We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area - very acceptable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful area - very acceptable hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Travelled to the Cairngorms with Cairngorm Travel. Most enjoyable five day holiday with a very good driver who knew his stuff and entertained his holiday makers. Hotel was clean, hospitable and the food was very good. Hotel is a little tired and could probably do with a makeover and some new carpets, but the service and friendly staff compensated for this. The nightly entertainment is very good and given the opportunity I would certainly return again. Very central for sight seeing.

Nancy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ainenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    150
    52
    21
    30
See reviews for
52
199
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was a very friendly one especially the Restuarant Staff, it was a very organised hotel. The bus company who ferried us up there Cairngorm travel was second to none. The room was very clean all be it a bit small! Good job we aren't a bit tubby lol. But no complaints

Room Tip: Our friends room was bigger but they had single beds so whichever you prefer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after spending 4 nights at this lovely hotel. We travelled as part of a coach trip with Cairngorm travel and we're very happy with the experience. Our room was lovely and clean on the first floor with a lovely bathroom with shower over the bath. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and there is a flat screen tv. The meals were fantastic and to those people who have complained about the meals I think you must have stayed at a different hotel to us. Breakfast is buffet style and includes bacon,eggs ( scambled, fried or boiled ),sausages,haggis, black pudding,fried bread,beans or tomatoes. You can have as much toast as you like, cereals,fruit juices and tea or coffee. Dinner is 4 courses and each course you have a choice of at least 3 or 4 dishes. On our last night it was the Lairds buffet which was lovely and included a piper who piped you into the dining room. There was entertainment and dancing each evening in the ballroom. All of the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank motex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently took in this loveley part of scotland that we have not visited before, must say that the Hotel was very welcoming, Log fire as you entered was just what we needed after a long coach journey and felt that we could relax almost straight away.room was just what we asked for.
Dinner had a good selection of Food to choose from and found it excellant quality.
Breakfast had a very good selection that would suit everyone.
Staff have to be praised for excellant service and making you welcome. Could not ask for more. Would certainly return to The Duke of Gordan some time in the future.

Room Tip: As there is only one lift, I would suggest that if you have problems with stairs ask for a ground or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your few days here with us and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Have a wonderful 2014

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked a long weekend at the duke of gorden hotel through a couch tour holiday company. The average age was 60+ so expect country scottish dancing and C&W music in the ball room. In fact expect all things scottish - amazing scenery and walks, wonderful hospitality and... haggis and porridge on the breakfast menu! The menu was diverse and the food of good quality both at breakfast and dinner. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds.

Though the overall decor was a little tired the duke of gorden still oozes a lot of class featuring a wonderful log fire in the reception area and the most amazing artwork hanging in the dining room. The location was great for walking, there being an historical ruin only 15 minutes walk away - the shell of a barracks used by the english back in the 18th century. Cairngorm travel offered several good coach excursions though I wouldn't recommend the heather centre trip as the things they sold were tacky and overpriced - the lunch stop at moffit mill was much better with a lot of quality goods at sale prices - great for suivenuirs. The other excursions were great especially the amazing view from the top of the fenicular railway! A piper piped us into dinner on the last night which made the scottish experience complete

We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We are lucky to be situated in Kingussie, right in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park. There are many beautiful place to visit here and the scenery is always stunning.
We have an on going decoration programme throughout the hotel, but like the Forth Bridge, when you get to one end you have to start again. Something the 'Duke' is noted for is the friendly, country house atmosphere that we have here where our guests can relax and let us take the strain. I do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Thank you

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife, Jan, and I wanted to try to get up to Scotland for New Year and after searching we came across The Duke of Gordon. From the first phone call just a week or two before Christmas, the staff were really friendly. We went up between Xmas and New Year and stayed for a few days after. It is quite a large hotel and caters for lots of Coach Holidays which we had not realised but it made for an enjoyable, if different New Year with lots going on. We ate in the restaurant while at the hotel and in the main the service and food was very good especially the Hogmanay Buffet which was excellent. What probably let the food down a little was some of the presentation while just looked sometimes like the food had been "splodged" onto a plate. Other than that we really enjoyed it and it is very close to the highlands and access to Aviemore etc

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first 'Hogmanay' with us here in Kingussie. The hotel does cater for coach groups as well as individual travellers and people on business throughout the year. I am disappointed that some of food presentation was not as it should be. I have raised this point with the kitchen and I trust this will not be the case in future. Any holiday can very easily become monotonous so we do organise several activities throughout the day that guests can join in with if they wish. We are also blessed with having some fine walking paths in Kingussie that give you spectacular views of the mountains and Speyside.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the highlands again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

helpfull staff, couldnt do enough- and lots of variety with food and entertainment! lovely ground floor single room with new bathroom- loads of hot water- really comfy bed!
thank you for trouble taken to make sure we all enjoyed our holiday

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and comments. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us here and look forward to welcoming you back to the highlands again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
198 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing