote menu.

As a bed and breakfast, with the quality of the rooms, the standard of the breakfast (with nice choices) and the very pleasant and entertaining host in Lydie, I would strongly recommend Auld Alliance. However, if you are thinking of having dinner, then be aware that there is no menu, other then the meal that will be served. If you want to check prior to booking your dinner, I dare say you could be told what they are cooking that night. I have to say I did not anticipate i would have to do that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Having experienced the Auld Alliance at Xmas and New Year, we agin visited in the autumn, and the service and standard of cuisine was again the best!!!
How Lydie manages to make everyone feel like a personal friend and manage her time is amazing, and her cooking is always a delight and worthy of the highest praise.
Even you are not that keen on waht is on the menu, jusat a mention of it will bring out something else that you will throughly enjoy.
This the kind of treatment and cuisine that you need to come back to again in order to really appreciate what Lydie delivers, and situated at Kingussie you are never more than 2 hours away from Scotlands history and scenery.
If you haven't already been and enjoyed Lydies hospitality then if you are thinking of visiting scltand you should make the effort and book a stop at the Auld Alliance, if you cannot get a room then at least book a meal, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

A great B&B with lovely breakfast and a fantastic dinner! The room was very nice and clean.Lydie made us feel very welcome. The whiskey which was waiting for us when we got there was a nice surprise. We loved our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I can't speak highly enough of Auld Alliance. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. The food is among the best we have ever had. Lots interesting and well sourced ingredients. The breakfast was a refreshing change from the usual fair. The fruit compote and cocotte were divine. Lydie gave us lots of local information and indulged us in chatting about food, which she clearly knows all about! We were there on honeymoon and were delighted that Lydie helped us celebrate with some flowers and a glass of kir royal. Completely above and beyond what you'd expect. We will certainly be returning for our anniversaries each year, I simply can't wait. Might squeeze in a winter trip as well to get the best out of the front room and the fire!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveroftravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Fine breakfast from froglady. Comfortable guest house, value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntyjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Alliance

Property: Auld Alliance
Address: Viewmount East Terrace, Kingussie PH21 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Alliance 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auld Alliance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Alliance Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing