We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Returned from the Duke of Gordon Hotel yesterday. Had the best time, weather was very kind which always helps but everything about the hotel was very good. Yes there are some area's where a referbishment is needed and indeed are planned but for the price you pay no complaints here and we will be making a return visit. The staff are excellent (special mention to Amie) and the choice of food was very good and well presented. The train station is only a 5 min walk away,bus stop just outside the hotel so Scotland is on the door step. Not much to see shop wise in Kingussie but some very nice walks both short and long. Hair dryers are provided but you do have to pay a £10 deposit which is refunded on return. Take your own toiletries as these are not provided. We asked for a room overlooking the front of the Hotel and was allocated just that lovely view and very spacious.

Room Tip: From speaking with other guests I didn't hear any negitive comments regarding rooms but the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulsued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 498 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

My partner and I hadn't visited the Duke for about 3 years and were pleased to see the standards were still first class. After a slight problem with the feeder coach, everything went smoothly. Our room, on the ground floor, was spacious, as was the bathroom. The new wood chip heating system is working well and we always had plenty of hot water and a nice warm room. The food and service, as usual, was first class, a good selection of dishes and the buffet breakfast got you off to a good start. The tours were good, although the visit to Grantown-on Spey was a bit of a waste of time. The visit to the brewery was excellent, the tour guide, Bruce, was a real star, very funny. Thanks to all the staff, we will hopefully see you later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed at the Duke of Gordon Hotel in March 2014 we had a very enjoyable stay hotel very clean food lots of choice staff very helpful and cheerful nothing to much trouble but if you go take a hair dryer you can hire one £10 deposit also there is no drawers in the room We went to the wild life park not to be missed

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Travelled to the Cairngorms with Cairngorm Travel. Most enjoyable five day holiday with a very good driver who knew his stuff and entertained his holiday makers. Hotel was clean, hospitable and the food was very good. Hotel is a little tired and could probably do with a makeover and some new carpets, but the service and friendly staff compensated for this. The nightly entertainment is very good and given the opportunity I would certainly return again. Very central for sight seeing.

Nancy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ainenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was a very friendly one especially the Restuarant Staff, it was a very organised hotel. The bus company who ferried us up there Cairngorm travel was second to none. The room was very clean all be it a bit small! Good job we aren't a bit tubby lol. But no complaints

Room Tip: Our friends room was bigger but they had single beds so whichever you prefer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just returned home after spending 4 nights at this lovely hotel. We travelled as part of a coach trip with Cairngorm travel and we're very happy with the experience. Our room was lovely and clean on the first floor with a lovely bathroom with shower over the bath. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and there is a flat screen tv. The meals were fantastic and to those people who have complained about the meals I think you must have stayed at a different hotel to us. Breakfast is buffet style and includes bacon,eggs ( scambled, fried or boiled ),sausages,haggis, black pudding,fried bread,beans or tomatoes. You can have as much toast as you like, cereals,fruit juices and tea or coffee. Dinner is 4 courses and each course you have a choice of at least 3 or 4 dishes. On our last night it was the Lairds buffet which was lovely and included a piper who piped you into the dining room. There was entertainment and dancing each evening in the ballroom. All of the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank motex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently took in this loveley part of scotland that we have not visited before, must say that the Hotel was very welcoming, Log fire as you entered was just what we needed after a long coach journey and felt that we could relax almost straight away.room was just what we asked for.
Dinner had a good selection of Food to choose from and found it excellant quality.
Breakfast had a very good selection that would suit everyone.
Staff have to be praised for excellant service and making you welcome. Could not ask for more. Would certainly return to The Duke of Gordan some time in the future.

Room Tip: As there is only one lift, I would suggest that if you have problems with stairs ask for a ground or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your few days here with us and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Have a wonderful 2014

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: $83 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing