We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The charm gets it through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
South West Victoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The charm gets it through”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Duke of Gordon as part of an Insight tour, Wifi was offered free in the foyer and it worked very well, I started with a very nice refurbished room but gave it up to an older couple in our group as they were allocated a room that had no lift access, so,be sure to confirm you have lift access if you need it as there are a lot of stairs in this hotel. My room had a very small double bed and small bathroom but was a reasonable size for one person, also it was very disappointing that you have to pay a 10£ deposit on a hair dryer, but the iron was free. The food was good and the breakfast excellent but again no preparation so a lot of toast not eaten and wasted. The building is dated but currently undergoing renovation which will be good. The Hotel was heavily booked for the weekend we were there. A lovely little town providing access to the Highlands and Loch Lomond.

Room Tip: Ensure if you have difficulties with mobility or age to request a room near the lift, not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to this special part of the highlands and thank you for your comments. As you quite rightly point out the lift services the ground, 1st & 2nd floors only. When informed about mobility problems we do allocate lift access rooms to these guests. It was so kind of you to offer to change rooms which I know the other guests were very grateful for. The original part of the building dates back to 1837 and was extended in 1906. At this time lifts were not thought of as necessary and we are not able to get the lift to the 3rd level which at times is a problem. Where possible every assistance is given to guests and we do our best to accommodate their needs. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to the UK and had a pleasant journey home.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    143
    51
    20
    30
See reviews for
50
192
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

There is obviously some work to be done to restore the hotel to former glories. Wallpaper scuffed or torn, missing fittings in showers, worn carpets all tell a tale. On the plus side, the room was comfortable, there were good choices on the fixed four-course dinner menu. The breakfasts were fine if a little limited. The main positive was the staff , who were extremely attentive and happy to accomodate all reasonable requests - especially in the dining room.

Room Tip: Just avoid the rooms overlooking the entrance to the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us here in the Highlands. Like many country style hotels the Duke of Gordon is an old Dame in need of a face lift in places. We have completed 90% of the bedrooms to date and we are in the process of refurbishing the remainder. As with all big projects, time is never on our side and these projects have to be done when business allows and funds allow. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team, they all get to see the guest responces, good or bad, and it always nice for them to know their effirts have been apreciated. Thank you

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

spent a weekend at the duke of gordon hotel with friends and had a lovely time. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, ample selection of food for breakfast and meals in the Ghillies Restaurant were of very good value. The receptionist,waiting staff and bar staff a credit to the hotel. All very pleasant and friendly.The evening entertainment suited the elderly people staying in the hotel but having said that we all went up on the dance floor (after a couple of drams) Our deal included tickets to the wildlife park - 4 over 50 year old's had a ball! Visited the Loch Inch Watersports, Feshiebridge and Ruthven Barracks, disappointed to find a couple and 2 children climbing up and down the ruins. All in all a very good weekend and would recommend the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita55Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in this special part of the highlands. It is refreshing to know that you took advantage of the many activities available within the area. I thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here at the 'Duke', they all work hard to try and ensure all our guests have a memorable time. We have entertainment every evening, each evening offers a different style and we try to offer something for everyone. I trust you had a pleasant onward journey and we look forward to welcoming you to this area of special natural beauty again.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is in the village of Kingussie about 2-3hrs from Edinburugh (not good for the Tattoo) conditoin of the hotel in need of some T.L.C. front steps in need of repair, half the light bulbs not working,threadbare carpets etc.Our room 234 was dark with poor lighting,floor covering in bathroom had holes from loose floorboards,and a ceiling with flaking paint.the room is opposite a pump room and backed onto the lift,both operating day and night.Food at the hotel was poor bt did get slightly better.The buffet evening had the thinest sliced meats since rationing.Staff in the resturant were polite,but staff in the bar were rude or had a poor understanding of english.the bar ran out of real ale.The Ruthven ballroom was more like a rest home than a hotel.The entertainment was by piano accordian,and finished at 10-30pm.the bar closed at 11pm in the ballroom and 10-30pm in the other bar.The complete package seemed to be for the convenience of the company not the customer

Room Tip: Avoid room 234
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

WE recently spent five days at this lovely Hotel on a coach tour.
The accomodation was very good and the attention to detail by the staff was excellent.
We were piped into the dining room most evenings by the Bag piper in full dress, a
wonderful start to our evening meals which were excellent.
On our final night we all had a marvellous buffet with all the extras, what a spread.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive guest comments and to know that you had a good holiday in the highlands despite the weather. We lookforward to welcoming you back to this special part of the world in the not to distant future.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I t really winds me up to to see such sad people as in the previous comment writing such rubbish!Do you have nothing else to do in your life but moan?Folks take it from me this such a beautiful hotel.Paul and the staff are superb!Clean and tidy and lovely rooms.Food good and entertainment excellent!!!Keep it up Paul just ignore these moaners who have nothing else to do in their lives!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, Director of Sales at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments. All reviews, good and not so good, are posted on the notice board for of the team to read. They all work hard to ensure our guests have a memorable time and it is so nice to have comments praising their efforts. Thank you. As I mentiond in my previous responce, the building is of an age where creaks and groans are inevitable. but we hope this adds to the charm of the hotel and the country house atmosphere.

We lookforward to welcoming you back to this special part of the world in the not to distant future.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I would like the General Manager to spend the night in 358 to live the experience I had. The room appeared to have been redecorated and that was fine. The floorboards under the carpet squeaked, even in the bathroom and this seems to be a feature of the hotel. As a result when anybody walked up the stairs (next to the room) or past the door, the squeaking could be heard. The window (new type double glazing) did not close properly. This did not matter as the room was hot anyway. The ventilator in the bathroom struggled to get going and then made a weird, tired grinding noise – not surprising when you see the dust and fluff accumulated on the grill. More annoying were the noises in the night that went on for a long time – a vibrating sound like being on a ship and a hissing noise like a steam engine releasing pressure. If the room or the hotel is haunted, then that could be an explanation. More disconcerting was the lack of an intermittent red flash from the smoke alarm – was it working?
The dinner menu seems to cater to coach parties or group tours and, as such, gave a reasonable and varied choice.
The staff, mostly young ladies, were welcoming, smiling, helpful and are to be highly commended for their attentiveness and speedy service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 358 and possibly all rooms on the thrid floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night. Unfortunately the with a building of this age it is constantly expanding and contracting which causes some room floorboards to creak over time. We will have this room floor looked at to try and reduce or eliminate the problem. Thank you for letting me know about the window. At times guests inadvertently open the windows incorrectly which moves them off the track. The previous occupant had possibly done this with out realising. The problem is easily resolved and we would have had it done for you immediately. I am investigating the vibrating noise you mention, I have not had this brought to my attention previously. The hissing sound you heard is possibly water running through the pipes, but again I will investigate this.

With regard to the smoke detector, unlike home detectors the hotel system is interlinked and connected to a master board at reception which informs us which 'zone' has been activated. The red light you speak of only activates when that particular detector sets off the alarm system. It is designed this way to allow us to identify which detector in a particular zone has been activated or has a fault. The red light does not flash continually.

I have passed on your comments to the restaurant team and thank you on their behalf for you kind words. I hope you had a safe and uneventful onward journey and trust that you will visit this area of outstanding beauty again.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing