We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine if you`re a pensioner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 30, 2012

we booked through a living social deal which was expensive for what you get..The hotel is owned by a bus tour company catering for pensioners on bus tours so is very much geared towards them..which is fine, they all seemed to be enjoying themselves, But I was quite disappointed with the food..I would recommend eating in the Tipsy Laird in the village.
Our room was very nice, bright and clean..and the staff were very friendly and helpful.Our stay included passes to the Highland Wildlife Park which was really worth visiting and is only a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nambarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with dinner and found the menu not to your liking. Disappointingly, on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologise for. Table d’Hote inclusive dinner menu is served in the Balmoral Restaurant. The Lounge Bar offers an alternative menu that is also available to guests with a suplement cost. All meals are prepared on the premises using fresh local produce where possible.

Many hotels throughout the UK accommodate coaching holidays during the quieter months of the year, which is a necessity to ensure the on going sucess of the business and the local economy. The hotel is privately owned and caters for coach tours throughout the year as well as Golfing Parties, Tourists, Weddings, Conferences and family holidays.

Please be assured that we do everything we can to make our guests visit as pleasant and relaxing as possible. I trust you will visit this special area of natural beauty again.

Paul Brown
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 505 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

Having booked a living social deal we were sold something which this hotel just did not deliver. The average age of the other people in the hotel were 80+ which was quite a shock for us when we walked in. The first thoughts of the hotel were it was very old fashioned and the musty smell hit you when you walked in. On being given our room key we were even more dissapointed, the tired and musty theme continued. The room appeared clean but on further inspection the walls were stained and would generally benefit a full refurb. The bathroom vinyl was loose and bubbling and the bath was chipped/burned. The window in the bedroom would not shut properly due to it being screwed shut. The shower was more like a big drip, there was no water pressure and to get any type of hot water you had to run it for 10 minutes first. The bed was the most uncomfortable place to sleep - if you have booked you would be more comfortable in the car!

As part of our deal we had a dinner on the first evening. We decided to book later to miss the rush and were presented with a menu for a 4 course meal with a choice of dishes for each course having ordered we were presented with food which was luke warm which was plated up hours in advance - it was truely terrible. I have never experienced fast food quite like it, after you had poked round the first course and decided not to eat it your next course was there. I would really recommend not eating in the hotel at all. The breakfast was not much better - after a quick look at it and sampling of the porrige we left and did not even bother going back the next day.

Such a disapointment however it forced us to get out as early as possible and not come back until as late as possible.

There is nothing to do in the area however Aviemore is about 12 miles away - I would really recommend finding something there instead as its close to the Cairngorms and much more to do.

On our last day we were woken by the bus company running their engines for hours, however it turned out that the hotel is owned by a coach tour company so what they want is more important.

On check out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay maybe because of the look on our faces ready to complain. We decided that there was no point in complaining as between the ages of 80 - 100 you may quite like it - we are 28 & 35.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Firstly I apologise for not responding sooner, I have been on annual leave and have only just returned. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel and the town of Kingussie. I have taken on board your comments and I am looking into each of your points.

The Duke of Gordon is an Edwardian hotel built in 1906 where we have tried to combine the period décor with modern facilities without changing the charm of the building. It is noted that you found little to do in the area. I am afraid that throughout the highlands many of the attractions are closed during the winter months opening again at Easter. Each evening we provide live entertainment with dancing for all hotel guests with a range of board games and an extensive library of contemporary and modern books in the Lounge for those who prefer a quieter evening. The hotel is privately owned and caters for coach tours throughout the year as well as Golfing Parties, Tourists and conferences.

I am sorry that you were allocated an un-refurbished room and that you had a problem with the shower during your visit and I thank you for letting us know that it was faulty. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme at the hotel, 75% of the bedrooms and public areas have been completed to date.

With regard to your meals, I am disappointed that you were unhappy and found the menu not to your liking. The Table d’Hote dinner menu is changed daily using fresh local produce. Full Scottish Grilled Breakfast is offered on the buffet table with a varied choice of Juices Cereals, Fruit, Natural Yoghurt, with further choices cooked to order.

I can assure you that we do everything we can to make our guests visit as pleasant and relaxing as possible. Disappointingly, on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologise for. I do hope that you will visit this special area of natural beauty again at another time of the year when you will find so much to see and do in and around Kingussie.

Paul Brown
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I last visited this hotel about 5 years ago and was highly impressed, therefore we decided to go again on a coach trip and must say we noticed changes. Yes the staff are absolutely delightful and nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were fine but what let it down this year was the food we expected a bit more than shepherds pie or liver and onions, the brochure sent to us gives an example of type of foods expected I.e steak so as you can gather we were disappointed, on the sweet menu I opted for raspberry roulade I basically got Swiss roll. The shops in the village were nearly all closed there was nothing at all to do if you decide not to go on trips. But I must state that the staff were first class could not get better anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaysabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Firstly I apologise for not responding sooner, I have been on annual leave and have only just returned.

I am disappointed that you found your meals less than fovourable. I have taken on board your comments and I am looking into your points regarding the menu options.

I would be happy to respond in person if you wish to contact me directly

Paul Brown
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Wonderful break to clear away the cobwebs after the Christmas break and excellent value for money at £99 per person for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast and including coach travel and couple of optional day trips.
Hotel very clean and tidy with efficient and helpful, friendly staff. Rooms were excellent with lots of storage and good sized clean bathrooms.
Breakfast very good but brochure is misleading as it does not explain that there is a surcharge for some items.
Dinners were okay though lacking in imagination and appeared to be focused on the palate and appetite of the more elderly coach trippers. Service was incredibly efficient Evenings provided dancing in the function room for those that chose to take part - not our cup of tea but the other trippers said that they had enjoyed themselves.
Good location for walking and close to rail and bus services to go to Aviemore or Inverness.
Special mention to Walt our driver who did a sterling job of getting us all there in one piece despite the dreadful conditions for many a year (3rd January)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KevinEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

we visited for on our first ever coach holiday August 2011 including a trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo. The coach was unavoidably delayed on the Motorway but the staff were ready for our arrival and our meal was ready for us and very much appreciated. The staff and service could not have been better throughout our stay - having a packed lunch for the Tattoo we only expected coffee and biscuits on our return - but were pleased and surprised by a hot dish of stovies waiting for us with smiling staff at well after 1am. The room was comfortable and had all facilities and a good view of the Cairngorms. All of the meals were excellent and between coach outings we enjoyed some of the local walks. We have booked to go back in February for another break and would recommend the hotel and coach company to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawn u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are so pleased that you had a great time with us here at the Duke and you enjoyed the Military Tattoo, one of the most spectacular open air shows in the world. I trust you will have a wonderful christmas and a prosperous new year. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel in April 2010,i know it seems sometime ago but i just had to write a review,this Hotel is FIRST CLASS,the food was just great and staff were all friendly,the location is just perfect,you have Inverness only half an hour drive away,Aviemore and the Cairngorms are just a small drive away,we also visited the Highland Wildlife Park it was brilliant i was able to see Mercedes the polar bear but sadly it has died since then.You have Fort William a very nice drive also.I would recommend this Hotel to everyone,seeing is believing.I hope to come back in the near future as they have new polar bear and also to taste the good food.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments, it is always nice to hear from past guests and their experience with us here at the Duke of Gordon. I trust you have had a good year and we look forward to welcoming you back to this special area again in the future.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We have just returned from Duke of Gordon hotel in Kingussie .Wonderful friendly staff,lovely food,our room was perfect.! A perfect relaxing break and a great thank you to our lovely coach driver Steve ,who made our journey such fun .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joolsduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.
I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable break with us here in the Highlands. It would appear that you manageed to get the last of the dry spell and warmer autumn weather we have been experiencing.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Duke of Gordon again in the future.

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: $87 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing